We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Ranked #68 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane Aus
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying for 5 nights at this hotel. We were part of a large conference that was held here. We were impressed with the size of pur room and the ammenities provided as part of our package.
The location is unbeatable!

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckBrisbaneAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear BuckBrisbaneAus:

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin St. Francis. We’re always excited to host business travelers, since our central location has so much to offer, even during a brief visit. We hope you’ll choose The Westin St. Francis again next time you’re in town. If you ever need assistance planning a visit, please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    1,880
    966
    463
    267
See reviews for
1,080
1,645
273
1,641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the old section for 3 nights in March & would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room: Small room & bath but size wasn't an issue for us. The rooms have character with the tall ceilings, crown molding, & marble bathrooms and the furniture updated for a modern feel. The Westin bed & linens made for a great night's sleep. Room included flat screen TV, safe, coffee maker, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner/soap/body lotion. Bath robe and slipper were not provided. No free wi-fi in room, but free wi-fi in lobby.

Location: Perfect for site seeing and shopping. From the hotel we walked all over the city including Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, the Marina, Pacific Heights, China Town, & Nob Hill. If you're up for shopping, the St. Francis is literally only minutes walk away from Macy's, Nordstrom, Bloomingdale's, Sak's, Westfield's shopping center and many others.

Michael Mina's Bourbon Steak House in on the property, as well as another nice bar. They have a Starbuck's in the lobby (converts to drinks in the pm) so you can use wi-fi while sipping.

The St. Francis is still regal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Fairfax:

On behalf of The Westin St. Francis, I’d like to personally thank you for your review. You identified two of our most valuable assets: location and history. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the classic character of the room as well as the modern amenities and furnishings. It sounds as though you had the full San Francisco experience, and we’re so glad we could be a part of it.

We’d love to have you stay at The Westin again, so if you ever need assistance booking a trip, please contact me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great location. The hotel is a older style of many of the Westins we stayed at. The family suite/pet room is very spacious for a family of 4 and our dog. Stayed in the older tower. Check out the view tower on the elevator nice view from there. Lucky the hotel is across from union square with a bit of grass for the dog walking distance to Macy's,Barney,Westfield mall, Ross,forever 21, many high end stores, tons of food and shoes. F-line a block away cost is 2.00 adults, kids .75 catch it to go to Fishermans wharf or you can walk it 45mintues to there. Go eat a Joes Crab Shack yum o. If u like Sushi go across the street from the hotel SushiBoat it's worth the $$ lunch bento box good deal. Hotel was okay but expensive 209.00 plus 51.00 for parking would have like to see more of modern decor and cleaner carpets for a Westin . Must say it was nice that we got a microwave and another empty fridge at no charge to use Would stay again because of location and the Heavenly Dog Bed that Jasper enjoyed after a long day.
and

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinStFrancis, The Director of Rooms at The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear jabee63:

Thank you enough for taking time to review your recent stay at The Westin St. Francis. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your room in our historic Landmark Building — and it’s great to know that Jasper enjoyed his Heavenly Dog Bed! I apologize for any inconveniences the parking fee may have caused. As you noted, our central location means that everything is within walking distance, and the city’s wonderful public transit system is also easily accessible.

We’d love to have you, your family, and Jasper back soon! I’d be happy to help coordinate a visit; you can reach me directly at 415-774-0317 or by e-mail at michael.smutzer@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Michael Smutzer
Director of Rooms, The Westin St. Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed 3 nights here and it was overall a good experience. Very large hotel with decent but impersonal service. Sometimes had to wait in fairly long lines for front desk help .Rooms very comfortable and clean but typical Westin with no real character. The location can't be beat right on Union Square. The restaurant Bourbon Steak in the hotel was excellent but quite expensive. Nice lobby and lobby bar/coffeee area. Bellman service was fast and efficient as well as the doorman getting us a cab. Hated having to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great hotel, location, customer service and great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here for a few nights. Check-in desk was woefully understaffed which is never a great start. My room was big, with very tall ceilings. Great bed an shower as always at a Westin. But the furnishings were a little tired. The room could definitely have been updated. Wi-fi was pretty spotty, but that might have just been my room location (in a corner of the hotel). The location is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

On Union Square so very central. Very large and grand and where the Queen stayed on her visit many years ago. Very nice rooms with large flatscreen TV and very good Coffee makers. Excellent beds and bedding. Public rooms are very nice and a bustling atmosphere in what is obviously a prestigious and important hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingsince1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,691 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,217 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,647 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 229 in San Francisco
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Property: The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Address: 335 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, The Westin St. Francis is a destination where you can unwind and be pampered by attentive, world-class service. As the only hotel located on Union Square, we are celebrated for our historic Magneta Grandfather Clock, a popular gathering place for generations of travelers, as well as our commitment to guest renewal and relaxation. Explore this legendary landmark, which has drawn locals and visitors for more than a century with our distinguished service and through the timeless refrain "Meet me under the clock!" Inside our warm and welcoming San Francisco luxury hotel, marble columns, ornate balconies, and intricate woodwork transport guests back to the elegance of yesteryear. Yet these magnificent appointments are balanced by modern, groundbreaking amenities including the revolutionary Heavenly Bed, our Starwood Preferred Guest rewards program, and employees dedicated to making you feel at home. Book one of our downtown San Francisco hotel rooms and discover the allure of the city's most charismatic and vital setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin St. Francis Hotel San Francisco
Westin St Francis
Westin San Francisco
Westin Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing