We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Stairs
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Grounds
Entrance
Grounds
Walking into the property
View from the kitchen area
Welcome to your cottage
Private Patio
For dining?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brandi J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Jane for your lovely hospitality during our stay at your quirky cottage! It was exactly as expected and more. The cottage was perfect for our weekend getaway and ideal for our stay in West Asheville. Despite the rainy weather, we had a blast. The cottage was located close enough for walking distance to the Oyster House, which has become a new favorite. The added bonus of Netflix was especially nice to come back to and relax after dinner. Jane was equally helpful providing us with a local paper for weekend updates and shared tips about local events during our stay. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the cottage versus a hotel. We will definitely be coming back! Thanks for everything Jane!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you...do come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smilinggo...
Redlands, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really perfect”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is exactly as show. It’s small but well organized. We had plenty of room to spread out and feel comfortable. Jane left eggs, milk, butter, and a quite a few extras. We felt really welcomed. The little house is in the back of the property, so we had privacy. I left the front door open and read in the front nook, watching the squirrels play. There is a parking space in the front just for guests. It’s on the street, but you’re near the end of a very quiet cul-de-sac.

The neighborhood is quiet residential. As you drive out of the area, there is an upscale grocery store and a Family Dollar. There are good restaurants in that area, but most cater to breakfast and lunch. A couple are open for dinner. You are about 8 minutes from downtown Asheville, where there are infinite options. In the other direction, you are about 10 minutes from the Biltmore Estate and the Blue Mountain Parkway.

GPS, Google Map and MapQuest all identify the location correctly. I hadn’t booked through this site before, so I wasn’t aware that you don’t receive the exact street address until 7 days before your booking. But everything did fall into place as planned.

On the note of privacy, Jane leaves you alone unless you ask for help. There is no check-in or check-out. You find instructions and ideas for outings inside the house. However, when we had trouble figuring out how to connect to Netflix, Jane was there in about 3 minutes to walk us through it. This was so much better than staying in a hotel.

Jane directed us to a hike at Mile Marker 417 on Blue Mountain Parkway. It’s about ½ mile of hiking to the waterfalls. Very easy and nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Neighborhood, price, privacy, snacks in the kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Sweet infor m at I've review...thank you. I also thank you for the informative note you left...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcmedia2
Frenchtown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience A+++++”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the quirky guest house was magical. We were greeted with warmth and kindness immediately and we ended up having the best vacation we've ever had. We highly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homeowner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChipgChip...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great comfort”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I stayed here the weekend following my birthday. It is very comfortable, quiet, peaceful and clean. Jane is actually just as described in other reviews. She is helpful but not intrusive. We spent most of out time in downtown Asheville. This place is logistically close to downtown. You will enjoy the comfort. This is on our "ready for a repeat visit" list.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The owner, Jane
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Dear Mr. Galloway, I wonder if you looked in the bank of drawers to the right of the sink. There are a lot of utensils there. The cutlery is to the left of the sink. I would love to know what you would have liked to be added...that will be easy to do.
Also, was your disappointment about the bed that it was a double? There are space constraints in a little house...again more specificity would help. I have not had any complaints about the mattress...it is a little over a year old? Again, if I know exactly what it is I can take care of it.
Hope you all do come back...kind to give me these suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aydenwood
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean, comfy, convenient, and best of all - JANE!”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't know what to expect as we drove through the eclectic streets of West Asheville, but what we found was a haven.

The cottage is a converted garage with many thoughtful touches, including gourmet teas, net/tv, Roku, area information, art and books.

The living space is comfortable as well as spotless. Be aware that the bed is full in size, not a queen. Also, the bedroom and bath are on the second floor. This was not an issue for us.

It is Jane, however, who is the real gem here. She gave us many great suggestions for our stay, along with fresh veggies grown in her garden. She was attentive without being intrusive, and was a wonderful ambassador for all of the Asheville scene. I managed to get sick on vacation and she was over in a flash to help, even offering to drive us to the medical center.

You cannot go wrong with this lovely place and hostess.

And make sure to have a quiet cup of coffee or tea on the patio overlooking Jane's well-tended garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amenitiess, price, owner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephDTor...
Weddington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy little bungalow”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a fun trip we had to Asheville! Jane was a wonderful hostess and her quirky guest house was perfect for our stay. She made sure we had all the comforts of home. We enjoyed walking to breakfast on Haywood - Sunny Pointe, Biscuit Head, West End Bakery, etc. We also walked to Westville Pub and Oyster House. We rode our bikes to the park and took them to NC Arboretum and rode (which was a gorgeous ride). Downtown was very close (although not close enough to walk). We enjoyed the porch area for lunch and at night. We will definitely be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner and the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Always so gratifying when people take advantage of the area. It was a pleasure having you and your husband here and I do hope you return. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khootie
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Asheville”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This review is overdue because it was listed on the incorrect rental. My husband and I stayed here for two nights and found the cottage to be a great place to stay. It was super clean and had many nice touches like roku and netflix as well as a lot of information on the area. The bed was comfy and we had two quiet nights' sleep. Jane was very welcoming. Enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and dedicated parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing