We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place, I want to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cliffs Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Moab
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place, I want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

When it came time to picking some accommodation in the Moab area for our trip, we were lucky enough to have this gem pop up in our searches. Often wary of the glossy tourist brochures that show the one spectacular view, leaving the other not so wonderful views for you to discover once you arrive, there was none of that in this case. Everything was as advertised and then some!

From the moment I rang from Australia to make a booking, the staff were helpful and friendly, assisting with suggestions for a room type (glad we took their advice). We stayed in one of the riverside King suites and had a great view out over the Colorado river. The local squirrels put on a show just outside our door and the peace and tranquillity of the place was enchanting.

We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant on site, as well as had breakfast one morning. The food was faultless and the service very good. It was very relaxing sitting on the back deck watching the river flow by as the sun set while eating our meal.

There are many activities one can do around the lodge as well as in the nearby area. While it is a 15 mile trip back to Moab which takes about 20-25 minutes, we were still close enough to easily reach Arches national park and the main town centre of Moab.

If I ever get back to Utah, this is definitely one place I want to spend a week at - rather than just the two nights we had. You can see something of the lodge in my film I made of our journey up to Moab from Monument Valley here: http://vimeo.com/36636605 and you can see the squirrels playing outside our door here: http://vimeo.com/30577688

In summary - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that overlooks the river - it's worth it having your own patio and being a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant_VK5GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    563
    114
    42
    9
See reviews for
850
1,177
61
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Let be start out by saying this was my first trip to Moab. The beauty of the land there... in such a small concentrated area is so stunning. What's fantastic about staying at Red Cliffs... is that you have so much of that concentrated beauty (literally) at your front door.

We stayed in a queen river suite last August (2011) with our patio facing the Colorado. It's truly fantastic. At night... it's a black, star-lit sky with the milkyway and shooting stars... and the sunsets at dusk are amazing.

The room was comfortable... laid out well ... with good AC and cool lighting.
The pool area was nice as was the fitness center (but hopefully you'll be hiking tons in Moab, so you won't be using it that much. :)

Our first night we had dinner at the restaurant there, and it was good. A tasty steak dinner. Nothing amazing... but still tasty... and better than average for what you usually get at a hotel. My last morning there... before going on one last hike in Arches... I had the breakfast buffet there... which was very good.

The staff was always friendly... ESPECIALLY Elaine, the bartender. LOVED her!!! She is the best!!!

As you've probably read in other reviews... the only real negative is that it's a 20 minute ride (but a VERY beautiful one at that) from the center of Moab, itself. Thus ... you just have to really remember... WHAT you need when you're in town to stock up for your fridge, etc. There is no convenience store (as far as food goes) near the hotel. There's also no ATM in the hotel... which I found a little odd (and only was inconvenient once... as I forgot to get cash when we went to go on a river rafting trip and we needed to have cash to tip our guides.)

Again... though ... it's a great place with amazing surroundings... that truly have you feeling you're immersed in the land and environment.

Check out the movie museum while you're there too. Cool stuff!!!

Room Tip: get a river suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadKat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a varied menu and everything looked good and tasted as good as it looked. The bartender was friendly and offered suggestions on what the locals drank.
The view of the mountains from the pool was exceptional.
The hotel is located close to the Arches Natl Pary. (worth the visit).
They also arrange rafting on the river. A must do.
Overall it was an excellent vacation. The weather was super hot in the day cool at night.
If you are into national parks and red rocks this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: They have rooms that allow animals. Maybe try not to get one of them. Ours allowed animals but it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sligome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Very impressed with value for a winter deal. Amazing view from king suite. Spacious comfortable accommodation. Characterful and well thought out. Perfectly adequate continental breakfast. Not much to buy in hotel for self catering - best bring your own stuff from town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casasastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went to arches national park and wanted to look for a place that had buffalo or elk, so we searched the gps and located red cliffs lodge. After a winding 8 mile journey along the back of arches and next to the colorado river we made it there. We ate in a comfortable lodge with two story windows overlooking the colorado river. Also found out this is where John wayne did a few movies, a must go to spot!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinityFlKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here for a night during the winter, therefore taking advantage of the half-off special and near-empty hotel grounds. The gorgeous setting, well-designed rooms, friendly service and toasty lobby made this possibly the best value hotel we've ever stayed in. The view from the riverview patio was an amazing way to start our day. The drive from Moab proper is almost as stunning as the National Park, which cannot be missed. Also check out Moab Brewery in town - great stuff!

Room Tip: The riverview rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I and our five year old stayed for six nights in a room in the lodge. We loved the drive to and from the place everyday, the beautiful surroundings and the swings. Even though we were gone all day, leaving every morning and returning early evening, the room got small after a couple days, especially with our son sleeping on the pull out couch. The room looks exactly like the pictures on the Web site but the sleeping set up for three people is a bit odd (the pull out couch blocking the entrance to the kitchen), making it feel cramped. Also, not having a stove and relying on the microwave got old by the fourth day. The walls are pretty thin. As quiet as he tried to be, we heard the man next to us every morning at 5:00. I feel funny not giving it a better rating because it is a beautiful place and the room/cleaning service, by the way, was top notch! The people at the front desk were nice enough. I have to admit that I am comparing Red Cliffs to some of our other lodgings in the 12 National Park areas we have visited over the past five years. I thought this lodge was overpriced for the room we got. Maybe with three people, we should have stayed in a cabin, although they seemed very expensive for not having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capecodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
15.3 km away
The Gonzo Inn
The Gonzo Inn
#4 of 36 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
14.4 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 36 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
15.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Canyonlands Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Moab
14.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Moab
15.9 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 36 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cliffs Lodge

Property: Red Cliffs Lodge
Address: Mile Post 14 Hwy 128, Moab, UT 84532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Moab
#1 Family Hotel in Moab
#2 Business Hotel in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cliffs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Cliffs Lodge is Moab's National Park experience. Located on the banks of the mighty Colorado River surrounded by 2000 foot cliffs on 220 acres. Lodging includes suites and cabins all with private water views. Rustic elegance and rated #1 place to stay in Moab by Trip Advisor 7 + years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cliffs Hotel Moab
Red Cliffs Moab
Red Cliffs Lodge Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing