We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Can Hardly Wait to Return”
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #8 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevensville, Michigan
2 reviews
“We Can Hardly Wait to Return”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Erica, the manager, "had us at hello." What a warm and inviting welcome she provided in every way- making the reservation, sharing information about the Beaufort House, ensuring our comfort, and inviting us to enjoy every bit of our stay. Our room in the main house felt spacious and, oh so clean. We enjoyed the beauty of the room and the terrific shower head!

Breakfast provided a taste treat with a lemon souffle like cake, and a second course of quiche and breakfast potatoes that gave us a great memory all day long. Rocking on the porch, smelling the fresh flowers, and curling up in the library with a magazine added to the fun of our visit.

We can hardly wait to return. Besides the beauty of the B and B, Jim, Chris, and Erica share fabulous stories about their lives and interests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan49127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
600
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We choose stay at the Beaufort House Inn for our honeymoon and then one year later for our 1st anniversary. Chris, Jim, Erica and all the staff made both stays magical. Returning was like going back to visit family we've not seen in a year. This house has a special place in our hearts and we'll go back when we can.

The whole house is wonderful. It's like taking a step back in time and living the life of an upscale Asheville resident. The details in shared parts of the house are all there but the best part of the stay is the luxuries in the room. We've stayed in the Savannah Cottage and Oak Terrace and have loved the in room fire places and huge jetted tubs. We felt like honored guests staying in these rooms. That feeling continued with the treatment we received.

From our first step in the door until we sadly departed, we felt like family. No matter who's running the front desk they were super attentive and helpful. I can't say enough about the breakfast that is served each morning. It's always creative, delicious, and served up with cheer. No matter what the conversation is at the table, the food always becomes the center topic when served.

In summary, stay here once and you'll long to return.

Room Tip: Several rooms have large jetted tubs and fireplaces that are quite romantic. I believe the oak terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife, daughter and son stayed at Beaufort House Inn for three nights. We really cannot imagine any aspect of our experience that needed improvement. The accommodations in the Davis Suite, the tasty breakfasts, the other guests, all were exceptional. Chris and her husband Jim were both top notch in running Beaufort House and in their social abilities shown to the guests. We have never had Innkeepers who before displayed BOTH skills and it really is the reason for Beaufort House being an exceptional place to stay while in Asheville.

Room Tip: The Davis Suites suited our needs just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Interesting and beautifully restored house, comfortable rooms and linens, lovely grounds, easy walk to down town, delicious breakfast, warm welcome (but not over-bearing) by inn-keepers and staff. A gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great historical mansion with incredible period detail. Walking distance from downtown Asheville and the UNC-Asheville campus. Chris and Jim are attentive hosts who make incredible breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNMBAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Chris Jim and Erica were very nice to everyone during our visit. The breakfasts were outstanding and the glass of wine or two in the evening helped make our travels just a bit more special, and when you are driving 8 or so hours, winding down to a warm welcome is very nice.

This was our first trip through Asheville and we will definitely stay with you on our next trip.

Thank you again.

Debbie and Bob

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polecat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Beaufort House Inn. Chris and Jim were lovely hosts, the food was delicious, the accommodations were beautiful, and our every need was met. On top of all that, there was Erica whose smile, graciousness and attention to detail made our stay even better. It is clean, well-run and a place we hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,837 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
201 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
749 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing