We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Anne Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the Princess Anne in October. Our first impression was the beautifully decorated Autumn front porch entry. When we stepped through the front door there was such a peaceful feeling that it made us feel instantly relaxed and reassured that we were about to have a very unique experience. Everything was A+, the room, the staff, the breakfast and the grounds around the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Princess Anne is lovely, very beautiful dining room, living room, and side porch. The breakfasts were great, with a choice of an egg dish, a sweet dish, or granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres are exceptional with a choice from two red and two white wines and wonderful cheeses, vegetables, and daily special treats. The hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places and does have creaky floors and not so much sound insulation. If you have a choice, then try to get a room on the third floor. This was our second trip to the Princess Anne and we look forward to our next visit. The hotel is small and very personable with good parking and within walking distance of downtown Asheville.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevets48104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a girls weekend at the Princess Anne and the staff, rooms and food could not have been better. The rooms are huge and immaculate. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. The food was wonderful and special requests were easily handled. The location was superb as well. Overall, I could not say enough wonderful things about our stay! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor. Would recommend not staying on the 3rd floor for convenience as the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This place is a gem. We booked the Princess Anne for our anniversary trip and it really was perfect. Our room was very comfortable, a home away from home. The customer service here is AMAZING! The entire staff bent over backwards to help; A special thanks to John for awesome customer service and help with the annoying jeep cover :) Everyone was more than willing to help with directions, dinner reservations, packing us a great picnic for our drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Can't forget the food - They served quite a spread of hors d'ouevres with a great selection of wines in the evening. Breakfast was wonderful as were the chocolate covered strawberries in our room.

We're already planning our next trip back! We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at The Princess Anne for our honeymoon and must say that it was absolutely wonderful. Pleasant staff, beautiful interior, delicious home made treats and breakfast's and the courtyard is amazing. Our room overlooked the court yard and you could hear the gorgeous fountain at night. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay on our first night as husband and wife and plan to return for a future anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grande Suite which was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trijoli_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We spent four nights at the Princess Anne and couldn't have been happier with our
choice. Everything about it is to be recommended. The Staff members are helpful, friendly
and thoroughly professional. The room we had was like the rest of the hotel -
beautiful and comfortable with attention to every little detail. Breakfast was
excellent, as was wine hour with its gourmet hors d'oeuvres. Plus, the hotel
is perfectly located - close to everything but in a quiet residential neighborhood.
We hated to leave. Although we travel quite a bit, this is the first time we felt
compelled to write a review.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aajoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed here recently when the Grove Park Hotel was full for a conference I was attending. It was convenient to the Grove Park andd in the same nice neighborhood. It was a very pleasant surprise. The room was great - historic but modern in a European style - and the staff terrific. Very warm and accommodating for both my wife and me. For the future I just plan to book at the Princess Anne.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#5 of 39 in Asheville
818 reviews
Historic Montford
The 1899 Wright Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#9 of 39 in Asheville
1,647 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
Pinecrest Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 39 in Asheville
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Anne Hotel

Address: 301 E Chestnut St, Asheville, NC 28801-2099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range: $159 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Anne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for an accommodation experience that provides the charm of a bed and breakfast, with the privacy of a hotel, need look no further than the Princess Anne Hotel. This historic Asheville inn promises to provide you with more than a place to lay your head. From our long list of modern amenities, to our friendly staff, we hope to become your new home-away-from-home! Best rate guaranteed. Call for assistance booking rooms with children, handicap-accessibility, and/or adjoining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing