We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveller rating
1,316
428
81
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,316
428
81
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese union square continental breakfast other guests evening cookies warm cookies freshly baked cookies small hotel boutique hotel hard boiled eggs brick wall yogurt evening wine post street sitting area ceiling fan perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent four nights in this quaint hotel in the centre of San Francisco. It literally is right on Union Square, and is perfect if, like us, you don’t want to stay in one of the huge hotels nearby.
We booked for a junior suite and were in room 401....noisy at the front, but that was the lounge, and perfectly quiet in the bedroom which was at the back.
All the staff were very helpful, and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. Breakfast was basic, but more than you could eat, and the cheese and wine was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours, though when we were there, everyone got their wine and food and went back to their rooms. This was a bit disappointing as, when we were in a similar type of hotel in New York, everyone stayed in the lounge and you were able to mix with the other guests which we loved doing....maybe we were just unfortunate when we were there.
If you want a very comfortable room in a small, centrally located hotel, then I would thoroughly recommend this one to you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on other’s top reviews. I could not disagree more. From the moment of arrival to find “valet parking” means leaving your car in a no parking/tow away zone while they call for a driver to run over 2 blocks away, it’s all downhill from there. Snarky check in attendant dumbfounded that you might not be comfortable leaving your car in a tow away zone then informs you no, you can’t get breakfast before 730am, and mentions a wine reception without telling you where or when it is. Call me crazy but in 2017 I think having to walk 2 blocks at 6 am to get a cup of coffee is not acceptable. TV in room wall mounted at a height such that you can break your neck trying to get a view. Serviceable room but just barely. Utterly ambivalent staff and allow 30 minutes to retrieve your car from valet- partly because when they call for it its hit and miss whether anyone answers the phone. So book this place at your own risk. Absolutely NOT a suitable hotel if you’re in town in business. Certainly would never stay there again. It misses on the most basic expectations for service in a hotel in a major city. Fail.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Scotia626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAUS_General_Manager, General Manager at The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your visit in November and for sharing your comments. I am sincerely I very sorry to hear you experienced very serious deficiencies with your stay. We strive to provide each and every guest with an exceptional experience; from our service, to all of the amenities we provide to the Inn at Union Square itself... our product. It appears we fell short of your expectations and our goal during your stay. Feedback such as yours allows us to improve our service and our rooms to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. Your detailed review has giving us valuable information and for that we are very grateful. Rest assured, we have taken the comments you have shared have rectified the service issues.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your detailed review.

Warmest regards,

Christian David
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

This is a very nice hotel, the staff is attentive and hotel / rooms are kept up. We stayed for one night on our way back from a visit to Sonoma and Napa. They offer breakfast and wine & cheese nightly to their guests.

The only surprise we had was there isn't any air conditioning the building wasn't built for it. They do have ceiling fans but the day we were there the fans weren't cooling the room off it was in the mid 60's. You need to be aware or chose a room on a lower floor with the hope those are cooler. Also there a lot of street noise so try to stay in the back of the hotel off the street.

It is a nice hotel

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kz44tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed by the whole hotel experience. Simple check in with a glass of bubbly (nice touch) to a quality room, though not that large, it had everything you would need. Most importantly a good bed and attention to detail on cleanliness and presentation. The afternoon wine and cheese is a great way to mix with fellow travellers. Being a stones throw from Union square, train station and the cable car allowed you to get around to everything easily. Overall my wife and I had a great 3 day experience and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017

A fantastic location, big comfortable room, great bathroom and friendly staff - what more could you want? This terrific little hotel has everything you want including a decent breakfast and at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The suites at the rear are whisper quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews