We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badlands Inn(Interior)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
230
40
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
40
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfeed the chickenssouth dakotablueberry pancakesping pongthe main housekruse familyliving roombadlands national parkcowboy cabinwonderful hostsroad tripbreakfast was amazingplace to stayblack hillsrapid cityhorseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 280 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Although this place is popular during the summer, it would be cozy during the off season and winter. You are in the immediate area of the park and there is wildlife all year long. The family that owns the place and the staff are helpful and friendly.

That said, you may need to plan you lunches and dinners some distance before you get to the hotel. Think Rapid City, SD, Hill City, SD, Pierre, SD, Sioux Falls, SD, and Chadron, Nebraska. Although there is a small market in Murdo, SD, you might find it lacking.

You'll need to bring your own alcoholic beverages from the same distance.

You will prepare your meals in a community kitchen, so you'll need to be flexible about meal times, using the stove or oven, dish washing, etc.

Circle view is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Owners Philip and Amy Kruse are some of the best Host and Hostess I have ever encountered.
We got there and it seemed as if Amy was just waiting for us. She took my children to feed the chickens and the calf. It was as if we were family or long time friends.

There are many options for stay at Circle View to meet your needs.

We stayed in the Hamm Homestead Cabin with no electricity, water or plumbing, great experience for my city girls. I was a little apprehensive because I do not do spiders or bugs, to my great surprise the cabin was immaculate. The outhouse too- not a spider or bug to be seen, I don't know how they do it.

It was so much fun to be unplugged. My city girls danced on hay bails, waded in the river, feed chickens and bottle fed their pet calf. We saw amazing stars and listened to coyotes. The view from the main house is gorgeous but being down by the river had wonderful views too. We got to watch a storm roll across to the north. My only regret is we did not stay longer.

The breakfast could rival any 5 star restaurant and it a great opportunity to mix with other guests.

Just down the road is opportunity to horseback ride. We've ridden at other parks and locations and appreciated this ride because we did not have to ride tail to nose. We were allowed to ride at our own pace and even gallop if we wanted to. Ask Amy for details to riding.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debitrip2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

This stop is a real treat especially if traveling with kids. Try to come before four so your kids can participate in feeding the farm animals. small calf, chickens, burros. The rooms are spotless and the communal rooms include space to read and a separate space for foosball, pingpong and board games. Breakfast is served at 730 with great coffee, juice and a variety of healthy options. It was nice to share a home that is so welcoming (the kids are wonderful). Look forward to going back.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank spiritcove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Circle View Ranch is on top of a butte near the badlands, offering a truly amazing 360 degree view. Breakfast was amazing, with a wide assortment of options for every taste. The family and staff were friendly (we especially loved the very efficient nine-year-old who helped to check us in) and our room was clean and comfortable. Our outdoor breakfast was interrupted (in an amusing way) by a wayward calf, and our daughter loved the "chicken stampede" in the morning, as the children fed the fowl. This was a charming choice. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mts821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Our family had a wonderful time staying at the Circle View Ranch! 10 of us stayed at the ranch while exploring the nearby Badlands! Staying at the ranch was as much fun as hiking through the Badlands! The kids had a great time hiking around the ranch, feeding the chickens and interacting with the farm animals - especially Bill the calf who thinks he is part dog! Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices! The Kruse family are very warm and welcoming! If we ever make it back to the Badlands, we will definitely stay at the Circle View!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews