We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room with a view”
Review of Bayfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2017

A view of the Bayfield Harbor and marina, along with the Madeline Island ferry, and all the people using this harbor. Great spot, convenient to everything in Bayfield. The room we had was over the office, very comfortable and roomy with 2 beds--even if the hottub and bathroom layout was sort of wasted space. The breakfast was very welcome and easy, with yummy baked treats from the owner's oven. Quiet enough at night, even though the harbor is so close. We were happy to be there, although the price was a bit high for the amenities. Bayfield was sold out all 4 days we stayed in town!

Room Tip: Rooms over the office do not have a balcony. Rooms with a balcony are smaller, though. We sat on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mpjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

We are so happy we chose to stay at the Bayfront Inn for our first trip to Bayfield. The town in general is a quaint, family-orientated area with no "mainstream" qualities (hotels, quick service restaurants, etc.) so be prepared that you will not have room service, elevators, or electronic room keys at any location you choose to stay. The room choices fill up VERY quickly. We booked our room 6+ months ahead of time and still were limited on the room we could pick from because of how far out you need to book. My husband and I, being newlyweds, wanted a lakeview with a balcony room and are so happy we did because my goodness, that view is gorgeous! Our room was simple, with a king bed, mini fridge, and microwave. It was a little muggy in the room when we got there but there was an A/C unit in the room which quickly solved the problem. The Inn is the perfect location and within walking distance to everything! hey offer a small pastry and coffee selection for breakfast, which was great for us. The staff was all very nice and helpful! The parking spots were limited but the staff quickly helped us out when the lot was full and we didn't know where to park. The restaurant next door and owned by the same people was literally fantastic, we ended up eating there 2 out of our 3 nights!
Overall, would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This was our first visit to the area and this inn. The room was very nice and spacious, we unfortunately had one of the rooms without a balcony (which would have been nice, not sure if we would have used) but the view of the harbor/lake was awesome. The location was right in the heart of the town and a short (very) walk from all the activities that we wanted to do - we didn't need our car during our entire 3-day visit. We were more than pleased with the continental breakfast - scones were yummy! We were initially surprised at the high-season rates of all the properties in the area, we usually don't spend this much per night - but because of the room, breakfast, location and super friendly staff we felt that their rate was reasonable and we would definitely recommend to family/friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views - try to get one on the 2nd floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sflathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We usually stay in properties of a certain hotel company, so stepping outside the box in a new destination was a bit of a challenge, but wow, did we win with the Bayfront Inn! I reserved on their website, but wasn't sure I had enough information, so gave their main number a call, got clarification from a super friendly person who suggested a different room, which turned out to be a wonderful spot. We stayed above the restaurant in Room #12, so had amazing views of both the ferry/excursion harbor and the park and would definitely stay in that room/area of the hotel again.
Our room had two queens, and sleeper sofa, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and an extra sink outside of the bathroom, which was more than we needed in the suite that went from front to back of the building. I would have given a 5 but the fireplace didn't work, and on the lake, you never know when you could use a fireplace - would definitely give it a 4.5 if I could!
The price for a three night stay was very affordable, and we found all of the docks and other sites in town an easy walk with a zillion photo opportunities.
Be sure to pay attention to all of the rooms on line before you book - all rooms are upstairs (22 steps!) and there are no elevators, so your Fitbit will love you. Some rooms also do not have private bathrooms, which is not unusual in this area. No problem staying directly above the restaurant, as it closes up at a decent hour although we didn't notice any noise from downstairs at any time of our stay. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, right down to Karen, our waitress on our first night, and Fran, who while manning the bar, gave us some great pointers on getting around to the orchards and other sites. The restaurant, which usually closes up around 9:00 during the week, stays open a bit longer when hungry passengers get back to the harbor after their cruise out to the Apostle Islands (a must!)
We will definitely be back to this quaint little jewel on the Lake Superior shore - so glad we took the chance on this one - thanks to everyone at The Bayfront Inn - see you again real soon!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I am in love with this place. The location could not be better and the owners were so nice. We stayed in room 1 which is an upper unit with two queens and a jacuzzi. We didn't have a deck but the room was actually bigger because of it. The room was huge, clean, and cozy. The view was spectacular and lake was glistening. They give complimentary breakfast of yogurt, pasteries, juice, eggs in the morning. The ferry landing was feet away and th town was right there. We definitely lucked out at this place and if I return to bayfield I will stay here every time. The best experience.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I really like this hotel/motel. Our room, #13, was perfect for our family of 5. 2 Queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Beds are comfortable with quality linens, bathrooms are modern and clean (and I'm a sucker for a heat lamp). Our private deck gave us a great view of both "downtown" Bayfield and Madeline Island on Lake Superior. The owners are very sweet family folks. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: upper deck all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leahg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My husband and I stayed here in August 2016. We stayed in Room 6 (second floor on the end) as suggested in a prior review ---balcony with nice view of the water and the Madeline Island Ferry. There was coffee and pastries every morning in the office, as well as yogurt and boiled eggs--serve yourself and take back to your room. A refrigerator and /or microwave in the room would be nice. The only negative was the mattress---not good. Location was great, never moved the car for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kct57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
24.9 km away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
26.6 km away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
16.9 km away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
476 reviews
0.7 km away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 15 Front St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4976
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing