We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Dorado Hotel(Terlingua)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
3
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshall of famespring breakstayed herebig bendranchkeyrvfacilitiescampsitecampingsitestentstarspark
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We utilized this RV and Tent park to pitch our tents knowing that Big Bend would be full due to time frame was first weekend of spring break.
Protocol is to pay for your camping, (at the general store that has everything you might need that you forgot), spots and then go drive the ranch until you see a site that you like. Throw your hat down and start pitching camp. Its that easy. We felt confident going to big bend knowing we would have a place to camp at Stillwell. Tom and John who I talked to a couple of times guaranteed me they would not turn us away. They would find us a spot on the ranch if it reached capacity. Who wants to drive 9 hours and see a sign that says FULL. We don't. The showers were hot, the drinks were cold and the people were friendly. And the stars were bright. Had a great time and we will return.

Room Tip: Camp to the south closer to Black Gap Management side, the north side roads can be a little "pulverized caliche" dusty.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017

We have stayed here many times over the years, and always enjoyed it immensely, even under the new management. Of course, it is miles from anywhere, and the facilities are basic, but adequate, and it is only 6 miles from the park north entrance. Don't stay here, expecting a KOA campground in Missouri, as some people have written in other reviews. A great place to get away from the crowds.

Unfortunately, this visit was an exception for us. Upon arrival we were met, in the office, by a most unpleasant, and sour individual, who seemed to be rather put out by the interruption to his TV viewing.
Then he told us we couldn't stay in the area we usually did, because the sites were for 50 amp campers only, and they would be full during Thanksgiving. By the time I had gone back to our vehicle to consult with my wife, he had changed his mind, and told me that we could stay where we wanted to, but we would have to pay the 50 Amp rate. That is the first time we have ever had to pay for 50 Amps, and only used 30. Then he proceeded to over change us for our 12 day stay, charging us for 2 weeks. I didn't realize this until later.
During our stay we were looking forward to seeing the crowds of 50 Amp campers arrive, but they never materialized. Just 3 or 4 campers.
Thinking it was me, my wife went to the office to try to purchase a couple of grocery items, and received very much the same treatment.

This is the sort of experience that puts people off a return visit, and we will seriously consider other options, the next time we visit Big Bend.
It is a pity, because it is a very nice location.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here instead of the BBNP and it was the right decision. We were the only tent campers. It was unbelievably quiet, star gazing was amazing even though it was a full moon. Wildlife was abundant, we had a little baby horny toad that lived towards the back of our campsite. Showers were clean and made a huge difference in our wellbeing for the days spent exploring the park. The guy at the store was a little cynical and not very friendly, but he was still very helpful and the store had everything we needed, especially since we forgot ketchup! I would like to think we are supporting a small/local business by staying here, and we will absolutely do so again. Go to the Hallie Stillwell Hall of Fame, just ask for the key at the store. It's a cool little walk through West Texas history!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

We were visiting Big Bend National Park and were unable to get a camping spot inside the park. My husband booked us in to Stilwell RV park which is about 30 miles from the park.

It was like a Green Acres moment when we pulled in. We were sent to "the Strip" which is a big gravel lot with some hook-ups. The doors were torn off the porta potties and you had to go across the road to use a bathroom and shower.

The shower room had a spray bottle of "Clean Shower" and you were supposed to spray it down after you showered. You were not supposed to put paper of any kind in the toilets but yet the wastebasket was not emptied the whole three days we were there. Good thing it wasn't busy cause it was gross.

I would advise you to keep on driving!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JLPLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

This park is just outside the north entrance to Big Bend National Park. It has both full hook-ups and partial hook-ups as well as tent sites. Some sites have shade shelters with picnic tables. There is a general store and gasoline available. Diesel is available 25 miles away in the park. The place is clean, safe and quiet. No cell service. Limited wifi. Great sky at night. Flocks of quail run through park in morning. There is a small but very interesting museum devoted to Hallie Stillwell who was a real Texas character. Just ask for the key and browse around. Watch out for deer on the road to the park. Great place to stay while exploring Big Bend.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank greenjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews