We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful! Great mass as well

We attended New Years mass at the Basilica. Was a great place for mass service and also to admire... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
marybeth f
,
Lansing, Michigan
A stellar basilica with amazing presence

Just walk in and wander (within reason of course). This gorgeous basilica will instill reverence... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SVerbsky
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Read all 1,060 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Asheville
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$19.99
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
733
282
42
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
282
42
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church stained glass rafael guastavino elliptical dome old church tile work domed ceiling attend mass sunday mass free standing dome spanish architect carnegie hall architectural gem amazing architecture worth a visit self guided tour open to the public
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018

Make sure to stop by this Basilica. Very well preserved. Quiet and peaceful. Walk around, observe, pray.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank niaminiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Attended mass here last week, and felt very welcomed into this gorgeous structure. Asheville is fortunate to have such a lovely church in a relatively small city.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank LindaN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018

This is a church I find very stunning. I try and go to Mass with each visit to Asheville. Walking inside will take your breath away. I enjoyed the tour after Mass as well as a short walk to restaurants and shopping. If you are a photographer, you will love this Basilica.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Margaret Elizab... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

The unassuming exterior should not mislead you -- the wonderful stone dome on the interior is a must-see for anyone interested in architecture. Quite lovely.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

We like to see remarkable churches (e.g. the Cathedral Of Helena), and during our recent visit to Asheville, were excited to note that there was a basilica. Our timing was such that we actually attended a mass on an early Sunday morning.

As with any old and well cared for structure, there is a special uniqueness to the basilica, but it is in no way grand or memorable. And it is surprisingly small.

The basilica is on the edge of downtown and while there is a parking lot, it is unclear how much of the lot is open for church visitor parking during the business week. We parked on a side street (parking meters).

We saw one light pamphlet about the history of the building in the rack inside the basilica, but it doesn't appear like there is much effort by the congregation to promote the building as a historical landmark.

This is one of those places that if you are walking by it, it would be good to take a quick look, but I would not recommend it is a focus destination.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews