We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful, lovely, best B and B breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, lovely, best B and B breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lovely arts and crafts lodge brimming with lots of its own "quirky" history, a quick hike into the historic district, fantastic view, soft-spoken, pleasant, caring host. What more could you want? How about clean as a whistle with a wonderful gourmet breakfast....one of the best breakfasts in 25 years of frequenting B and B's. Pride in ownnership is obvious.
JMcC, Montgomery County, PA

Room Tip: Small lodge, garden view okay but ask for a room at the back of the house to take advantage of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcCMontco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
110
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The house is beautiful and the rooms are clean and tastefully classic in style. The location is on top of the hill just a few blocks from town (an easy walk). Even though the house isn't far from the train station Chris still picked us up and dropped us off. This was greatly appreciated due to the cold weather. The food was absolutely delicious and each room ate at their own table which was just enough privacy to make dining more pleasant. We were able to pick the time that we preferred to eat breakfast as well. The trip was so refreshing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahlkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Second time I stayed here, and it was just as lovely as the first time. Great hosts, terrific breakfast. Rooms are so so clean and beautiful, and the location can't be beat! Thank you, Chris and Ed (and Ben) for another memorable stay.

Room Tip: The Cedar Room is my favorite - it has a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

A simply peaceful, warm, welcoming, and comfortable sojourn. The hospitality is professional and the setting adaptable, tailored to individual needs even when the house is full. There is a feeling of belonging, an atmosphere of serenity, and ample opportunities for chatting, reading or solitude. The breakfasts are extraordinary. We have and will continue to come again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Laurel Lodge is a gem of arts and crafts architecture. The home has been decorated beautifully with attention being given to every detail. Our hosts were welcoming and gracious. The breakfasts were truly gourmet. The views were stunning. This was a place of retreat and refreshment for my husband and myself.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodadoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The rooms were very comfortable, the house beautifully decorated, and it was in a wonderful location overlooking the Potomac River. It was at the end of a quiet street, complete with a friendly black cat who came for a pet each time we went in and out to our car.

All three breakfasts were incredible! We started with juice and a homemade bread (scones, biscuits, coffee cake), a fruit (stewed apple crumble, fresh fruit, broiled grapefruit), and a main dish (omelets, pumpkin waffles one day). It was the highlight of the day.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Walnut View Room, which had a shared bathroom. It was not a problem - the bath is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I spent one night here as part of our Civil War driving tour. The house is so beautiful, and located on spectacular scenary. Chris and Ed were very gracious, and breakfast was fantastic. We would definitely make this our regular stopping point in Harpers Ferry!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
2.4 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.4 km away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 km away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 12 in Harpers Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Lodge

Property: Laurel Lodge
Address: PO Box 1011, PO Box 1011, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-1011
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the history and scenic beauty of Harpers Ferry from this charming B&B. The stone Craftsman bungalow is a short stroll from Harpers Ferry National Historic Park. Explore the natural wonders of our area by hiking the Appalachian Trail, biking the C&O Canal or floating down the Shenandoah or Potomac river. Or, simply relax on our wrap-around porch overlooking the Potomac River gorge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing