We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Manager is horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manager is horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

They act like you should be grateful they let you stay there. They had mixed the sites up and asked us to move 3 nights in a row. When we complained to the manager and he was very ugly and not even apologetic. The management has let that rudeness trickle down to all the staff. The owners should look for a new manager.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canyonmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
We here at Canyonlands Campground worked hard to get this gentleman into our park at his request. When we took his reservation we explained the only way to make this work was to have him move more than once because we were almost sold out.
Two things happened when this gentleman arrived at our park. He belittled and berated our staff from the minute he arrived. Also, he forgot all about having to move around in order to stay in our park. After several days of his arguments and staff abuse, all of us here at Canyonlands regretted having tried to help this person in the first place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    125
    42
    19
    13
See reviews for
133
111
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We just got back from a 7 night stay at Canyonlands Campground, and loved every minute of it. We loved it so much we added a extra 2 nts from our original 5 nt booking. We did this while we were there and it was no problem or hassle and they were very accomodating. We rented one of there cabins and it was just a perfect little home for our family of 4. It was nice to have hard walls to come home to at night. The little frig inside was very helpful to keep the babies milk cold...and the cabins also have a airconditioner and heater. the air came in very handy in the hot July heat of moab. Each space had a fire ring and picnic table. My in laws were right across from us in a tent trailer and it worked out perfect for them too. the bathrooms were ALWAYS clean and well stocked. That is always a welcome treat when you are camping.
The location of Canyonlands was perfect for us. After a long day of exploring the area, you could come back to camp, get cleaned up and walk right downtown. The walk to the main part of downtown where shops and restraunts are is only a 10 minute walk down the road. many other campgrounds were on the outskirts of town, which would of been more of a hassle for us. there is also a great city market a half block down which is a great little groccery store. The camp had a pool which was a nice treat in the hot afternoon and it was always clean and clear water.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely!! The only drawback is that the sites are close together. We were fine about this cause we were gone most of the day anyways. There is plenty of shade trees on the property to keep it cool too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinmja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We entered Canyonlands Campgrounds and had to have a fun little thrill when we drove right through a brook to get to our section of campgrounds, which were a few bucks cheaper because of their location farther away from the community bathrooms. At $33 a night, being right in the center of town—within walking distance of everything—and having the option of doing laundry was nice. This wasn’t exactly roughing it in the wildnerness.

The bathrooms were pretty nice for a campsite; it reminded me of a gym locker room at a nice college. Something electronic of mine needed to be charged, and the person at the convenience store of Canyonlands let me use it while I went out to dinner. Now that I think about it, what the hell was it that I trusted people so much to just leave it there?? The restaurants in Moab we went to also let us use their outlets to charge phones, cameras, etc. Nothing was stolen. No cockroaches. Friendly and helpful staff, though they close early (at least my permit was put in an envelope at the door)

It was June and very windy- our tent almost blew into the creek, even though it was held down by a cooler and other suitcases!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back area, it is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ShepGlennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

This is a cheap place to camp (tent) in Moab but not very pleasant experience. You're crammed in really close to other tents and set up on gravel. bathrooms were clean but tended to run out of toilet paper so bring your own just in case, pool was nice but small and crowded. The internet access was awful, you'd be on for 5 minutes and then the Tengonet service they use would drop access-we were there 3 days and the internet never worked reliably for more than a few minutes at a time. If you're only going to sleep here and stay away from the place most of the time, it's a cheap way to stay in Moab but we won't come here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCook, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

This campground is great if you're not really looking for an outdoors roughing it type of camping. We stayed here just because the price of hotels and other rentals in the peak season is so high. I wanted inexpensive convenience more than anything.

We reserved one of the tent sites that has a partial covering (see the photo). Some sites are covered completely, some have a small covering like ours, and some are uncovered. This was great since it rained constantly for our two day stay. With a tarp, we could effectively cover both the picnic table and our tent- no worries about leaking in the rain. The surface of the camp sites is sandy, even under the coverings, so the ground was comfortable. There is a wooden fence between the tightly packed sites.

The showers and bathrooms were clean, much cleaner than many I have seen in campgrounds. There are 4 showers in the women's restroom, and they were a bit crowded in the mornings and empty most of the rest of the day.

The laundry was acceptable. Use the big dryers. They work faster than the small ones for the cost and you'll save a quarter.

There is definitely loud traffic noise at night, but our children slept through it. This campground is right in the middle of town. You pull into a gas station and take a driveway on the right side right into the campground. There is a high school behind it that you can see from the sites, but overall there is quite a bit of tree coverage so you don't feel like you're in a city, unless you listen.

The playground was great for my kids with 3 swings and a small play house. It's in an enclosed area too. They wanted to spend all of their time there (ages 3 and 1).

The only downside was an inconsiderate neighboring camper that was openly smoking marijuana outside his tent and smelling up the whole area. Since the camp sites are very close together it was troublesome for us. I tried to go complain at the office, but it had already closed for the night and he left in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bananalegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Overall the place was ok but it was impossible to upload all the photos I took because the internet was so slow.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Staff is rude. Campsites are smal. Cabins are the size of a prison cell. Toilets in the bath house were constantly clogged. Soap dispensers were always empty. No pets allowed in the cabins but I don't know why; there is nothing inside the cabin that a pet could possibly destroy since there is virtually nothing inside the cabins.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeeperKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.8 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#4 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
4.2 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Moab Valley RV Resort & Campground
17.5 km away
Archview RV Resort & Campground
1.9 km away
Inca Inn
Inca Inn
#2 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground

Property: Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground
Address: 555 S Main St, Moab, UT 84532-2924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyonlands Campground is a RV park with 66 RV sites, 15 water and electric sites, 41 tent sites, and 8 camper cabins.Services include free wi-fi, swimming pool, pavilion, group campfire area, and childrens play area. The park is pet friendly except for the cabin area. We have a gas station/convenience store, propane sales, and laundromat on site. All sites except RV sites include a fire ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyonlands Campground Hotel Moab
Canyonlands RV Resort & Campground Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing