We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Crowne Plaza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Ranked #40 of 62 Hotels in Asheville
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent room and a very good hot breakfast. Did not have reservations but a room with a king bed was available. Off the beaten path, you have to know how to find the hetel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for your response! I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    361
    295
    139
    93
See reviews for
262
396
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

When you visit this unique hilltop resort, you feel like you're in a bit of a different world, but in a good way. Check-in and check-out was quick & easy. All the Crowne Plaza staff is VERY friendly and helpful.

We arrived around 3 p.m., but the only King bed room available at that moment was a handicap King on the first floor. We decided to take it. ($130)

The handicap rooms do not have tubs... just large showers, which was fine with us. They also have slightly-elevated toilets with thin, plastic seats. Also these rooms are on the ground level (first floor), which is actually below the lobby (on the third floor).

There was a tennis tournament in progress during our visit, and we saw several hotel guests with dogs (they even have dog biscuits at the check-in desk).

This resort has one of the best fitness rooms I've seen in a hotel. Lots of equipment and, like most hotels, hardly anyone uses it.

Downtown Asheville is an easy 5-min drive away, with lots of parking options. There's also a fun zipline course toward the rear parking lot of the Crowne Plaza. The zipline course is separately-owned and cost $80 for 2.5 hrs of tree-to-tree ziplining. Reservations are required and the schedule often fills up weeks in advance. The Crowne Plaza offers a package deal that includes ziplining, but I don't think you save a lot of money.

There's also a disc golf course at Richmond Hill Park, about 10-mins away, that is tournament-quality challenging and fun ... and free.

Crowne Plaza Resort:

PROS
• Beautiful property on a hill, close to downtown Asheville shopping & restaurants
• Friendly, helpful staff
• Nice art deco walls and ceiling, lamps
• Firm mattress w/ comfortable (washable) comforters
• Lots of storage for clothes (2 big nightstands, 3-drawer dresser, long desk drawer, closet, entertainment center cabinet shelving)
• Comfortable heater & A/C
• Small fridge
• Granite top dresser & entertainment center, sink
• Full-length mirror
• Big soothing night stand lights
• Fairly modern am/fm/cd player & alarm clock - Philips (face glow serves as nice nightlight)
• Spacious shower (handicap)
• Thick towels & good quality toiletries
• Great fitness center near the lobby and BIGGER fitness center & pool in separate building
• Zip line course starts in the back of the Crown Plaza parking lot... in fact the property belongs to Crowne Plaza


CONS
• Noisy hallway (shouting, etc.), and can't muffle it with the heat/a/c fan because the cool fan freezes the room.
• Privacy drapes (on first floor) tricky/nearly impossible to close entirely
• NOT ENOUGH outlets = NO desk outlet (bring multiplug or power strip)
• Closest bathroom sink outlet is 10 ft away (in the handicap room)
• Small sink & no other flat surfaces in bathroom
• Thin plastic toilet seat wouldn't stay up (in handicap room)
• Shower bit confusing to adjust
• Desk level is a bit too high
• No desk lamp, but nice floor lamp next to desk.
• Small 3-cup (weak) coffee maker... Sunbeam, flat filter type (you can make the coffee stronger by putting in both filtered portions at once... in fact, it turned out pretty good that way)
• 3 decorative pillows on the bed present questions about sanitation (decorative pillows are fine for your house, but rest assured that hotel guests use them in ways you don't want to think about)
• No complimentary breakfast

Room Tip: We were put in one of the first floor handicap rooms. The hallways were noisy with voices and doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you so much for submitting such an extensive and detailed overview of the property. I feel like you have highlighted many of our strongest points and also given us some very useful constructive criticism. I do want to mention that guests get a Zipline discount of $59/person, and that the price you mentioned is for the public. I hope you get to come back for a visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Got a very good rate via priceline. Updated room, very clean, quiet at this time of the year. We took a 1st level room with a nice patio with table and chairs to enjoy the nice view. We were able to watch the zipline at a distance. Frig in room so we were able to keep milk and wine cold. It was nice to have a towel bar inside the shower and the soap dish in the shower was at a very convenient level. This hotel has at least 16 tennis courts. It's only three exits from downtown and very easy to get to downtown. Be careful of the quick approach to the entrance and the one way out of the hotel. We decided to stay out of downtown because of the rate and the noise levels caused by traffic, and sometimes dumpsters being emptied at 3 in the morning. We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank southernaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
I appreciate your response and review and am so glad that we exceeded your expectations. We truly try to give every guest an amazing experince and do what we can to make their trip to Asheville memorable so they will come back again. You can't always belive every review that you read online and I am glad that you have given us accurate feedback concerning your stay. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I was here for just one night but I wish I could've stayed longer. The hotel is perched up on a hill just a short drive from downtown Asheville. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and provided great restaurant recommendations. The rooms were huge with balconies and comfortable beds. we ate breakfast in the restaurant which was a buffet that had great variety and was relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtravelsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Please come back for a longer visit next time and let us wow you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight 04-01-12. Nothing negative to report. The hotel is situated on top of a hill with lovely views of surrounding mountains. The bed was a latex mattress, very comfy. Granite bath counter, okay shower. Personal balcony. Very convenient to downtown. There is a sports complex with pool, golf, and workout facilities that makes this a resort, but we didn't take advantage of any of these. I would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcertBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Next time you stay with us I encourage you to take advantage of our fitness complex, new full service spa, or zipline course if you are looking for a bird's eye view of the surrounding property and city of Asheville. I truly hope you can come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a good stay overall. Walls were a bit thin if you have noisy, laughing neighbors. They graciously moved us to a new room though and we were fine. Beds were VERY comfortable. Staff was very nice and attentive.
Good breakfast buffet (not free) with omelette station. Elevator too small.
Convenient location. Quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peru08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
I am so glad that we could accomodate you during you trip to Asheville and appreciate the fact that you brought the concern of noise to our attention so we could make your stay more enjoyable. Our Simmons Beauty Rest beds always get great feedback, and as always, we are most proud of our attentive staff! Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The walls are really thin. Location was ok- not too far from downtown once you get your bearings. The decor is very dated, but the place has potential. I would not consider this a 3 1/2 star hotel though. One perk: the $5 shuttle to/from downtown. We didn't try any of the eateries on property with the amazing selection of really good restaurants. Next time we come visit, I will try a B&B with more character or a boutique property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsoloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan B, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Our close proximity to downtown and our $5/person roundtrip shuttle are two of our strongest selling points and I am very glad that you took advantage of both in order to appreciate the multitude of great restaurants in downtown Asheville. I extremely sorry that you were disturbed by your noisy neighbors, and we are currently looking into noise buffering options including door sweepers that should eliminate the hallway noise from people passing by. I appreciate all of your feedback and hope you can return to Asheville again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville
Address: 1 Resort Dr, Asheville, NC 28806-3815 (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville, a sanctuary of elegance and a welcome retreat from the busy world. Nestled against the majestic backdrop of the Blue Ridge Mountains on 125 acres, this year-round resort provides all the comforts for the leisure and business traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Asheville Hotel Asheville
Crowne Plaza Asheville
Crowne Plaza Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing