We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
68
24
9
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
24
9
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas boxed wine complimentary beverages coffee and juice hot breakfast bottled water the main drag keith patio refrigerator sleeping
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 114 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2016

Adobe Abode is just a mile or so out of the way of all the hubbub of Moab (Thank Goodness!). The Abode itself is beautiful Southwestern- adobe walls, red-brown and olive green touches, and the view is one of those - what are they called? - "mountains" .."cliffs" of red brown sandstone, and off in the distance, some incongruous snow-covered mountain range. The breakfasts are delicious, too. Just a lovely place to stay.

Room tip: Ask to look out at the mountains.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Three of us stayed at this unique B&B for 2 nights in July 2015. It is a bit out of the way but not really a big deal to get there. The common room area is very open and well appointed with a lot of light and comfy places to sit and a nice big kitchen with a dining table. Food was very good. (Note that I am not a picky person but there was a lot of choice and the presentation was nice. e.g. waffles with strawberries) Our room was outside of the main room and up a pretty long flight of stairs. Make sure to say if you don't want a "walk up," as they have rooms on the ground floor off the main room. I might have preferred that but didn't know to ask for it. The room was clean, well appointed and large enough to fit a round table for "our stuff." The views were not spectacular but we saw plenty of stars. The national park was only about 15 minutes away by car and it is well worth a visit in the evening and during the day.

Room tip: If you don't want to climb stairs for a room with a better view, ask for a room off the main living area.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015

Adobe was fascinating because the owner was a sophisticated artist and very courteous. His home is a wondrous expression of his personal style including his metal arts as well as him collections. The home lacked nothing in wondrous detail. Our room was equally wonderful. I wish I could take some of his creations home.The only bad thing I was to say is that the hostess was not very accommodating or friendly and the breakfasts where uninspired and quite bland.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czuzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015

I had high hopes for this B&B after seeing the photos and making a reservation for three nights. Our room was upstairs above the garage and required a climb up a steep staircase. The stairs were in need of repair and the trash cans and metal debris underneath unsightly. The extension cord lying on the ground at the foot of the stairs a hazard. The room (there are two above the garage) was an obvious addition and poorly constructed. The room was dark and poorly lit. The living room/common area was open and more appealing if not my taste in decor. While the gratis wine and beer was a nice touch, the wine was a poor grade and the beer warm. We had our own so no big deal. What was a big deal was no wifi while advertised as available. We were only able to connect for several minutes twice during our stay. Judy acted as if this was a new problem with the router and she would contact her IT guy, but from other reviews I can see this is an ongoing issue. Breakfasts were OK. The drain in the bathtub was clogged. I informed Judy who let us know when we returned in the afternoon the problem was fixed. No, it was much worse the following day making a second shower in the morning impossible as the tub was draining very, very slowly. When we arrived back in the afternoon the odoriferous trashcan was next to the tub with the scum/hair/goop in it. My wet towels were still on the floor. Judy was no where around (we never saw/met her husband). We placed the smelly can outside and managed to get clean towels. The good news was the drain was working. The best part of the location was the proximity to the central area of Moab. The 'neighborhood' was not appealing. We had no spectacular view. Judy was difficult to locate or gone which we found unusual for a B&B. No notice or instruction on how to contact her if needed. Our experience in Salt Lake City in a VRBO and at a B&B in Panguitch were both wonderful. The Adobe Abode did not meet our expectations. I would not recommend it and will not return.

Room tip: Avoid rooms above the garage
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We have stayed at B&Bs all over the world- everything from simple monastic rooms in the rainforest to very luxurious Victorian mansions, but this was the worst experience ever. We like staying in B&B's because of the rooms, the breakfast, and the hospitality(including local knowledge and recommendations), but Keith and Judy missed on every point!

When we first made the reservation, we asked if they could accommodate my gluten free, egg allergies. Judy told us no problem and that we should send them an email before we came reminding them. When I did and said I would be bring my own cereal and would be happy with just some milk alternative yogurt and fresh fruit, Keith sent back a very short email, "we don't have it." When we went to the main grocery store in Moab, (5 mins from the Inn) we found all kinds of gluten free cereals, coconut, soy and almond milk yogurts, etc. They just did not want to be bothered. Breakfast for my husband was almost inedible. In the 6 days we stayed, he was served french toast dipped in cereal with frozen fruit on top twice; crepes rolled around frozen strawberries; quiche with some kind of funky sausage; another day was leftover crepes formed into a basket with leftover quiche inside. The only fruit served was sliced watermelon. The other option was cold cereal. Coffee was serve yourself and it was lukewarm everyday. While there, their family was visiting. Since you eat in their family kitchen, the daughter came out in her pajamas and uncombed hair and stood at the counter drinking coffee. Nice! The kitchen was messy with dirty dishes in the sink. We watched as Judy wiped her nose, tucked her hair behind her ears and than flipped french toast with her fingers without washing her hands. Gross....after that, we skipped breakfast and went to the Love Muffin Bakery/Cafe instead.

We reserved the most expensive room for 6 days. The room was large but poorly laid out. To see the view of the mountains you had to actually leave the room. We were located over the garage, so we heard it open and close. We had to walk by the stinky garbage cans to get to our room. There are just bamboo blinds on the window so anyone walking by could look into our room. The inn is so close to the road, we heard traffic all night long. In 6 days, our bed was only made once and the sheets were never changed. One night, when we came home we found our wet towels still on the floor from the morning. The refrigerator in the room still had someone else's leftover Chinese food. Judy removed the food when we checked in, but she never cleaned the refrigerator, so we had that smell the entire time. Likewise, the closet floor was dirty with sand, but that was never cleaned up. The bed and pillows were incredibly uncomfortable. The bed consisted of a single mattress on top of a plywood board with old hard foam pillows. We did not sleep the entire week. There were not enough dresser draws, so we essentially lived out of our suitcases. The B&B is located near the Public Works Department, so the setting is not pretty. Out one window we looked at the PWD tin storage shed; out the other, we looked at all the metal scraps and trash from Keith's art projects.

Hospitality was completely lacking!!! When we first checked in, we asked Judy about suggestions for dinner, rafting trips, etc. She told us that the "Moab menu guide is in your room and the rest go into town." Absolutely no help. In the 6 days we were there, neither Keith or Judy said "Good morning" or inquired about our visit. In fact, they were quite crabby in the morning. Why they run a Bed and Breakfast is beyond us. Judy made a big deal about the common areas and to make yourself feel at home. Unfortunately, when we came in at the end of the day or after dinner, everything was locked up and the lights were off. Nothing warm or inviting about that.

This was truly the worst experience ever!!! We loved the Moab area and every one else was super friendly, otherwise, our trip would have been totally ruined. Our recommendation: DO NOT STAY HERE! Better options would be the Red Cliff Lodge or if you want a great B&B, check out Cali Caliente in Moab.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews