We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for what it is, but we won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ok for what it is, but we won't stay here again”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This is a cheap place to camp (tent) in Moab but not very pleasant experience. You're crammed in really close to other tents and set up on gravel. bathrooms were clean but tended to run out of toilet paper so bring your own just in case, pool was nice but small and crowded. The internet access was awful, you'd be on for 5 minutes and then the Tengonet service they use would drop access-we were there 3 days and the internet never worked reliably for more than a few minutes at a time. If you're only going to sleep here and stay away from the place most of the time, it's a cheap way to stay in Moab but we won't come here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    145
    51
    20
    18
See reviews for
158
129
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
McCook, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This campground is great if you're not really looking for an outdoors roughing it type of camping. We stayed here just because the price of hotels and other rentals in the peak season is so high. I wanted inexpensive convenience more than anything.

We reserved one of the tent sites that has a partial covering (see the photo). Some sites are covered completely, some have a small covering like ours, and some are uncovered. This was great since it rained constantly for our two day stay. With a tarp, we could effectively cover both the picnic table and our tent- no worries about leaking in the rain. The surface of the camp sites is sandy, even under the coverings, so the ground was comfortable. There is a wooden fence between the tightly packed sites.

The showers and bathrooms were clean, much cleaner than many I have seen in campgrounds. There are 4 showers in the women's restroom, and they were a bit crowded in the mornings and empty most of the rest of the day.

The laundry was acceptable. Use the big dryers. They work faster than the small ones for the cost and you'll save a quarter.

There is definitely loud traffic noise at night, but our children slept through it. This campground is right in the middle of town. You pull into a gas station and take a driveway on the right side right into the campground. There is a high school behind it that you can see from the sites, but overall there is quite a bit of tree coverage so you don't feel like you're in a city, unless you listen.

The playground was great for my kids with 3 swings and a small play house. It's in an enclosed area too. They wanted to spend all of their time there (ages 3 and 1).

The only downside was an inconsiderate neighboring camper that was openly smoking marijuana outside his tent and smelling up the whole area. Since the camp sites are very close together it was troublesome for us. I tried to go complain at the office, but it had already closed for the night and he left in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bananalegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Overall the place was ok but it was impossible to upload all the photos I took because the internet was so slow.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Staff is rude. Campsites are smal. Cabins are the size of a prison cell. Toilets in the bath house were constantly clogged. Soap dispensers were always empty. No pets allowed in the cabins but I don't know why; there is nothing inside the cabin that a pet could possibly destroy since there is virtually nothing inside the cabins.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeeperKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Clean, roomy enough for our 34ft with 2slides and tow vehicle.
EXTREMELY GOOD CHECK IN STAFF.
We had to leave a day early, they readily refunded our prepayment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consumerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami,Fla
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights here, in Moab, while we toured Arches and Canyonlands parks. The location of the campground is within walking distance of just about everything. The facilities were clean and the WiFi worked OK. We used the pool and the sundries store on site.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miami_FlaWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed five nights in a tent site. All in all, I was satisfied with this campground. After all, it is a campground and I never had high expectations. The tent sites are on the side and along a wooded area. Each campsite has a fence around it which provides privacy. Furthermore, each tent site has a permanent canopy which was helpful to keep our gear dry while we were gone.

In regards to the showers and bathrooms, they were generally clean and a lot cleaner than other campgrounds that I've stayed.

Staff was great. Mark, the campground super, was very friendly and made it his point to say hello.

Location is good, depending on what you want. If you want quiet wilderness, this is not for you. If you want to be able to walk to restaurants and the supermarket, this is for you. There is some noise coming off the main road. Nevertheless, I am from NYC and it didn't bother me.

My only real complaint was the cockroaches. At night, our site was overrun with cockroaches. At any time, we could count 4-5 scurrying around. While I normally don't mind bugs, I mind cockroaches for whatever reason. We also had an ant problem but I minded this less. Due to this, I will likely not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobAdams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.2 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 35 in Moab
801 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
4.6 km away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
7.1 km away
O.K. RV Park & Canyonlands Stables
1.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 35 in Moab
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing