We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serendipity”
other travellers have booked this property
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek! The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Your gorgeous private cottage in the Asheville area set in breathtaking countryside!
The cottage steps going down to a sitting area, chimenea, and barbecue by your own private creek!
The two story private cottage close to Asheville is surrounded by exquisitely beautiful nature.
The view below the cottage. Could it get any more beautiful? Acres of enjoyment and fun!
A beautiful shade garden below the cottage for you to wander in and fully appreciate the good life.
Sit and swing peacefully in the gazebo by the stream in the soft sunlit garden.
A beautiful shade garden to relish in peace and joy. A true slice of heaven.
A wonderful place to enjoy, relax and have a reprieve from the stresses of life.
How about a colorful, elegant country table to enjoy your meals? What a view of the distant hills!
A stunning granite mosaic floor by Rachel adorns the lower level of cottage.
A beautiful kitchen with glorious granite countertops and faux marble cabinets.
The dining area with a lovely mosaic granite floor called 'Stepping Stones through a Flower Garden.'
The door into the cottage and maybe into a new experience of insight, beauty, creativity and joy.
Your bedroom, a vision of comfort and beauty adorned with originals and murals by Rachel Clearfield.
A handmade wood armoire art piece with entertainment center including Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Enjoy!
What a place to enjoy a glass of wine while gazing at nature's glory and reflecting on life's good.
Elegance, beauty, art and color. All contribute to a wonderfully special and romantic time!
A bathroom so beautiful you won't want to leave! Artwork by Rachel Clearfield.
Italian marble mosaic 'Trees of Beauty' makes for a shower you'll never forget!
World class artist Rachel Clearfield's artwork adorn this exquisite bathroom.
The sunrise from the bedroom window. What a wonderful reminder of the gift of a new day!
The magical morning mist rolling it's way towards you!!
And people say Western skies are the best. Please! The Appalachians have it all!
Part of the family, our Arabian mare Hakima and our Shetland pony Princess.
During your stay the kids can meet new friends!
The whole family will have memories they'll never forget.
The Clearfield Cottage is spectacular anytime of the year! Celebrate those most special times here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T M
Robbins, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The driveway going into the cottage starts the setting for the peaceful magical stay you will have. Entering the cottage looking at Rachel's art work, it tells the story of the magic in and surrounding the cottage. Rachel's work is absolutely amazing! Listening to Ron's music featuring him playing the cello just ties the entire experience all together! Words cannot express how beautiful his music is! The greeting my son and I received from Ron and Rachel made us feel at home. Also, Adora visited us everyday sometimes twice a day wanting a good belly rub. She was adorable and my son looked for her everyday. The music, art work, horses, gardens, butterflies, views, and lightning bugs that lit up the night sky with the stars. It was an experience my son and I will remember for a lifetime! He already wants to go back and we will every year! Imagine your 12 year old not playing video games or watching tv. My son did not even watch 2 hours of Television in 6 days. Nor did he play video games. Did not even pull out the handheld system he brought with him. We had wifi at the cottage and television. We did not need it. My son spent his time outside, reading, and playing board games with me. We did get out and enjoyed a few of the many things to do in the area. Ron and Rachel we thank you so much!!! Please give Adora a hug from us both.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
Hi Trina,

Gosh, you and your son's stay was truly amazing and what a descriptive review you've written for future interested visitors! We're so glad you mentioned the new member of the family Adora our well behaved five month old Great Pyrenees. She is a delight and she sure enjoyed spending time with your son. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The location was close enough to enjoy the sights and sounds of Asheville but far away enough to be soothed by the fresh mountain air and the sound of the nearby creek. The cottage is filled with Rachel's art and it gives the place so much character. There is attention to detail in every space from the floors to the ceilings.

Rachel's artwork, jewelry and gardens are amazing and Ron's a true musical genus. It was a pleasure to meet both of them and they welcomed us with open arms. We left wishing we could have spent more time getting to know them and wishing our time didn't have to end!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Dear Sandra, thank you for such a tremendous review! Rachel and I are deeply touched by your sincere and kind praises. It was an honor having you and your husband stay and hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha K
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Magnificent”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I could never decide what I loved more about the place the wonderful mountain view, or the amazing art within the cottage. I also loved that it is an earth house. I had thought about building one for myself and after staying in one so comfy I definitely have my mind set to build one in a few years. This stay was just what my husband and I needed for our anniversary not to mention the relaxation we needed before our second baby comes along next month. We will definitely be back. I also have a friend wanting to come after sending her the beautiful pictures of this quaint cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Hi Tabatha, Rachel and I were so honored that you chose our cottage to enjoy your anniversary and prepare for the blessed birth of your next child. Yes the cottage uses straw bale insulation and has been called at times an "earth house" since a large part of the house interior are straw bales set in post and beam and skillfully covered with fine stucco making it look like a beautiful Italian Villa. Usually though "earth houses" are filled with rammed dirt or even cob but in this case it's straw. Using straw insulation creates what they call an R-factor of +45. Normal walls in traditional construction are R-factor 19 which is standard code. What +45 means is that it's warm and comfortable in the winter and cool in the summer. Thank your again for your wonderful and detailed description and we do hope to see you again (hopefully with the little ones!) Warm regards, Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Dear Cari and Alvin, you two people are a gift from God! Thank you, thank you for such an in depth, amazing review! Rachel and I are speechless. You said it all and we're just so grateful to have had you stay in the cottage and to have met you both. Loving best wishes, Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eclearfie...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“The tranquil country setting and comfortable, artistic cottage provided the perfect retreat for our family!”
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Our children loved all of the artistic touches in the cottage, as well as the beautiful grounds and landscape. They had so much fun playing in the gardens and creek. My older daughter even had the opportunity to ride the pony! The tranquil location of the cottage gave us the perfect opportunity for some family R & R, while it was close enough to town that we could pop into Asheville easily. We highly recommend the cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Dear Esha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! So glad you and the family had such a great time!
All the best,
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linnea C
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful stay! Very peaceful and calming! Rachel and Ron were incredibly nice. Rachel even offered to let me take a book that she thought I would enjoy! We hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Dear Linnea, thank you so much for such a beautiful review! It was our pleasure to have you and Zack stay in the cottage.

Warm regards,
Rachel and Ron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
954sasham
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway for relaxation and healing!”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Asheville was a super fun city to visit, but it was tempting to stay in this adorable cottage the entire time. The views of the valley from the cottage are stunning, and are enriched by the beautiful mare and sweet Shetland pony grazing in the pasture right outside the cottage door. The cottage itself is truly a work of art. Laying in bed listening to the babbling creek right outside of the window was just what we needed to truly relax. The full kitchen is great, with solid appliances and a good coffee maker. We cooked several nights and had everything we needed to make a great meal and enjoy a bottle of wine in the peacefulness of the setting. The bathroom is lovely with intricate tile work and plenty of hot water for the shower. Ron and Rachel were wonderful hosts, allowing us plenty of privacy while remaining available enough for anything we needed, or to discuss Rachel's stunning artwork. We truly hope to return the next time we need to truly relax.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Gosh Sasha thank you for such a beautiful review! You and your husband were wonderful guests. Your words are extremely descriptive and we appreciate you sharing your experience with other future guests.
All the best!!
Ron and Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing