We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to rest your head” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place to rest your head”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

on a hiking trip to the badlands last August, foud or us stayed at this hote/motel. It was a bit old, but felt clean enough and was right near the entrance to the National Park. The folks running the place were pleasant. There were a fair amount of dead bugs in the pool.
We weren't expecting luxury (if we wanted that, why would we have come to the Badlands?)it was a decent place to rest our heads after long days of hiking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    63
    54
    13
    9
See reviews for
77
56
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here in July on our cross country trek. We were quite pleased to arrive after a nail biting drive through a dark and stormy night in the badlands. We hit bad weather on our drive and knew we would arrive late, so we made special arrangements for a late check-in. After stopping for a quick dinner at Wall Drug we drove through the very dark badlands with only lightning to give us a peek at the beautiful scenery.
Since we were on a cross country trip we only need a clean, comfortable place that is dog friendly just for a few hours of sleep and to recharge our phones.
The room was a little run down but comfortable and very large. You would be hard pressed to find a place at this price with as beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Don't come here expecting luxury, because you won't find it, but this hotel is great value for the money and the owners and people who work here are so incredibly nice. The room is simple and clean. There are no TV's but you won't need one anyway. The hotel is located right at the entrance to the Badlands National Park (maybe a 5 minute drive), so if you forget something and need to go back, it is not a problem at all. They have an above-ground pool, which is nice in the heat. The cowboy breakfast is awesome. The owners were so friendly, my boyfriend and I bought a lot of bottled water at the Walmart in Rapid City and we carried it upstairs to our room, so it wouldn't get hot in the car, they saw us and offered to let us put half of it in their freezer. I would stay here every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Some confusion over the name caused me to drive past the entrance; is the last word Inn, Lodge or Motel? They are all the same place. After deciding we missed it, I enquired at a local garage and was directed to the site. We arrived soon after 8pm to find the office closed - even though we had pre-booked. Life in Interior finishes at 8pm! However, the very helpful lady in the garage was still awake, phoned the owner and got him to open reception for us. From then on all was well. The room was fine and the people in the reception/shop were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extronordinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus
Level Contributor
595 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is the only place near the Badlands that allows dogs in the room, so there was not too much choice for us. Actually it is not bad, just not overly good. The room was small but clean, and the beds decent. No TV and no phone, but that would be expected at this rather remote locale. We were there on a Friday night, and there was quite a bit of noise from some folks in the parking area late into the night.

We really love the Badlands, and this place is so convenient we would stay here again despite its shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

After a busy day at Badlands NP we wanted a hotel nearby. Interior doesn't offer much, so we though we'd try the budget host. It's an older hotel, but well maintained. The rooms are small and there is no tv, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. They also offer wifi. We were traveling with a small dog, and she was also welcome. Since this hotel is adjoined to a campground there is lots of space to walk the dog and the views of the Badlands are great. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly. After an evening stroll we saw hummingbird moths pollinating the flowers that grow all along the hotel. Amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Very well positioned by the badlands and the visitor center. Nice and quaint and by the cool little town of Interior..population of 67 =). If you're expecting a resort hotel this is not the place for you, but for outdoors people who are afraid of tents this is your ticket..and it's cheap!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherbros21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
35.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
38.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
35.8 km away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
America's Best Value Inn
35.7 km away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
35.5 km away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Interior Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Property: Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing