We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ate at restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ate at restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went to arches national park and wanted to look for a place that had buffalo or elk, so we searched the gps and located red cliffs lodge. After a winding 8 mile journey along the back of arches and next to the colorado river we made it there. We ate in a comfortable lodge with two story windows overlooking the colorado river. Also found out this is where John wayne did a few movies, a must go to spot!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinityFlKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    563
    114
    42
    9
See reviews for
850
1,177
61
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here for a night during the winter, therefore taking advantage of the half-off special and near-empty hotel grounds. The gorgeous setting, well-designed rooms, friendly service and toasty lobby made this possibly the best value hotel we've ever stayed in. The view from the riverview patio was an amazing way to start our day. The drive from Moab proper is almost as stunning as the National Park, which cannot be missed. Also check out Moab Brewery in town - great stuff!

Room Tip: The riverview rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I and our five year old stayed for six nights in a room in the lodge. We loved the drive to and from the place everyday, the beautiful surroundings and the swings. Even though we were gone all day, leaving every morning and returning early evening, the room got small after a couple days, especially with our son sleeping on the pull out couch. The room looks exactly like the pictures on the Web site but the sleeping set up for three people is a bit odd (the pull out couch blocking the entrance to the kitchen), making it feel cramped. Also, not having a stove and relying on the microwave got old by the fourth day. The walls are pretty thin. As quiet as he tried to be, we heard the man next to us every morning at 5:00. I feel funny not giving it a better rating because it is a beautiful place and the room/cleaning service, by the way, was top notch! The people at the front desk were nice enough. I have to admit that I am comparing Red Cliffs to some of our other lodgings in the 12 National Park areas we have visited over the past five years. I thought this lodge was overpriced for the room we got. Maybe with three people, we should have stayed in a cabin, although they seemed very expensive for not having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capecodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were in Utah for a wedding and decided to come out early and see some of the state. We booked last minute are so thankful we did. Our room was right on the river so the views are spectacular. The winery has several very good wines that go perfect with the food being served at the restaurant. We enjoyed dining on the deck overlooking the river. The wait staff was personable, friendly and knowlagable as they are local. The food itself was above average for a hotel restaurant and they will even make you lunch if you are going out for an adventure. We went horseback riding at the ranch (the best trail riding I have ever been on) , hiked the canyons, drove to canyonland, hiked in Arches, and rafted the colorado. All this in three days. If you like an active vacation this would be it. But it is also one of the most relaxing places I have ever been. The lodge is out of the way and away from town but it is only a 15-20 min drive. I have almost 180 destinations on my travel map and this is one of my 6 favorite places. Take it for what that is worth

Room Tip: get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins right on the river bank. The cabins are equipped with two queen bedrooms, a joined bathroom, living room with kitchenette and a big deck facing the river. Everything was clean and tidy, the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is quite good and offers amazing views on locations well known from wild west movies. There is not really a need for the 15 mile drive to Moab to get dinner.

The drive from Moab is along the Colorado river through a canyon with amazing views, and the location of the lodge is at a point where this canyon widens towards the 'professor valley'. The landscape invites to some after dinner hikes, horse rides or just a car trip enjoying the amazing views at sunset. Arches NP is right across the river, but since no road climbs the mountains, it's a 20 mile drive to the park entrance. Canyonlands is a little further.

We enjoyed our stay here tremendously, as a base for our exploration of the national parks as well as for relaxing on the patio enjoying the sounds of the river and watching the birds nesting in the trees around us.

Room Tip: I have not seen the smaller rooms, but the 2-bedroom cabins are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have spent two nights in this very nice lodge last week. Booked on booking.com they are offering half price of their normal rate, means 99$ per nights. Arrived late, I have suffered form their relative remote location, had to drive 20 km from Moab junction. In daylight this is a really nice scenic road. Room was nice an clean, only problem was that it was not pre heated, so in -7 the clima spent some hours when he room templeature reached the normal. The second surprize was, even it was published on their www, no restaurant in house. They kindly offered some survive set (cookies, jogurt, bananas), but no hot meals are available. So you should prepare yourself.
Location is simple the the best, in the morning you open your door to Colorado river and the rocks.
For 99 it's a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have traveled around the country and stayed at lots of places, but nothing comes close to the location and natural beauty surrounding the Red Cliffs Lodge. We extended our vacation so we could visit Moab before flying back home to DC. We booked the Red Cliffs Lodge at the last minute based on the reviews we saw on TripAdvisor and this was the first time the comments were spot on. We wish we could have stayed another night at Red Cliffs Lodge! The setting was perfect and we absolutely loved the fact Castle Creek Winery was located next door. We arrived late in the afternoon and had dinner at the Lodge. The food and service was great. The rooms are fairly basic and very clean, but the views more than make up for the basic amenities. The next day we went horseback riding with a group of people and it was the perfect way to end our tour of Utah, Arizona and Nevada. We we will be serving Castle Creek wine at our wedding and we plan to come back in a few years!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
15.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#4 of 36 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
14.4 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 36 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
15.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
14.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
15.9 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 36 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing