We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply cannot beat the surroundings!!”
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Let be start out by saying this was my first trip to Moab. The beauty of the land there... in such a small concentrated area is so stunning. What's fantastic about staying at Red Cliffs... is that you have so much of that concentrated beauty (literally) at your front door.

We stayed in a queen river suite last August (2011) with our patio facing the Colorado. It's truly fantastic. At night... it's a black, star-lit sky with the milkyway and shooting stars... and the sunsets at dusk are amazing.

The room was comfortable... laid out well ... with good AC and cool lighting.
The pool area was nice as was the fitness center (but hopefully you'll be hiking tons in Moab, so you won't be using it that much. :)

Our first night we had dinner at the restaurant there, and it was good. A tasty steak dinner. Nothing amazing... but still tasty... and better than average for what you usually get at a hotel. My last morning there... before going on one last hike in Arches... I had the breakfast buffet there... which was very good.

The staff was always friendly... ESPECIALLY Elaine, the bartender. LOVED her!!! She is the best!!!

As you've probably read in other reviews... the only real negative is that it's a 20 minute ride (but a VERY beautiful one at that) from the center of Moab, itself. Thus ... you just have to really remember... WHAT you need when you're in town to stock up for your fridge, etc. There is no convenience store (as far as food goes) near the hotel. There's also no ATM in the hotel... which I found a little odd (and only was inconvenient once... as I forgot to get cash when we went to go on a river rafting trip and we needed to have cash to tip our guides.)

Again... though ... it's a great place with amazing surroundings... that truly have you feeling you're immersed in the land and environment.

Check out the movie museum while you're there too. Cool stuff!!!

Room Tip: get a river suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadKat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,083 - 2,089 of 2,974 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a varied menu and everything looked good and tasted as good as it looked. The bartender was friendly and offered suggestions on what the locals drank.
The view of the mountains from the pool was exceptional.
The hotel is located close to the Arches Natl Pary. (worth the visit).
They also arrange rafting on the river. A must do.
Overall it was an excellent vacation. The weather was super hot in the day cool at night.
If you are into national parks and red rocks this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: They have rooms that allow animals. Maybe try not to get one of them. Ours allowed animals but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sligome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very impressed with value for a winter deal. Amazing view from king suite. Spacious comfortable accommodation. Characterful and well thought out. Perfectly adequate continental breakfast. Not much to buy in hotel for self catering - best bring your own stuff from town.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casasastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went to arches national park and wanted to look for a place that had buffalo or elk, so we searched the gps and located red cliffs lodge. After a winding 8 mile journey along the back of arches and next to the colorado river we made it there. We ate in a comfortable lodge with two story windows overlooking the colorado river. Also found out this is where John wayne did a few movies, a must go to spot!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinityFlKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here for a night during the winter, therefore taking advantage of the half-off special and near-empty hotel grounds. The gorgeous setting, well-designed rooms, friendly service and toasty lobby made this possibly the best value hotel we've ever stayed in. The view from the riverview patio was an amazing way to start our day. The drive from Moab proper is almost as stunning as the National Park, which cannot be missed. Also check out Moab Brewery in town - great stuff!

Room Tip: The riverview rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I and our five year old stayed for six nights in a room in the lodge. We loved the drive to and from the place everyday, the beautiful surroundings and the swings. Even though we were gone all day, leaving every morning and returning early evening, the room got small after a couple days, especially with our son sleeping on the pull out couch. The room looks exactly like the pictures on the Web site but the sleeping set up for three people is a bit odd (the pull out couch blocking the entrance to the kitchen), making it feel cramped. Also, not having a stove and relying on the microwave got old by the fourth day. The walls are pretty thin. As quiet as he tried to be, we heard the man next to us every morning at 5:00. I feel funny not giving it a better rating because it is a beautiful place and the room/cleaning service, by the way, was top notch! The people at the front desk were nice enough. I have to admit that I am comparing Red Cliffs to some of our other lodgings in the 12 National Park areas we have visited over the past five years. I thought this lodge was overpriced for the room we got. Maybe with three people, we should have stayed in a cabin, although they seemed very expensive for not having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capecodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were in Utah for a wedding and decided to come out early and see some of the state. We booked last minute are so thankful we did. Our room was right on the river so the views are spectacular. The winery has several very good wines that go perfect with the food being served at the restaurant. We enjoyed dining on the deck overlooking the river. The wait staff was personable, friendly and knowlagable as they are local. The food itself was above average for a hotel restaurant and they will even make you lunch if you are going out for an adventure. We went horseback riding at the ranch (the best trail riding I have ever been on) , hiked the canyons, drove to canyonland, hiked in Arches, and rafted the colorado. All this in three days. If you like an active vacation this would be it. But it is also one of the most relaxing places I have ever been. The lodge is out of the way and away from town but it is only a 15-20 min drive. I have almost 180 destinations on my travel map and this is one of my 6 favorite places. Take it for what that is worth

Room Tip: get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
15 km away
Best Western Plus Canyonlands Inn
15.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#5 of 37 in Moab
762 reviews
14.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
14.3 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 37 in Moab
1,399 reviews
14.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range: $151 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing