We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great retreat in Asheville!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great retreat in Asheville!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We spent two nights at the AppleWood Manor Inn and really enjoyed our time there. Nancy and Larry were both very welcoming and accomodating. Breakfasts were yummy and there were snacks in the late afternoon too. We stayed in the Granny Smith room which was lovely. We especially liked the fireplace in the room and the bed was comfy. The bathroom is a bit small, but that was only a minor concern. We would highly recommend the AppleWood Manor Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
472
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Applewood Manor was everything we wanted in a B&B. Our room was beautifully furnished, immaculately clean and appointed with everything we could possibly need. Luckily we stayed for several days, which allowed time to use the fireplace, private porch, spa bath and wine service and still have time to spend two days at the Biltmore estate. The heart and soul of Applewood Manor is Nancy. She is warm and helpful, extremely accommodating, and very knowledgeable about Asheville. She seems to have an innate sense of when guests prefer company or privacy. And her breakfasts are delicious. This was truly the best bed and breakfast in which we have ever stayed.
Helaine and Bob

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 days at Applewood Manor in January 2012 for our Anniversary. Neither of us had ever visited and Bed and Breakfast before so we were a little nervous and not sure what to expect at first. Let me just say that the warm hospitality and the home itself put us both right at ease. It was like visiting relatives. The home and property and absolutely beautiful and welcome you inside to enjoy them. The breakfast too was delicious each morning with a great variety.

One of the things we enjoyed most during our stay were the conversations at breakfast with other guests and the fact that Larry would add to the conversation with his wonderful sense of humor. It was really nice being able to talk with people were actually from the area.

Our room, the Cortland Cottage was extremely clean and comfortable with plenty of room.

Larry and Nancy have set the bar extremely high for us and there is no doubt that we will stay at Applewood Manor the next time we are in Asheville!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Applewood Manor the last week of December for our trip to see the Biltmore house, and we had a fantastic stay!! Everything was perfect. Applewood Manor is very clean, spotless! The breakfast was yummy (pancakes and bacon perfect)! We stayed in the granny smith room. It was large and comfortable. The gas fireplace and robes were such a nice touch. I have never spent a night in a hotel that was as comfortable as the one in the Applewood! We would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The granny smith room is at the front of the house, beautiful views from the large windows and priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed with Larry and Nancy this past weekend, and loved it. They pay attention to every detail, in every way. Upon arrival Larry gave us a tour of their beautiful house, showed us to our room (the Winesap Suite) and had complementary wine and cheese available once we settled in. The property was gorgeous, I spent time in the backyard each morning on the tree swing, so quiet and peaceful. The employees were fantastic, super nice in every way. Breakfast was hot and delicious with a fresh baked bread and fresh fruit each morning. I was lucky to get to try Nancy's granola, it was one of the best I've ever had! One of the best parts was the conversation with the other guests each morning at the breakfast table.

The rooms were immaculate, the bed was comfortable, the room was gorgeous, the hosts were fantastic, and the Inn was a short 5 minute drive to downtown. Perfect in every way! THANKS Larry and Nancy!!

Room Tip: Winesap suite was gorgeous and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The innkeepers made every effort to accommodate my gluten-free needs and allergies, which i really appreciated. Nancy was formerly a nurse so she gets how important it is to maintain a gf diet. She's also a fabulous cook. Breakfast was full of yummy choices both gf and regular. The room was spacious with a gas fireplace, large closet, beautiful furnishings and a comfy bed. We found a DVD in their vast collection and watched it in bed one night on the flat screen TV in our room. The room had a nice sized private balcony, even though it was too chilly to enjoy it. The home was decorated nicely inside for Christmas though there were no lights or decorations outside. The only negative was the small bath and shower. Thank goodness we are not big people. The house itself is very attractive on a great lot, sitting up on a hill, and we enjoyed hearing about it's history. The surrounding neighborhood was also very nice. I forgot to mention that they have turndown service, filling your ice bucket and leaving candies on your pillows. Nice attention to detail!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I booked 2 nights in the Winesap Suite (top floor) to celebrate my birthday. We were greeted at the door by Larry, a friendly and knowledgeable local, by our first names. Larry proceeded to tour us around what would become our home for two days, welcomed us with directions to our dinner in town (reservation made by our hosts :), and Nancy left a plant and birthday card in our room to commemorate the special occasion. By the time we were settled in it was "social hour", where we found good red/white wine, cider, and gourmet cheese and crackers for snacking. We were encouraged to eat/drink up, which we did.

The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and big enough that we spent much more time at the inn than we had planned--about even with the time we spent touring Asheville. We used the deep soaker tub and the bath salts provided by our hosts, as well as the complimentary water bottles in the fridge. We wore the comfy/warm robes provided while in our room, and we even played Scrabble while enjoying a glass of wine the second evening. It was like home, only BETTER. I cannot say enough about the hospitality and professionalism of our hosts, Nancy and Larry Merrill. They are the perfect complement to one another, and by the time we left 2 days later we hugged goodbye as though we were leaving family. The breakfasts were EXCEPTIONAL--the best we've had at a B&B EVER--and we've stayed at quite a few inns over the years. No detail was left unattended to, and we left vowing to make Applewood Manor an annual tradition. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suite is worth the money if you plan to relax and spend some time at the inn unwinding. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#19 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,689 reviews
Five Points
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
Hill House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 38 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 62 Cumberland Cir, Asheville, NC 28801-1718
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Colonial Revival house on quiet 1.5 acres, Montford Historic District, 6 block walk to downtown, daily 3-course breakfast, spacious rooms with individual central air/heating controls, private balconies, private baths, private fireplaces, afternoon tea/wine, off street parking, huge Common area and pet friendly cottage. The innkeepers', Joshua, AJ and Chase, goals are to provide continuous comfort and establish an atmosphere that promotes relaxation. AAA Three-Diamond, Diamond Collection Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Applewood Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing