We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Haywood is Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Uniontown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Haywood is Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel -- the service is great, location couldn't be better and what a wonderful experience to stay in a building that used to be a department store.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    113
    31
    21
    18
See reviews for
104
391
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I'm puzzled about the "middle of the pack" TA ranking for this hotel. Despite the good reviews I read on TA, I was hesitant about the hotel because of its relatively low ranking on TA. Were we ever surprised! The hotel was far above our expectations.

The lobby is beautiful as was our room--404--a Master King. We were floored about how large the room was--and the bathroom was fantastic with a huge granite countertop with double sinks. I've read reviews that said the furnishings were dated, but we found them to be extremely nice. Having a sofa as well as a (large!) easy chair in the room was great--especially since the room was spacious even with these large pieces of furniture. The TVs (one in the bathroom) were flat screen and perfect for the spaces they were in. We loved the luxury linens on the bed.

We were "serenaded" in the afternoon by singers on the street. My husband was bothered by this so went to the large sitting area right outside our door and read. Most hotels don't offer sitting areas this large and nice on each floor--a definite plus.

We also were pleasantly surprised that even though we were right downtown (a real boon for us), our room afforded a view of mountains off in the distance.

We loved our stay at the Haywood Park and would not stay anywhere else. We drove out to the Biltmore Village area and felt that staying downtown rather than the BV area was the right decision for us. Other than that drive, we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just a quick note on this - this was a last minute "google" search for a place in downtown Asheville, and it couldn't have turned out better. Anything you want to see or do in the small downtown area is accessible from here, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. I highly recommend staying a night or two there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I booked this hotel for a last minute Memorial Day getaway. We love walking around downtown Asheville and this hotel is in the absolute perfect location to everything. The room was much better than we expected with a sitting area and enormous bath, even a flatscreen in the bathroom. The staff was great and super helpful. Free valet parking a total plus. The lobby area and floor areas have an old department store feel and do not represent the room themselves well. Overall totally worth it, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Haywood - a sort of 'mini-vacation' to celebrate our anniversary. The room was extremely comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the chocolate shop in the building was incredible. They unloaded and parked the car for us - we didn't see it until time to leave. Excellent restaurants, shops and galleries within easy walking distance and a great coffee shop right across the street. One of the prime locations for Asheville's street musicians is across from the entrance to the hotel, so we could listen from the room or go down to the street to enjoy the entertainment.
We don't visit Asheville often, but we have found the place to stay when we do. I highly recommend the Haywood Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We always pass through Asheville on our way from GA to VA, but we never had time to stay overnight until this trip. Not being all that familiar with Asheville, I searched hotels online and thought the Haywood Park Hotel sounded like it had the most character. What a great choice! From the second we pulled up to the curb until we left the following morning, everything was perfect.

We were greeted immediately by very friendly and personable staff, and they took care of our every need. The champagne at check-in is a very nice touch as is the complementary valet parking, and the little "to go" bag with the waters and granola bars was much appreciated as it helped us get on the road the morning of check-out without having to immediately stop to eat.

The room was quite nice, and we had a great view of the city below from the 4th floor. The location is PERFECT. We spent the afternoon and evening walking around downtown, finished with supper at the Bier Garden just up the block and had a very short walk back to our hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in downtown Asheville. The pricing seems on-par for what you receive in terms of service and accommodations (especially with the little extras), and we will definitely be back again!

Thanks for a great start to our vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachytine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Haywood for about five days and couldn't have been happier. The room was very large and comfortable, with a separate sitting area. The location was perfect. It's in the very heart of downtown and of course, everything is within walking distance. The free internet service and free parking were a nice extra.

The room was clean and well maintained. And the floor was very quiet.

I highly recommend the Haywood and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 62 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: 1 Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet •Complimentary valet & self-parking •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •I-home® docking stations •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •Banquet and meeting spaces •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing