We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable, what we expected for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Roaming Endlessly
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, what we expected for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stopped in Moab on our way from Denver to Sedona. We needed a clean bed and a hot shower and River Canyon provided just that.

The fact that a warm fire was glowing in the lobby and we were met with friendly service was a bonus!

The room was nothing fancy but it did have a small table, plus a desk, mini fridge and microwave. We got up early the next morning to watch sunrise in Arches National Park and it was just a few minutes drive from there.

If you have pet allergies, not a good place for you. They have doggie treats on the lobby counter, pet fountain in the lobby and when we checked out a cat was curled up in the outgoing mail basket. We love animals so we didn't mind, as long as it didn't "smell" like animals which it didn't.

They offer AAA, AARP and government rates which makes their low rates even better!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColetteAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    203
    176
    58
    43
See reviews for
124
253
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the River Canyon Lodge in late September. The hotel had free WiFi, 24 hour free coffee in the lobby, a fridge and microwave in the room and, basically, provided us everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The room we had wasn't palatial but it was adequate for the two of us. I have included a picture from our 2nd floor room which faced north. Our bill was $100/night after taxes which I found was pretty standard for Moab. We would recommend this hotel to anyone not needing the Ritz type amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpsiemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Spent 3 nights here in September whilst visiting Arches and Canyonlands National Park. Great location, minutes walk into Moab for restaurants and shops. Receptionist wasn't particiularly friendly or welcoming. During our check in she had to calm down a German couple who were cross that they had arrived before us but could not check in because their room wasn't ready. In fairness, the couple were quite agitated, and it wasn't the receptionist's fault.

From the outside the Lodge looks really nice. Reception and public spaces seemed nice. The room was really quite dated with flowery linens and a large bulky tv bolted to the wall. The lighting was terrible, big strip lighting over the bed - no lamps. The room had a fridge and microwave, perfect for travellers.

No breakfast available.

There is a pool and large jacuzzi around the back - which is nice if you have time for it. This place is not fancy, but its clean and functional and perfectly fine for a few days to a week.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestreviewer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We spent 3 nights in this pleasant hotel in a central position in Moab. It was ideal for our visit to the Arches National Park and Canyonlands. It was friendly, clean and restful.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room at the back which didn't have a good view but otherwise was spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in Sept. while visiting the National Parks. The room is the design of a Microtel, only brighter, southwest design, and larger. We had a Queen bed on the 3rd floor facing the front parking lot. Great choice of room! We could see the mountains from a really neat large window seat. They honor AARP Discount. Very comfortable bed, very quiet air-conditioner, and great hot shower. Microwave and fridge and wifi. Drawbacks are: not continental breakfast or laundry services (the hotel is listed as an extended-stay). There is coffee, but de-caf available only in instant packets. TV in room is small, but we were not there to watch TV. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor by front parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
273 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Arriving in Moab, UT to visit Arches National Park at 2 PM, most all motels/hotels were booked solid. Although I usually book on-line, I did not know that I could complete the drive that day from Estes Park, CO. Finally finding a room ($$$$) at River Canyon Lodge, I executed all of my discounts and still ended up with a $224 bill for one night. No breakfast in the morning but only coffee. I did receive a $5 coupon for Pancake Haus in the morning. I shall not be returning to this lodge in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance and avoid this "rip off" hotel. The staff couldn't have cared less if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jds754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaMoab, Guest Relations Manager at River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Dear JDS754: Thank you for your comments. We offer several room types at our hotel and rates are based on high and low season. You stayed in our suites, so rates are higher. We offer lower room rates in our regular rooms with either 1 or 2 queen beds. Moab is a tourist community, so hotel tax is also higher than most community, which unfortunately must be added to your final room rate. Please go online and check out our many online discounts that is available as well as consider staying with us during our low season where room rates can start at $59 plus tax. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

One block off main street, nice and quiet. Not fancy but clean and functional. great staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franko1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moab hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Greenwell Inn
1.5 km away
Moab Valley Inn
Moab Valley Inn
#13 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.0 km away
Aarchway Inn
Aarchway Inn
#9 of 34 in Moab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Moab Downtown
Hotel Moab Downtown
#21 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 km away
Bowen Motel
Bowen Motel
#16 of 34 in Moab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.8 km away
Motel 6 Moab
Motel 6 Moab
#29 of 34 in Moab
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites

Property: River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites
Address: 71 W 200 N, Moab, UT 84532-2328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Moab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Moab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value in downtown Moab. Modern 3 story hotel with elevator located in the heart of downtown Moab. Hotel guests can walk to many restaurants, bars, art galleries, and native retail stores.We offer Free Wi-Fi, large pool and Moab's largest hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your River Canyon Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Canyon Hotel Moab
River Canyon Moab
River Canyon Lodge Inn And Suites Moab, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing