We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding outing”

Everglades Adventure Tours
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Ochopee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everglades Adventure Tours is owned and operated by a 4th generation swamp family.We offer a variety of everglades adventures for all types of travelers.Our tours not only give you insight into the ecology but a true sense of local culture.Our local knowledge of the swamp and the naturalist guides are sure to make your tour of the Glades a memoarable experience.We are the first only company to offer traditional pole boats have been used for centuries by native people here to hunt fish and travel the swamps, they now also offer a quiet way to explore the natural beauty of the florida everglades and experience ecotourism at its best. By providing you with a unique and enjoyable experience, we hope to be the highlight of your vacation while at the same time creating an appreciation and awareness of the importance of preserving our natural resources. All of our tours strive to be as environmentally conscious as possible reaching towards
Useful Information: Activities for older children
North Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“outstanding outing”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

great experience in the wildlife of the everglades - with the pole tour, such a
serene , close to nature, as can be , without the noise . it was superb

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank marie34486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    13
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Great Day in the Everglades”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and I took a two hour pole-boating trip today. It's a wonderful way to see a bit of the Everglades. The boat is very quiet and maneuverable--great for getting up close for viewing and photographing wildlife. Jack was a great guide. He let us enjoy the peace and quiet, but was knowledgable when we had questions and pointed out things we would have missed. Highly recommend this trip.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lee1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“homestead family - rich in stories and knowledge of the backwaters”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Jack is a wonderful guide who is willing to share his kin eye for flora and wildlife. He grew up in these waters and knows them well. A personable young man who is willing to remain silent for the joy of the true experience of backwater nature or tell tales of growing up in the backwaters.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank sophia1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodenbowl
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The way everyone should see the parks”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My wife and I did a 2 hour pole-boat tour with Jack in December. It was the highlight of our trip.

Pole boating is a unique and very unobtrusive way to visit the park. The pole boat can go into areas even kayaks cannot reach because of the tall grass.

Jack was a superb guide, respectful of the environment, smart, and a lot of fun. Jack grew up in the area and is hugely knowledgable about the local culture and wildlife.

By contrast there are a lot of tour operators in the Everglades who just arrived a couple years ago, got their guiding credentials, and know very little.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank woodenbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique glimpse of everglades and mangroves”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This visit to the mangrove tunnels in the freshwater river system of the everglades is like no other boat trip we took in the Big Cypress Swamp. All other guided boat rides use powered boats, which of course are noisy and require more depth of water than the pole boat tours offered by Jack, the operator of Everglade Adventure Tours. Our early morning private tour was wrapped in fog, with birds, alligators, and the incredible sounds of the natural everglades: mangroves branch above, blocking out the sky, forests of bromeliads hang overhead, deer feed on the hgher-ground hammocks, raccoons clamber on oyster shell beds and climb trees. Our boat was comfortable and extremely stable, with swivel seats that allowed us to turn from side to side without rocking the boat. Jack was a soft-spoken, enthusiastic guide. This type of trip not for those who want excitement, but for those who want a quiet moment to experience the everglades from the inside.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everglades Adventure Tours also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Everglades Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing