We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
11
9
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
9
8
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am sincerely confused about the reviews that rate this place above a "poor" rating. Sure, it's more affordable than other hotels in Saipan...but...it is NOT worth it. They advertise wifi in the rooms...BUT THERE IS ONLY WIFI IN THE LOBBY.
I was traveling here with 2 other co-workers, and we each had our own rooms. 1 coworker walked in and found roaches in her room. Another tried to take a shower, and NO WATER CAME OUT. Then, when we reconvened after putting our things in our rooms, as we were walking to the lobby to use the wifi---a rat scattered by us. That's right...a rat.
The rooms smell musty.
They have a lovely pool area, and the beach is a hop skip and a jump away...but that's it.
We had breakfast at the Hawaii Five-O restaurant on the grounds, and the coffee is amazing.
But we literally spent one night in the hotel and asked to cancel the rest of our reservations. (We'd booked for 6 nights.) The manager on duty was PERFECTLY lovely. She was so nice, but it was quite frustrating to try to cancel with her.
The cancellation policy was that you had to cancel 1 week in advance. She wanted to charge us for 3 nights. I refused. I tried to tell her that they'd falsely advertised free wifi in the rooms, and that one room didn't have running water. She tried to tell us that we should have called maintenance. To which I replied--"We got in at midnight, we were tired and wanted to go to bed. Calling maintenance wasn't realistic for us."
She kept talking about the cancellation policy...so, I finally said...
"I understand the cancellation policy, however, just on business principles...when a business promises something, and doesn't deliver...there has to be something that can be done."
We finally negotiated only paying for 2 days.
She said she was sorry several times, and even afterwards told us about the open market that happens every thursday night. She really was quite kind about everything.

I'm sorry to say this but stay away from this hotel. It's truly, truly atrocious, and you won't be very happy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but checked out the rooms, they have standard hotel rooms as well as 2 Brm suites with kitchen and living area, they are basic but so cute and the atmosphere of the place is "old world islander", they offer amazing discounts for stays of 1 week or more and if you get breakfast included its even better value. As we had already booked our accommodation elsewhere we chose to come to CKBC almost everyday for breakfast as the food is so great and cheap at their little restaurant and nicer than the offerings at our $17 per head buffet where we were staying. We also played tennis a few times and they have a great deal where they deduct the cost of your tennis ($10 pp) from your food bill making it free to play. We loved happy hour here, they have an amazing deal for $12 inc a choice of appertizers and comes with 3 beers! We odered 3 of the appertizers which fed our family of four for dinner and had so many beers (9) we ended up taking half of them home! All for $36 and the kids played tennis while we sat and watched the sunset. Next time I'm in Saipan ( we return every other year) we're booking in here for our entire stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susieQNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Some pretty rough reviews for this place, mostly undeserved. Folks, if you want the high rise Hyatt and the trappings that come with it, then write that check. It never ceases to amaze me when folks book budget locations and then slam them when they do not receive Marriott type accommodations. ( I am platinum with Marriott and enjoyed our stay) The adage "you get what you pay for" is particularly pertinent in the hotel industry.

We elected to extend our Saipan vacation, but had to change hotels due to room availability. We found Chalan Kanoa had room so we gave them a shot. When you pull up to the property, the neighborhood is not the best and we had some initial doubts.(you will probably want a rental car as there is not much around) They quickly went away. The rooms are basic but very comfortable. We had a two twin beds and a sitting area with a couch Some of the larger rooms have kithchenettes. The a/c worked great, bathroom was clean, had a fridge to keep our drinks cold and ESPN...when the tv worked. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The hotel is used mostly by divers, as there is a dive shop attached to the property and they get their intro lessons in the pool. . The restaraunt (5-0 Cafe) serves very good food with some very diverse offerings. I listened to our server and tried the Filipino and Asian offerings and loved everthing .Everything is homemade to order. Our room came with breakfast and it also was very good. They menu prices are so very reasonable and we found ourselves eating many of our meals here instead of in town. They have a fun Happy Hour at 5pm each day.(they do a mean Bloody Mary in the mornings!)) There is a very secluded beach a short 1 minute walk through a park. During the week we did not see a person on the beach. Water is crystal clear and the sand is that fine white sand that is so nice to walk on. We sat out there in the evenings with a bottle of wine and watched the amazing stars at night. The staff at Chalan could not have been nicer. They were so friendly and helped us with our tour questions, arranged for a rental car for us, and constantly checked on us to make sure our stay was going well. We are planning a return trip to Saipan and Rota later this year and Chalan Kanoa has just become our hotel of choice. It is also only 5 minutes from the airport. The value for your money here is just outstanding. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The Happy Hour deal is a steal. Comes with enough food to make your dinner!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed this hotel just one night in March this year. Stuff were all friendly and nice however room was horrable. Not only old and dark but also their bedding had blood stain on the sheets. I guess motel 6 is much better.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 1 day and had to move to another hotel downtown. Rooms are very small and beds are small and hard. It has a nice beach but location is far from downtown area where are the nice restaurants are. I suggest staying in another hotel located in Garapan area.

Room Tip: Stay in Garapan area there are lots of restaurants bars and shopping
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tutiferific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews