We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquarius Beach Tower(Chalan Kanoa)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$207
US$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Asian Garden(Saipan)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
US$190
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
5
11
34
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
11
34
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A smaller hotel in a good position close to the Galleria shopping centre and other shops and restaurants etc. in Garapan. The outside looked tired as we arrived and the reception area did little to impress. The room was clean but all the fittings old and worn. The worst thing was the bathroom. The shower over the bath was a hand held shower only and the pipe leaked so badly the bathroom floor was flooded every time it was used.

The swimming pool was clean but small.

The restaurant offers breakfast and lunch but after one try of the breakfast we did not return; quite the worst we have experienced. One greasy sausage, one small bowl of rice soup, one appallingly tasting boiled egg, a slice of cheap very sugary white bread and one quarter orange. The rice soup was OK and the orange was fine, the rest was very poor. You could pay an extra $7.5 for some choice but we did not risk it! We found a nearby shop and bought some fresher food to create our own breakfasts.

We considered leaving and finding a better hotel but as we had three days only and the weather was fine, we spent very little time in the hotel so we survived.

Exploring the rest of the hotel we discovered that the rear covered entrance and parking area were stacked with rolls of carpets and other building materials. Perhaps a refurbishment is on the cards? The hotel needs it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had an opportunity to visit Saipan for a 3day conference. Checked the website for a nice hotel. Saipan Oceanview looked good on-line. And that's it. Room was stuffy. Small kitchen that only had a sink and a frige. Turned the water on to wash the sink and whoa....dirty running water. Luckily the shower had clean water, Bed was hard. Bedsheets were actually tablecloths. I know. I have the like at home. Couldn't sleep. Noisy neighbors. Complained to front desk that took hours to resolve. Internet was not available in all rooms as advertised. Was told I had to come down to the lobby for internet usage. Asked for iron----none available. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mareperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2013

While this is very much a 3-star hotel, it represents good value for Saipan. Many of the so-called five-star hotels have also seen better days, so the difference in prices for rooms do not represent a fair difference in terms of the quality of rooms, in my opinion.

The Ocean View is well located, in sight of the ocean, and adjacent to the popular DFS shopping plaza, which also houses the Hard Rock Cafe. Next to the hotel is a Chinese grocery store which stocks all the amenities the hotel may not, including bottled water, snacks, toothpaste etc.

The room itself was quite basic, but clean. It had an in-room safe, decent AC (I don’t like AC generally) fridge and old TV with basic channels. The front desk staff seem to be mostly from the Philippines, and are friendly and helpful when approached. They kept my luggage for me for at no charge when I ventured over to neighbouring Tinian island for a few days.

The hotel has a pool which seemed clean and reasonably maintained. The hotel also has on-site self-service laundry facilities. There is a restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, but I never used it.

The vast majority of their guests seem to be from Japan and China, many on group package tours.

There is an unadvertised dive operator on the third floor that seems to cater mostly to Japanese.

Bottom line for me: Fair price, convenient location, everything worked as it should, basic but clean room, and hot water for showers.

Tip: For breakfast, make the 15-20 minute walk to Cafe at the Park by the American Memorial Park. The best breakfast in Saipan. Tony Roma’s is also a popular dinner spot, but get there early to avoid the queue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrientHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is located across Beach road in Garapan from the ocean. Despite the name your view of the ocean will depend on how high a floor your room is on and which way it faces. The staff is ok. The facilities themselves are tired and worn out. The beds in the room were just marginally better than a camp cot. There is no internet available there. If your room faces Beach road then you should expect to hear traffic all the time. The towels I recycle and use to wash my car are better than the tattered pieces of cloth that pass for a bath towel here. The price is low… so I guess you could make the argument that ‘you get what you pay for’, but even that argument does not hold up when compared to other places I’ve stayed… If you are hungry, take a pass on the restaurant and walk 3 min up the road and go to Round Two. Alternatively there is a MacDonald’s just across Beach Road and down a few hundred meters. Wild Bill’s is just down the street if you want Thai food. The best that can be said about this place is that it located in the middle of downtown Garapan; you can walk to a-lot of places; although there’s really no much to do there unless you are a fan of overpriced stores selling items you can buy for 30% less on Amazon.com

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August 2011. We read reviews on trip advisor prior to booking a room and understood that this was an average hotel with a great location. After arriving, we quickly found out that the only thing good about it was the location. It is in the main Garapan district close to resorts, shopping, restaurants, and bars.

The hotel itself is very poor. Both the male and females bathrooms in the lobby were "out of service" the 3 days we were there and looked like it had been that way for a long time. The hallways were very dirty and they have no air conditioning so they smell like mildew. The room had a constant running toilet and a shower that leaked all over the floor. THe room smelled like smoke. The T.V. was very old and lots of static as if it was about to die. Therefore, you could never watch T.V. because the picture never came in clear. The lock to the balcony off of the room was similar to a paper clip and certainly not secure. The bed was very thin as you could feel each spring. Finally, the airport shuttle that is offered to and from the airport is not free. They will charge $20 each way so you are better off renting a car for $40 from the airport. To sum it all up, my wife and I ended up checking out a night early just to switch to another hotel in Saipan. For an additional $25-$35 a night you can get a nice, clean hotel right on the beach. This hotel is not worth the location that it is in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayasesensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews