We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful, Relaxing, Captivating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reynolds Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Reynolds Mansion
Ranked #2 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing, Captivating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Reynolds Mansion. It was a wonderful experience for both of us. We were welcomed by both Mike and Billy. They made recommendations of where to go for dinner and what to do while visiting Ashville. The home is so much more than the description on the web page. It is full of antiques that allow you to feel that you have stepped into the past. The stories that Billy tells helps to complete the imagination so that you leave with a feeling that you have visited a time/place of the past. Breakfast was fantastic! You won't find anything like it anywhere else. We are eager to return very soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank bgood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
486
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

The Reynolds Mansion was the first Bed and Breakfast I ever stayed. Due to my wonderful experience I will certainly try others in the future. The mansion is a unique tapestry of history,style and flair. Billy, the innkeeper, made us feel so welcome. He is a wealth of knowledge on the mansion history, local attractions, and dinning choices. The deliciously decadent breakfasts provided are to die for. We particularly enjoyed the in-ground pool which was a delightful asset. The hospitality we received made our get-away memorable. What a wonderful time.
Betty

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauna8804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We arrived exhausted after a long motor cycle ride from Atlanta. We stayed for one night and it was terrific. The host was welcoming and very helpful in providing advice about local restaurants etc. The room was superb and the mansion was everything we expected a grand old southern mansion would be - classy, historic and comfortable. We were booked into a smaller less luxurious third floor room but we were upgraded to a ground floor room without asking - obviously this won't be the case for everyone but it is a measure of the high quality service provided by the Reynolds Mansion. The breakfast was delicious accompanied by great table service with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inter-City-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I needed a little R&R. We found the Reynolds Mansion B&B on line and fell in love with it! The house itself is absolutely beautiful and the innkeepers could not have made our visit more pleasant. It truly was an amazing experience. We enjoyed the history, the intrigue, and the local sights. We do plan to return and bring friends! Asheville is a great city to visit and Billy is a WEALTH of information! We followed his recommendations and had a great 3 night, 4 day stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Billy and Mike have completely renovated a historic Mansion with intriguing history into a great B&B right outside of downtown Asheville. They have merged historic relatives' photos, paintings and more, with their own family roots to form an eclectic and quite fascinating home filled with memories, both old and new, they love to share with guests. Scarlett and Rhett, their 2 English bull-dogs can hike up the 3 flights of stairs faster than any of the guests and are there to greet you upon arrival. Billy has published the history of the Reynolds' Mansion and its a must read as you cozy up in one of their guest rooms - not only for history of Mr. Reynold's fifth wife who was the last owner of the Hope Diamond, but for the history of the Louisiana young lady who graces the Dining Room as you enjoy a 3-course breakfast. Ask Billy to tell you her story and her 'ghost' who appears to have made a home at the B&B now. Billy and his staff will weave stories and provide tips for great places to visit, hike, antique, shop or eat as you sit with the other guests at the elegantly laid breakfast table. Ask Billy how may sets of dinnerware he has - they all have a story. We enjoyed wandering the Asheville and surrounding areaa - highly recommend the Walking Food Tour of Asheville, where we walked thruout downtown and got our bearings and history while enjoying tapa samples at 8 great different restaurants -- from homemade specialty chocolate shop, olive oil/balsamic 'tasting' shop with incredible products to a salt & spice shop - both of which we had to go back to and make some purchases - to sustainable restaurants that buy the freshest ingredients from local farms. Check it out under the B&B's 'things to do' link - and buy your tickets online. Billy was spot on re tips for dinner - and we loved the menu selection - greek, mediterranean at 'Stoney Knob Cafe' - with a very eclectic decor - where else could you get the most outstanding lobster bisque and entre of eggplant over a risotto cake w/ layers of spinach, topped w/ crushed sun-dried tomatoes and drizzled with fresh olive oil - while the Madonna sits one one side of you, a bullfigher on the other, and a picture of pin-up model Betty Paige looking over your shoulder. We always search out interesting B&B's and this one was great to explore Asheville, Chimney Rock, Maggie Valley and more, while coming back and sitting on the 2nd floor balcony with a view of Cold Mountain and its surrounding cadre of mountains at sunset, with the Smokey mist lingering thruout. Thanks Billy and Mike, Rhett & Scarlett for a great way to spend our 37th anniversary.

Room Tip: Check out pictures on their website - but call Billy and ask for his recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I were on our way home to Cincinnati from Atlanta. We were in Atlanta for the International Christian Retail Show. Reynolds Mansion was to be our R&R time. Did we ever receive more that we were looking/asking for! Our stay could not have been any more relaxing/rewarding/restful. From the moment of our arrival to the very last goodbye we could not have a more memorable experience. From check-in to check-out we were treated as royalty. The hospitality of hosts/staff was incredible. The Mansion/rooms are impeccable. The breakfasts are without comparison and my wife and I have stayed at B&B's all across the country. There are not enough words to convey the awesome experience at Reynolds Mansion. On our way home to Cincinnati my wife and began to consider our return visit to the Mansion!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duke-duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Everything about The Reynolds Mansion is elegant and charming...particularly the innkeeper. Billy makes all his guests feel special and, at the same time, like part of the family. The breakfasts are extraordinary, and the rooms are comfy and inviting. Be sure to take advantage of the huge pool, the wrap-around porches with breathtaking views, and Billy's recommendations for places to eat and things to do and see. My friends and I hope to make a return trip soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed and Breakfast Inn
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Historic Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
1900 Inn on Montford
#15 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reynolds Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reynolds Mansion

Property: The Reynolds Mansion
Address: 100 Reynolds Hts, Asheville, NC 28804-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reynolds Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Registry for Historic Places, The Reynolds Mansion was built in 1847 and is one of the few remaining pre Civil War homes. The mansion sits on a four acre site with spectacular views near the foot of Reynolds Mountain. With over 3,000 sq feet of porches, and 12 fireplaces, you'll feel the warmth and hospitality from the moment enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Reynolds Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reynolds Mansion Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing