We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
“Everything was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in the Biltmore suite over Presidents Weekend 2012.----The room was spotless, very nice size, and we were provided everything we needed from the moment we walked in the door. The owner David, is super friendly and very accommodating. For the breakfast we had a quiche, which was very tasty, and also some fresh baked pear bread, which was excellent with the coffee. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay here----a short drive to downtown, and close to everything. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgibbon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    64
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
343
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We loved this place. The new owner David is a great guy, a lot of fun to talk to, as were the assistant innkeeper Matthew and Crystal. The common area where breakfast is served is a beautiful space. We stayed in the Battery Park room, which had a really nice sunroom and was quite cozy. We'd probably be inclined to give this an Excellent review if the bathroom had been a little nicer. Unlike many other rooms, the Battery Park room has only a standing shower and seemed a little out of date.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was my first time to ever stay at a bed and breakfast. I did a lot of research to find a b&b with both ambiance (that wasn't outdated) and a good location. This place was perfect! We adored our room, Kress Room, and thought the entire house was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and kind. I would definitely stay here again. Oh yeah, and BREAKFAST? So yum.

Room Tip: Kress is very relaxing. I'd like to go back alone and just read in it all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lonnavines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Having recently stayed in another B&B in a small southern artsy city, we found the rooms and house a bit dilapidated and small, the late night driveway noise bothersome, the breakfast adequate but not spectacular, and the price WAY out of line. When I come back to Asheville, I'll try another place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Hill House certainly is not dilapidated in any way. We're constantly complimented on the beauty of our common areas. Yes, a couple of our lower-priced guest rooms don't have polished hardwood floors and a couple of pieces of furniture in them could better be described as used rather than antique. But we make a strong effort to give those rooms a certain country or bohemian charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I traveled to Asheville for the first time in November 2011 and stay at Hill House. We loved Asheville and we loved Hill House. Bill and Terry were very friendly, the homemade breakfast was delicious, the dogs were adorable, the beds were super comfy, the house was immaculately clean, and the snacks and drinks available 24 hours for guests was awesome. We don't have a single complaint. We will without a doubt be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and thoroughly enjoyed our get away. We stayed in the Cottage...clean, cozy, and a comfortable place to be with just each other. Breakfast was perfect..just enough but not too much. Its always nice to meet the other guests over breakfast and hear activities they have tried. We do not drink alcohol and found the never ending cookie jar and Terry's baked treats perfect for our evening cravings. The night before we left, I took a bath using the provided soak crystals in the jacuzzi tub...it was the first time I soaked in a tub in YEARS....it was a wonderful treat for ME. Bill was a helpful resource for directions and dining suggestions. I wanted to stay at a place that I would feel comfortable...and knowing that Bill and Terry had pets and were "dog people", also helped my decision process. Bailey was there for a pat after breakfast making me feel even more like home!

Room Tip: The Cottage had a regular shower AND a jacuzzi tub...so we were both pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have tried several B&B's off ofMerrimon Ave and this is our favorite. It is close to the University and walking trails. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have their own bathrooms. The sweets severed on the afternoon are great plus a glass of wine. Last time we visited over the weekend we enter yp staying at holiday inn and the cost was more and the breakfast was continental and out of a box.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#16 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801-1206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing