We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay while exploring the Badlands!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Circle View Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This place felt like home. The hosts are there for you whenever you need them, their children are adorable and so well behaved! I loved the family feel of the place as well as all of the family photos. The fact that it was a working ranch was so fun for a city girl like myself. Watching the kids go off on a 4 wheeler to help dad dig a well and then come home to bottle feed the calf were everyday occurrences to them and quite the treat for me! The breakfast was great and was the first tie I realized how many people were staying on the ranch! It was very quiet in my wing and I had no idea that there were so many people there! The breakfast was absolutely incredible and I was glad I was there for two mornings.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are next to the game room, you may not want those.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Circle View Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Although this place is popular during the summer, it would be cozy during the off season and winter. You are in the immediate area of the park and there is wildlife all year long. The family that owns the place and the staff are helpful and friendly.

That said, you may need to plan you lunches and dinners some distance before you get to the hotel. Think Rapid City, SD, Hill City, SD, Pierre, SD, Sioux Falls, SD, and Chadron, Nebraska. Although there is a small market in Murdo, SD, you might find it lacking.

You'll need to bring your own alcoholic beverages from the same distance.

You will prepare your meals in a community kitchen, so you'll need to be flexible about meal times, using the stove or oven, dish washing, etc.

Circle view is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Owners Philip and Amy Kruse are some of the best Host and Hostess I have ever encountered.
We got there and it seemed as if Amy was just waiting for us. She took my children to feed the chickens and the calf. It was as if we were family or long time friends.

There are many options for stay at Circle View to meet your needs.

We stayed in the Hamm Homestead Cabin with no electricity, water or plumbing, great experience for my city girls. I was a little apprehensive because I do not do spiders or bugs, to my great surprise the cabin was immaculate. The outhouse too- not a spider or bug to be seen, I don't know how they do it.

It was so much fun to be unplugged. My city girls danced on hay bails, waded in the river, feed chickens and bottle fed their pet calf. We saw amazing stars and listened to coyotes. The view from the main house is gorgeous but being down by the river had wonderful views too. We got to watch a storm roll across to the north. My only regret is we did not stay longer.

The breakfast could rival any 5 star restaurant and it a great opportunity to mix with other guests.

Just down the road is opportunity to horseback ride. We've ridden at other parks and locations and appreciated this ride because we did not have to ride tail to nose. We were allowed to ride at our own pace and even gallop if we wanted to. Ask Amy for details to riding.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debitrip2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

This stop is a real treat especially if traveling with kids. Try to come before four so your kids can participate in feeding the farm animals. small calf, chickens, burros. The rooms are spotless and the communal rooms include space to read and a separate space for foosball, pingpong and board games. Breakfast is served at 730 with great coffee, juice and a variety of healthy options. It was nice to share a home that is so welcoming (the kids are wonderful). Look forward to going back.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank spiritcove2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Circle View Ranch is on top of a butte near the badlands, offering a truly amazing 360 degree view. Breakfast was amazing, with a wide assortment of options for every taste. The family and staff were friendly (we especially loved the very efficient nine-year-old who helped to check us in) and our room was clean and comfortable. Our outdoor breakfast was interrupted (in an amusing way) by a wayward calf, and our daughter loved the "chicken stampede" in the morning, as the children fed the fowl. This was a charming choice. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mts821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Our family had a wonderful time staying at the Circle View Ranch! 10 of us stayed at the ranch while exploring the nearby Badlands! Staying at the ranch was as much fun as hiking through the Badlands! The kids had a great time hiking around the ranch, feeding the chickens and interacting with the farm animals - especially Bill the calf who thinks he is part dog! Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices! The Kruse family are very warm and welcoming! If we ever make it back to the Badlands, we will definitely stay at the Circle View!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

There are just a couple of decent places to stay close to Badlands National Park, but this one is far more than just "decent." It's a working ranch which built a separate house as a b & b. We stayed a night en-route to Yellowstone from Wisconsin. The ranch is about 4 miles southwest of the tiny village of Interior (which unfortunately doesn't have much to offer), a mile off State Highway 44 on their own gravel road up a steep grade to the bluff top. It is about 10 minutes to Badlands National Park. There are great views in all directions in this "big sky" (sorry, Montana) country: the badlands in one direction in the distance, and the Cedar River valley just below in the other. I took this photo of the Cedar River from their upper floor deck of a departing thunderstorm (not retouched, the scene kept us relaxing and talking outside for hours with other guests). There are friendly animals for the children (and adults too): burros (bring carrots), a calf, chickens (don't miss the chicken run after breakfast), dog, cats, etc.
Rooms are not large but very comfortable (we were upstairs); each is decorated individually, nothing fancy but welcoming. The bathroom was small but functioned well (no water problems that I could see). Everything was spotless, not an easy task in this rural, dusty environment. A/C worked perfectly on a 100 degree day. There are far more public spaces than in your typical b & b, and everyone used them: a big comfy living room (well furnished), even bigger game room, and full-length deck upstairs, and a large dining area downstairs (where the kitchen is).
Breakfast is served promptly at 7:30 am (not 7 am as one comment said), buffet style. There was a huge selection, everything was freshly made (not out of a box), some from flour/eggs from the ranch itself. While 7:30 might seem early, it pays to get an early start here in the summer; nights are cool and pleasant, but it can heat up above 100 during the day fairly quickly. The food was all excellent – it was hard to stop and we left full (and we are fairly picky when it comes to food). Look at the Circle View web site for menus – they are accurate.
Outside breakfast, there is apparently no place good to eat in Interior (though there's a dining room at the lodge in the park that is possible). Perhaps for that reason, Circle View provides a separate fully-equipped kitchen just for its guests, which we gratefully used (we brought our own lunch and dinner).
The hosts were relaxed, informal, and welcoming. They made us feel as if they really wanted us to be there and were sorry to see us leave (it is family run, and they have a long history on the ranch). If you want cookie-cutter impersonal chain motel super plush beds/big bathrooms, with no personal involvement, this place is probably not for you. But if you want a wonderful place to stay that gets you personally involved in the spirit of the West and immerses you in the Badlands environment, and still gives you plenty of creature comforts, pick this place. And if you have children, they will love it. If I sound enthusiastic ... we stayed 7 places on our long Yellowstone trip, all first-rate (because I carefully researched them), and Circle View is tied for first in my opinion.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms look at parking area (close) & Badlands (distant) or river valley. Lower floor ro...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SocEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
35.9 km away
Best Western Plains Motel
6.1 km away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
35.9 km away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 km away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
174 reviews
39.3 km away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
66 reviews
35.8 km away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle View Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle View Guest Ranch

Address: 20055 E Highway 44, Interior, SD 57780-6804
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Interior
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with friends high atop our butte on our ranch that borders Badlands National Park. Clean, casual lodging in our 9 room guest house with full kitchen use, Wi-Fi, game room, AC and the biggest view in South Dakota! Rooms have queen or king beds and private bathrooms. Bonfires, ranch tours, homestead cabin and full breakfast served daily. Come stay with the local cowboys and make your vacation more memorable, you'll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle View Guest Ranch Hotel Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing