We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B Experience! A Great Couples Escape!”
Review of Beaufort House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beaufort House Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B Experience! A Great Couples Escape!”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Beaufort House Inn in mid-March 2012 for 3 nights. We arrived the first evening and were provided a tasty glass of wine and shown to a very comfortable and lavish room in this historic house. We stayed in the Theodore Davidson room which had a beautiful 4-poster bed, soft linens, with bright daylight, and a very lovely Jacuzzi tub. We especially liked the gas-fireplace which we used every night to lull us to sleep after a busy day in Asheville.

The home is well maintained with beautiful gardens and a big porch outside. The breakfasts were fantastic (delicious lemon soufle, warm pear crisp, waffles with fruit, sumptuous quiche) with great coffee, tea, and fresh orange juice every day. It was easy to wake up to the smell of breakfast wafting through the house in the morning.

The B&B is run by one of the most friendly, warm, and enjoyable couples we have ever encountered at a B&B. Jim and Chris are fantastic hosts and created a truly enjoyable vacation away from it all. They provided great insights into excursions in and around Asheville, and provided an very homey atmosphere for the entire stay. Despite a busy weekend at the house, we always felt that we were a priority as a guest. Erica the front desk hostess was extremely helpful in helping to book reservations, organize day trips, and was personable and friendly.

My wife and I wished that we did not have to leave at the end of the trip, and would highly recommend this B&B to other couples looking for a great B&B experience in Asheville. The service was superb, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere/rooms were top notch. We will be looking forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
598
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Beautiful (very pink!) historic home just north of downtown in the Liberty neighborhood. We started each day with one of the best breakfasts I've had at a B&B (seriously) before making the short walk to downtown Asheville. The Inn is really in the perfect location - it's just outside the commotion of the center of the city but within walking distance for most people. Just down the street is a terrific Whole Foods grocery (Greenlife) that we grabbed fruit/cheese/bread from for picnic lunches while out hiking. We returned each evening to have wine with the other guests and to sit on the porch and watch thunderstorms. Each evening, we had a Jacuzzi bathtub and a comfortable bed to look forward to. Christinia and Jim (the owners) and the rest of the staff were awesome and everything was nearly spotless. The grounds are beautiful and the two-person hammock was the perfect place to read a book or nap. Oh, and check out the incredible kitchen during your stay :)

Room Tip: The Ivy Terrace room is the smaller of the two terrace rooms, with only the door and a fixed stained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Erica, the manager, "had us at hello." What a warm and inviting welcome she provided in every way- making the reservation, sharing information about the Beaufort House, ensuring our comfort, and inviting us to enjoy every bit of our stay. Our room in the main house felt spacious and, oh so clean. We enjoyed the beauty of the room and the terrific shower head!

Breakfast provided a taste treat with a lemon souffle like cake, and a second course of quiche and breakfast potatoes that gave us a great memory all day long. Rocking on the porch, smelling the fresh flowers, and curling up in the library with a magazine added to the fun of our visit.

We can hardly wait to return. Besides the beauty of the B and B, Jim, Chris, and Erica share fabulous stories about their lives and interests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan49127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We choose stay at the Beaufort House Inn for our honeymoon and then one year later for our 1st anniversary. Chris, Jim, Erica and all the staff made both stays magical. Returning was like going back to visit family we've not seen in a year. This house has a special place in our hearts and we'll go back when we can.

The whole house is wonderful. It's like taking a step back in time and living the life of an upscale Asheville resident. The details in shared parts of the house are all there but the best part of the stay is the luxuries in the room. We've stayed in the Savannah Cottage and Oak Terrace and have loved the in room fire places and huge jetted tubs. We felt like honored guests staying in these rooms. That feeling continued with the treatment we received.

From our first step in the door until we sadly departed, we felt like family. No matter who's running the front desk they were super attentive and helpful. I can't say enough about the breakfast that is served each morning. It's always creative, delicious, and served up with cheer. No matter what the conversation is at the table, the food always becomes the center topic when served.

In summary, stay here once and you'll long to return.

Room Tip: Several rooms have large jetted tubs and fireplaces that are quite romantic. I believe the oak terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife, daughter and son stayed at Beaufort House Inn for three nights. We really cannot imagine any aspect of our experience that needed improvement. The accommodations in the Davis Suite, the tasty breakfasts, the other guests, all were exceptional. Chris and her husband Jim were both top notch in running Beaufort House and in their social abilities shown to the guests. We have never had Innkeepers who before displayed BOTH skills and it really is the reason for Beaufort House being an exceptional place to stay while in Asheville.

Room Tip: The Davis Suites suited our needs just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Interesting and beautifully restored house, comfortable rooms and linens, lovely grounds, easy walk to down town, delicious breakfast, warm welcome (but not over-bearing) by inn-keepers and staff. A gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Great historical mansion with incredible period detail. Walking distance from downtown Asheville and the UNC-Asheville campus. Chris and Jim are attentive hosts who make incredible breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNMBAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,805 reviews
Historic Montford
Abbington Green Bed & Breakfast Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chestnut Street Inn
#1 of 39 in Asheville
197 reviews
Sweet Biscuit Inn
#6 of 39 in Asheville
747 reviews
Biltmore Village Inn
#7 of 39 in Asheville
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaufort House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House Inn

Property: Beaufort House Inn
Address: 61 N Liberty St, Asheville, NC 28801-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1894, and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Beaufort House Inn is located in the residential Chestnut Historic District within walking distance of the vibrant activities in downtown Asheville. The Beaufort House Inn sits on two acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The Inn has an environment of casual elegance and luxury provided by owners Jim & Christina Muth and their staff. As a guest you will enjoy a two course gourmet breakfast, wine social each evening, Godiva chocolates, Aveda personal products and a full concierge service to help you get the most from your visit to Asheville. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing