We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #19 of 39 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lynn and Ron provided an extremely memorable stay. They provided excellent advice on places to visit and dine. The rooms were outstanding as was the service and the breakfast. Saturday social hour featured an outstanding local band which we enjoyed on the veranda. The grounds were beautiful and provided a perfect exclamation point to a great weekend visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    30
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
662
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Asheville for our 1 year Anniversary. I had previously done multiple researches on hotels and B and B's, but I couldn't shake the Inn on Montford.

We decided to stay in the recently renovated Fitzgerald... Wow! What a romantic three days. The bathroom is outstanding. The shower feels so invigorating; the way the water gently falls on you from the ceiling is heavenly! The mood light setting and romantic jetted tub also brought elegance to the room.

Ron and Lynn were exceptional hosts, from out wonderful 3 course breakfast to the knowledge about Asheville. We not only took in the sights at the Biltmore, but Ron and Lynn provided us with many hiking trails to waterfalls. My husband and I also enjoyed social hour in the evenings to continue to talk with Ron and Lynn. We learned a quite of bit of history about the Inn on Montford and the surrounding area. I agree with the previously posted message- Ron and Lynn went out of there way to serve us as guests who needed a romantic weekend away.

This is an Inn we're definitely sharing with our friends and family as a place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a jewel of a room, stay in the Fitzgerald.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

While planning a romantic weekend with my husband we came across this beautiful inn online... the pictures hardly do it justice!! The property is so lovely and the main house is warm and inviting. While the Fitzgerald room is indeed a dream (the bathroom is to die for - so happy to have now seen it in person!), we decided to book the Rosetti suite as we wanted a bit more of a private getaway. We were not disappointed - in fact it was even more of a dream than we thought it would be. Lynn and Ron have clearly taken great pains to anticipate every need of their guests and to provide the ultimate in surroundings and comfort for their stay. We also appreciated being given our privacy to enjoy our time there. There is nothing more enjoyable than having a sumptuous breakfast delivered to your room to enjoy by the fireplace or in the private garden - one of the many perks on being in the carriage house. The staff and innkeepers are lovely - Ron is a fabulous cook and Lynn couldn't be sweeter and fun to chat with! We encourage anyone looking to stay in Asheville to book 1900 Inn on Montford – it will be a vacation you will tell everyone about over and over… we cannot wait for the opportunity to go back and we have only just left!! Thank you for everything :-)

Room Tip: If you want more privacy I would recommend anything in the carriage house! Breakfast delivered to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cms1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are just back from a wonderful stay in the Wm. Morris suite out back of this lovely inn, located in a beautiful historic neighborhood, just minutes from town. Our handsome little hideaway was ingeniously equipped with everything we could have wanted, from the private garden to the cozy fireplace to the super deluxe shower and whirlpool tub, not to mention the tiny, adorable kitchen! Our hosts and their staff were quite accomodating of special requests, breakfasts were elegant and delicious, and dinner recommendations were right on! We were lucky enough to be there on Saturday nite, when the inn hosts local musicians to entertain guests. Although I had trepidations about this option, it turned out to be a highlight, and included free wine! Truly, everything here is accomplished at the highest level of gracious hospitality, and so we can recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We drove through Asheville on an extended trip and stayed in this warm and spacious inn. It was a treat. The inn is beautiful, quiet, and an easy walk into town. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was a perfect resting spot. The owners and staff members could not have been more friendly and helpful.The coffee in a bag was a real treat and the breakfast was outstanding. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Love the inn. Love the location. Love Ron and Lynn.

The inn is beautiful, comfortable, has amazing breakfast and even the occasional entertainment! Lynn is the perfect hostess and Ron an amazing cook!

I highly recommend the Inn on Montford if you're interested in staying very near downtown Asheville. We'll, no doubt, be going there again!

Room Tip: We have not had a bad room. Beds are very comfortable and I've ordered (and have) their sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarensPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend spent a night in the Fitzgerald room for a romantic getaway.The magic began as soon as we walked to the property! The property was absolutely beautiful. We were greeted by a staff member who showed us around the house, there we met the innkeeper Lynn who we loved immediately! She was very warm, friendly & accommodating. My boyfriend is quite a picky eater and she made a breakfast course just for him. She jokingly said "oh so this is the fussy one" when meeting us. When we were showed the room we were blown away, the pictures online do it no justice. The room was very luxurious, spacious and cozy and the bathroom (my dream bathroom!) was to die for, it definitely lived up to the reviews! We were late for dinner and checking out because we simply did not want to leave the shower! Any compliant I could've made they already had a solution for... while getting ready I stated "there should be a full body mirror in here", opened the closet door to get the iron and there one was. It got a little hot at one point... there on the other side of the room was a fan! It would've been nice to have an outlet (for flat irons, hair dryers etc) where the huge mirror, sink and counter space were but that wasn't too big of a deal. Breakfast was delicious, a pleasant twist from a regular breakfast one might expect. Social hour, coffee/tea machine and the sweet bar full of brownie and cakes were a major plus! The Inn is located in a convenient part of town so we were only minutes away from all our destinations. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and we would definitely love to return here. Our expectations were exceeded! We needed a relaxing and romantic getaway and that is exactly what we had here, we only wish we could've stayed longer! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing