We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of France in Asheville”

Old Europe Coffee & Pastries
Ranked #1 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: ABOUT OLD EUROPE:Old Europe brings real, homemade Hungarian pastries to friends and visitors of Asheville, North Carolina. Owner and trained pastry chef, Melinda Vetro, was born and raised in Esztergom, Hungary. In addition to her "training" from her grandmother where she learned years of family recipes, Melinda was also professionally trained as a pastry chef for four years in Hungary before making her way to the United States in 1991.
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Love this place. The decor, friendly staff, cappuccino, double espresso, pastries. You can picture yourself in Paris! It's right downtown, & hard to pass it and not stop.

Thank kerry e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Wonderful! Our owner was born and trained in Hungary, and is passionate about recreating the taste and ambiance of Europe in our shop, pastries and coffee. We are glad you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2016

Asheville is chock full of restaurants and bakeries, but you need to come here for dessert. We picked up a brochure at the Visitors' Center and found it on our self guided walking tour. Both my husband and I try to eat carefully and have imposed a one dessert a week rule. We try to look for amazing desserts to not "waste our calories." He got pumpkin cheesecake, and I had the Hungarian chocolate mousse. We both had huge grins on our faces and savored every bite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thank you for stopping in! We are Asheville's oldest coffee shop, and have the largest variety of pastries, so we hope you stop in and spend your weekly allowance on us again to try something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Asheville for long weekend and ended the evening both nights there. Delicious pastries,cakes and more! Nice people and great service!

Thank B7518CBlaurac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thank you for ending your evenings with us! We are Asheville's oldest coffee shop, and our recipes are carried over from the old world - Europe - where our owner Melinda was born and trained. We hope you get to visit Asheville again and try more of our treats!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

A large variety of classic desserts. Everything we tried, tasted fresh and enjoyable. Rankin Street or Civic Center paring garages are nearby and the first hour of parking in there is free.

Thank mishkanazapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed our shop. We have the largest variety of pastries in town - and if you come early (we open at 7am) parking on the street out front is easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Unbelievable! Must come! A Special Experience. Cakes are so fresh and tasty. It's better than your moms.

Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Thank you! Our pastries are made every day from recipes carried over from our owner Melinda's grandmother's kitchen in Hungary. We are glad you stopped in, and hope you stop back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Europe Coffee & Pastries also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Old Europe Coffee & Pastries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing