We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal”
Review of The Blackbird

The Blackbird
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blackbird is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 856 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Ashton St
Description: The Blackbird located downtown Asheville, NC has a beautiful modern handcrafted interior while featuring modern cuisine. Locally sourced farm to table and changing with the seasons. Local family owned and operated. Great bar, beautiful lighting, cozy seating - the perfect spot!
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Based on reviews and location we decided to try this restaurant in downtown Asheville. We we're not disappointed. We started with the cheeseboard for 2 which was tasty. We split a kale ceasar, which was excellent as well. I got seafood risotto, the scallops we're done perfectly. My husband got the chicken which he also raved about. The portions were not huge, which I prefer so I can try more things. The salad is plenty big enough to share. All in all food was delicious. Service was also excellent and the chef came around to all the tables to check it. I would definitely recommend it to someone looking for a nice meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 734 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals! The waitress was really great and friendly! We enjoyed the whole experience :^)

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgpena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a great bottle of wine, followed by a squash appetizer then for dinner we both had the seafood risotto. To die for. Service was excellent, food was amazing! I live in Asheville and will return!!

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank judithw577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

First of all, the dining room noise is deafening. You can barely here someone across the table from you. But the worst was when someone from our group ordered the veal-in-bone entree. It came came ladened with salt. Uneatable! Chef apologized and replaced it with a trout dinner. Unfortunately, the fish came out partially raw. More apologies. In the end the head chef personally prepared another fish dinner "to go" but by then our friend had lost her appetite. The rest of us nibbled on the peanut shrimp which was just "OK". After our friend's dinner fiasco we all assumed she would not even be charged for her side salad. Wrong! None of us will be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ronk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Amazing food, pleasant ambience, right in the middle of jumping Asheville. Easy parking in the Aloft garage right next door.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank michaelwD9611ZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackbird also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Blackbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing