We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying here, just as impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We're from the UK and this was the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. Great location, great service and staff and a great price too. We booked over the phone with the GM Tyler Shanahan and he gave us a very good rate which would have been hard to beat.This time we were actually blessed with 4 days of sunshine and warm temperatures which made a great difference. Thanks again to Tyler and all the staff, we'll be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR7301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hello again! I'm so glad you got to enjoy our atypical, sunny, San Francisco weather this time :). It was great to see you a second time and we really appreciate the review!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here for three nights this past week and found myself very satisfied with my visit. Seeing as the hotel isn't as expensive as many in the area, I found myself with fairly low expectations. I was very pleasantly surprised to find a very nice, spacious hotel with a great mattress, TV and bathroom.

The location couldn't be better. I walked all over the Marina and Presidio without even needing my car. I found the complaints about lack of parking space to be somewhat unfounded. Every night I managed to get a spot, even after returning as late as 11 PM two nights. There's a little bit of neighborhood noise at night from a bar around the corner and a preschool next door means children yelling at 8 in the morning, but those are minor complaints.

Also, I found the neighborhood to be exceptionally safe, even late at night. That can always be somewhat of a concern when staying in a city. It's very residential around the hotel.

It would have been nice to have a mini-fridge and an iron in the room.

Another highlight of the stay was the very helpful and friendly staff. Bruce (I think) checked me in by name and was very welcoming when I arrived. The concierge, Raymond Archer, also was exceptionally knowledgable and helpful every morning.

I'm fairly discerning about where I stay and while there are definitely cheaper options in the area, but I can confidently say in terms of "value" i.e. what you get for the price, this hotel can be considered a smart choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for the detailed review of our property and the city. The preschool next door can be noisy at times and we do our best to work with them on limiting the hours. The Marina district is one of the safest parts of San Francisco and we are glad you found us nestled away off the beaten path. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Exellent value,location,cleanliness,up to date technology,and afriendly profesional crew.from housekeeping to the GM Tyler Shanahan;we had booked for 3 nights,but mother nature decided decided to(cry)relentlessly.I asked Tyler what the latest we could cancel the 3rd night to avoid penalty he gave me the answer immediatly and sugested a number of things to do on a stormy day.I will stay here again without a doubt .

Room Tip: Ask the front desk with a smile
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmhtdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for posting a nice review about our hotel. We do our best to ensure each guest has a tailored experience while visiting San Francisco. Each employee is well educated on activities in San Francisco. I hope you had a safe drive back to LA, see you soon.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for a 4 night stay in February. It was not overpriced so good value compared to most other hotels in San Francisco, but had everything we needed and more so an ideal choice. We asked for a larger room because we had a lot of luggage and got it. Lovely big comfy bed, large TV and decent size room. Shower was good. Has a in-room safe big enough for a laptop too, but at an extra charge of $1.50 a day. Breakfast was great to have thrown in and Wi-Fi was fast. The general manager, Tyler, was fantastic throughout our stay and made us feel more than welcome, giving us plenty of great advice on eateries, bus routes and places to go, so thank you Tyler! More than enough maps and things at the front desk too.

Location is close to Golden Gate bridge and nice quiet residential part of town. About 5 mins walk to the bus stop to get the bus into town, which takes about 20 - 25 mins. Ok so you could stay somewhere nearer in town, but it'd be noisy, you'd pay a lot more and probably get less for your money - bus service is perfectly good if you don't have a car, which you don't really need in this city but would be useful if you're short on time. Definitely recommend and can't wait to come back to San Francisco, which is a fantastic city!

A quick tip for the cable car - if you're going on the main Powell/Hyde route, it is usually very busy after about 1pm and you will be queuing for a while. Go in the morning when it's quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Wow, what a detailed review! Thank you! It was a pleasure hosting you and getting to know you both. We appreciate the great summary of our hotel. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and to see you again soon!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our stay at this motel was enhanced 100% by the manager Tyler that bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible. As well he gave great bus directions and restaurant suggestions and things to see and do.
It was easy to get around by bus from here to see this great city.
We would stay at this location again and have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Room 305 has good light as some of the other rooms were dark inside.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrimp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends, as well as here, on Tripadvisor. We are proud to provide excellent service and are glad we helped so much. We look forward to you next visit.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed in San Francisco multiple times. It is a rare occasion when we find a place where it it totally quiet. We found it at the Travelodge near the Presidio. It was a good price, a great location and the best part - we got a wonderful night's sleep! It wasn't fancy but all of the "creature comforts" were there - very comfortable bed, great pillows, clean bathroom with soft towels and a friendly, helpful staff.

We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator so be aware of that. The helpful desk person did offer to help us with our bags, but we were fine carrying them ourselves. They do offer a complimentary breakfast, but we were eating with family so we passed on that.

Parking is first come, first serve so be aware of that, too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Well we sure are glad you found us! We appreciate your nice review and hope to see you again soon.

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My friend and I, along with my little dog, enjoyed the clean and comfy,large,quiet room with a two minute walk to the Presidio Gate, where little Katie could do her business. The staff, Bruce, Nikki and Oliver were very helpful with directions and advice about dining, etc. The price was very reasonable and little Katie got a large bag of doggy treats and my friend and I received a free coffee cup. How great is that?

Room Tip: Great rates and great when traveling with animals.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tastydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLPresidio, General Manager at Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

All of the staff was so pleased to see their names online! Thank you for the review and bringing Katie along. We love to say hello to our guest's pets. Enjoy the coffee mugs!

Tyler Shanahan
General Manager
Travelodge at the Presidio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#87 of 230 in San Francisco
600 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 230 in San Francisco
218 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
1,568 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco

Address: 2755 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $293 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Rooms feature: Free Reliable High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Refrigerator, New Flat Screen LCD TV with Cable and HBO, Alarm Clock with MP3 Player, In-room Coffee, Hairdryer, and free access to a business center with a printer from 7AM to 7PM. We are pet friendly, $20/Pet/Day cleaning fee. We are a 100% non smoking, AAA approved hotel with free limited parking. The Palace of Fine Arts and Exploratorium are just four block's walk away. Our location is especially good for touring the city while remaining quiet. We are near 5 bus lines which can transport you all over the city. The staff here was either born in the city or has lived her long enough to help you navigate the well and not so well known parts of San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco At The Presidio Travelodge Hotel San Francisco
Travelodge San Francisco
Travel Lodge San Francisco
San Francisco Travel Lodge
San Francisco Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing