We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice enough but overpriced!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having recently stayed in another B&B in a small southern artsy city, we found the rooms and house a bit dilapidated and small, the late night driveway noise bothersome, the breakfast adequate but not spectacular, and the price WAY out of line. When I come back to Asheville, I'll try another place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hill House certainly is not dilapidated in any way. We're constantly complimented on the beauty of our common areas. Yes, a couple of our lower-priced guest rooms don't have polished hardwood floors and a couple of pieces of furniture in them could better be described as used rather than antique. But we make a strong effort to give those rooms a certain country or bohemian charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    65
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
351
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I traveled to Asheville for the first time in November 2011 and stay at Hill House. We loved Asheville and we loved Hill House. Bill and Terry were very friendly, the homemade breakfast was delicious, the dogs were adorable, the beds were super comfy, the house was immaculately clean, and the snacks and drinks available 24 hours for guests was awesome. We don't have a single complaint. We will without a doubt be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and thoroughly enjoyed our get away. We stayed in the Cottage...clean, cozy, and a comfortable place to be with just each other. Breakfast was perfect..just enough but not too much. Its always nice to meet the other guests over breakfast and hear activities they have tried. We do not drink alcohol and found the never ending cookie jar and Terry's baked treats perfect for our evening cravings. The night before we left, I took a bath using the provided soak crystals in the jacuzzi tub...it was the first time I soaked in a tub in YEARS....it was a wonderful treat for ME. Bill was a helpful resource for directions and dining suggestions. I wanted to stay at a place that I would feel comfortable...and knowing that Bill and Terry had pets and were "dog people", also helped my decision process. Bailey was there for a pat after breakfast making me feel even more like home!

Room Tip: The Cottage had a regular shower AND a jacuzzi tub...so we were both pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have tried several B&B's off ofMerrimon Ave and this is our favorite. It is close to the University and walking trails. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have their own bathrooms. The sweets severed on the afternoon are great plus a glass of wine. Last time we visited over the weekend we enter yp staying at holiday inn and the cost was more and the breakfast was continental and out of a box.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Hill House for one night in October during peak leaf season. We had a wonderful time, even though it was brief. The house is very cozy and clean. Our room had some plumbing issues with the toilet but Bill and Terry were kind enough to offer us the use of another bathroom and left a surprise bottle of wine for us with their apologies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at Hill House Bed & Breakfast with my sister the night before my wedding and then for 2 nights after my wedding with my husband. The Flat Iron Suite is beautiful and so comfortable. Bill and Terry are wonderful hosts - there when you need something but they also give you your privacy. Every breakfast was fantastic and the evening tea and snacks were great too. We can't wait to go back. Very close to downtown and very secluded. Its amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,IL
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Well kept property. Large yard and gardens almost obscure the street and neighbors completely. Grand porch. Lots of books about the area in the living romm. Creme Brulee french toast for breakfast one day was fantastic. Egg casserole another day was equallly good. Never ending cookie jar true to its name with additional treats daily (peanut butter bars, toffee bars). Good coffee, out early so you don't have to wait for your morning joe (scones and biscuits, too if you can't wait for breakfast at 9).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrShnaynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
5,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 39 in Asheville
873 reviews
Historic Montford
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing