We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I in France???”

Old Europe Coffee & Pastries
Ranked #1 of 37 Coffee & Tea in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: European, Hungarian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: ABOUT OLD EUROPE:Old Europe brings real, homemade Hungarian pastries to friends and visitors of Asheville, North Carolina. Owner and trained pastry chef, Melinda Vetro, was born and raised in Esztergom, Hungary. In addition to her "training" from her grandmother where she learned years of family recipes, Melinda was also professionally trained as a pastry chef for four years in Hungary before making her way to the United States in 1991.
Reviewed January 19, 2018

Old Europe Coffee and Pastries is a little gem in Asheville. From its quaint coffee nook to the old world entrance to the amazing coffee and pastries this coffee house is THE perfect corner to tuck into with a book, a loved one or just yourself to write your next novel. The staff was terrific, especially Gil, who was attentive, funny, and a wonderful barista.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertslaughteriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Public Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

That you so much for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed our little shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

We walked in on a cold day to warm up. We ordered ham and cheese croissants and a fresh, delicious quiche of the day. The cafe au lait was so good as well. It was slightly expensive but I’m always willing to pay for quality. Very cute cafe.

1  Thank agmltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Guest Relations Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Thank you! We make all of our pastries fresh every day and we're glad you enjoyed your breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

We were referred to this location by Gina at the Ashville Beer Co. It is a very small cafe but very big on Selection and Character! We ordered 2 desserts and cappuccinos which were to die for. I will visit again the next time I am in town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 509jlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

We so appreciate the referrals from our neighbors! We would love for you to visit again. Thank you so much for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

The gluten-free tiramisu was a rare treat for me. The serving was quite generous, so everybody else at the table had a bit. My daughter also had two macarons, which she raved about.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Thank you for the review! We try to keep a variety of items in the case to satisfy every palate! We hope you will come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Wife and I were visiting Asheville today (12/29/2017) and it was about 35 degrees outside, so we wanted to duck into a coffee shop to get warmed up. This place is charming - very small with seating areas scattered about. They've got an impressive case full of cookies and pastries too. We each had a hot chocolate, and split a chocolate chip cookie. It was all fantastic, but a tad overpriced in my opinion. Still, it's a fun stop along the downtown shopping area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeinflorida1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEuropeAsheville, Manager at Old Europe Coffee & Pastries, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

We are definitely the right place to warm up on really cold days! Thank you so much for your review. We are grateful that you found us and hope you will come again on your next trip to Asheville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Europe Coffee & Pastries also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Old Europe Coffee & Pastries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing