We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish We'd Stayed Longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1900 Inn on Montford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1900 Inn on Montford
Ranked #17 of 38 Asheville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Wish We'd Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a lovely place! Only stayed for a night at the end of a visit with family, but I wish we'd had longer. We stayed in the Rosetti, and were thrilled with the choice. It's a beautiful space, and dog-friendly! Our travelling pup had a great time exploring the garden and the welcome treat and breakfast treat were very cute. We look forward to going again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
649
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lynn and Ron provided an extremely memorable stay. They provided excellent advice on places to visit and dine. The rooms were outstanding as was the service and the breakfast. Saturday social hour featured an outstanding local band which we enjoyed on the veranda. The grounds were beautiful and provided a perfect exclamation point to a great weekend visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Asheville for our 1 year Anniversary. I had previously done multiple researches on hotels and B and B's, but I couldn't shake the Inn on Montford.

We decided to stay in the recently renovated Fitzgerald... Wow! What a romantic three days. The bathroom is outstanding. The shower feels so invigorating; the way the water gently falls on you from the ceiling is heavenly! The mood light setting and romantic jetted tub also brought elegance to the room.

Ron and Lynn were exceptional hosts, from out wonderful 3 course breakfast to the knowledge about Asheville. We not only took in the sights at the Biltmore, but Ron and Lynn provided us with many hiking trails to waterfalls. My husband and I also enjoyed social hour in the evenings to continue to talk with Ron and Lynn. We learned a quite of bit of history about the Inn on Montford and the surrounding area. I agree with the previously posted message- Ron and Lynn went out of there way to serve us as guests who needed a romantic weekend away.

This is an Inn we're definitely sharing with our friends and family as a place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a jewel of a room, stay in the Fitzgerald.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

While planning a romantic weekend with my husband we came across this beautiful inn online... the pictures hardly do it justice!! The property is so lovely and the main house is warm and inviting. While the Fitzgerald room is indeed a dream (the bathroom is to die for - so happy to have now seen it in person!), we decided to book the Rosetti suite as we wanted a bit more of a private getaway. We were not disappointed - in fact it was even more of a dream than we thought it would be. Lynn and Ron have clearly taken great pains to anticipate every need of their guests and to provide the ultimate in surroundings and comfort for their stay. We also appreciated being given our privacy to enjoy our time there. There is nothing more enjoyable than having a sumptuous breakfast delivered to your room to enjoy by the fireplace or in the private garden - one of the many perks on being in the carriage house. The staff and innkeepers are lovely - Ron is a fabulous cook and Lynn couldn't be sweeter and fun to chat with! We encourage anyone looking to stay in Asheville to book 1900 Inn on Montford – it will be a vacation you will tell everyone about over and over… we cannot wait for the opportunity to go back and we have only just left!! Thank you for everything :-)

Room Tip: If you want more privacy I would recommend anything in the carriage house! Breakfast delivered to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cms1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are just back from a wonderful stay in the Wm. Morris suite out back of this lovely inn, located in a beautiful historic neighborhood, just minutes from town. Our handsome little hideaway was ingeniously equipped with everything we could have wanted, from the private garden to the cozy fireplace to the super deluxe shower and whirlpool tub, not to mention the tiny, adorable kitchen! Our hosts and their staff were quite accomodating of special requests, breakfasts were elegant and delicious, and dinner recommendations were right on! We were lucky enough to be there on Saturday nite, when the inn hosts local musicians to entertain guests. Although I had trepidations about this option, it turned out to be a highlight, and included free wine! Truly, everything here is accomplished at the highest level of gracious hospitality, and so we can recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We drove through Asheville on an extended trip and stayed in this warm and spacious inn. It was a treat. The inn is beautiful, quiet, and an easy walk into town. Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was a perfect resting spot. The owners and staff members could not have been more friendly and helpful.The coffee in a bag was a real treat and the breakfast was outstanding. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guest66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Love the inn. Love the location. Love Ron and Lynn.

The inn is beautiful, comfortable, has amazing breakfast and even the occasional entertainment! Lynn is the perfect hostess and Ron an amazing cook!

I highly recommend the Inn on Montford if you're interested in staying very near downtown Asheville. We'll, no doubt, be going there again!

Room Tip: We have not had a bad room. Beds are very comfortable and I've ordered (and have) their sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarensPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1900 Inn on Montford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1900 Inn on Montford

Property: 1900 Inn on Montford
Address: 296 Montford Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville > Historic Montford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1900 Inn on Montford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and Romantic AAA Four-Diamond Inn with four large bedrooms and 1000 sq ft suite in main house and three secluded pet-friendly suites in Griffin Cottage with private, enclosed back gardens. King beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, steam baths, HDTV, personal refrigerators, and high-speed Internet access. Social hour each evening with live music Saturday nights. Full three-course breakfast served at 9 am. Breakfast delivered to your room in Griffin Cottage Suites. Fodor's Choice Award selection for 2009 thru 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1900 Inn on Montford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1900 Inn On Montford Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing