We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay and Great Jazz!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Great Jazz!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I decided to take a spur of the moment trip to Boston and we found that this Double Tree was more than suiting for our getaway. Even though it is outside the center of Boston's downtown it was a short drive to downtown or the action near Harvard's Campus with shopping and Cafes alike. This was the best of both worlds. The Scullers Jazz Club was excellent we saw Rufus Reid and friends. Great TIME!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Errick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdadiego, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review! I am so happy you enjoyed our World Famous Scullers Jazz Club and were also able to enjoy a night away as well. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Joe Dadiego
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    617
    216
    85
    58
See reviews for
566
303
89
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This Hotel was the second stop for us in our vacation heading east and then south. We loved the views and the accomodations. The staff was great to my wife and I and to the other guest who was in front of us and completely out of line!( The staff handled them politely a proffessionally) The guest clearly "Nuts". Our room was clean and of couse we would saty again as we were treated as expected in a Doubletree.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdadiego, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad we were able to provide such a fantastic getaway for you. WE appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Joe Dadiego
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Great Hotel. Shuttle to Harvard and Boston Downtown. 10 minute walk from Harvard Business School. Great pool. We stay here every year. The hotel has a great breakfast service. My children adore the fresh chocolate cookies. Rooms are comfortable. Parking in convienent but expensive. NIce to have a separate room for the children.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msegalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdadiego, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for such a great review. Many families truly enjoy the extra space we provide with the extra room. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Joe Dadiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed one night at the Doubletree while attending a show at Scullers Jazz Club... our room was upgraded to a bi-level suite on the top floor (HHonors Gold member) - awesome two story room with a full living room, fantastic view of the river and a king bed in the loft area.

The shower had 5 shower heads - 1 traditional, 1 handheld and 3 that came out of the wall and could be angled - awesome! In addition the mirror in the bathroom had a tv built in behind the glass - something I had never seen in a hotel before. Very cool feature !

Breakfast buffet was decent, typical for a Hilton property. Parking was in the attached lot and $35.00 for the night.

The onlly downside was that we weren't there long enough to fully enjoy the room or the other amenities at the hotel. Definitely would return and highly recommend it if you are attending a show or in the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and always ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharoninBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel itself was gorgeous, easy to find - right before Storrow Drive with amazing views of the Charles. However, upon arriving at 1PM for a wedding, we were well prepared to wait until 3PM (check-in) for our room. We sat in Fusion lounge - overpriced and typical, poor hotel food, until our room was supposed to be ready. We went down to the lobby at 3PM to find out that our room wasn't ready - and wouldn't be for another 30 minutes (or so we were told). It wasn't ready until 430PM! With a wedding in a couple hours, it was not a pleasant experience. The rooms were spacious, with a separate bedroom adjacent to the living room with "pull-out" sofa. The sofa did not pull out - it was broken and we tried for about 30 minutes until giving up and squeezing 2 people on the couch overnight. The TV in the main bedroom did not work. When checking out, we had 3 rooms all together. My parents room service was on our bill and our room service was on my sister's bill. Made for more of a headache during check out after minimal sleep on the couch. Although I highly recommend the property itself - I hope everyone else has less of a hassle than we did. I normally stay at Sheraton's and this was actually my first time at a Hilton, and was rather disappointed by our quality of stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Although we had to wait in line at check in, everything else was just perfect. The staff was sincerely polite and helpful, from the front desk to the housekeeping, always acknowledging the guest. Rooms were spacious, attractive, well set up. The bathrooms were clean. The bedding was comfortable, crisp and clean. The atrium and interior glass elevator is nothing short of spectacular. The atrium setup of this hotel makes it a bit noisy, but it didn't bother us at all. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to Harvard Square. Some rooms have a view of the Charles River, others a view of Boston. Study a map really well before you drive to this location, as there are many one-way streets and finding the entrance to this hotel was a big challenge after dark. Parking on site seemed secure, but it was pricey (as is parking in all of Boston).

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level will afford an amazing elevator ride!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdadiego, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Its always nice to share such great comments with our team. We hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Joe Dadiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Just got back from staying overnight at the Doubletree Hilton hotel in Cambridge (Allston, to be exact), over the bridge from Harvard. Big VooDoo Daddy was playing at their jazz club - too bad I didn't get tickets for it, it was wonderful according to some of the sold out crowds. The room was a nice suite. Breakfast was great, but at $19 was a bit expensive. And I was told by someone who stays there a lot that you need to tip the waitstaff quite heavily, otherwise they don't pay attention to you :-(

The parking garage is tricky to get in and out of with the heavy Boston traffic, but once at the hotel they have a shuttle that goes to a lot of the popular Boston destinations (Harvard Square, Fanuel Hall / Quincy Market, etc).

All in all, I'd stay there again if I was going to be in that part of Boston.

(If you stay there, go to the lounge and get an order of their sweet potatoe tater tots - yum!!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooknig the Charles river - spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCasualTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdadiego, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your valuable feedback! Many guests did enjoy the Big Bad Voodoo Daddy's, check out oru schedule as we have many great shows in the near future. Hope to see you back at the hotel.

Regards,

Joe Dadiego
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
Courtyard Boston Cambridge
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge
Address: 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Allston, Boston, MA 02134-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Allston / Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Boston
#43 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#46 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Boston hotel located on the banks of Charles River just minutes to Harvard University and Harvard Square. Enjoy an array of amenities in our 308 suites with separate living and sleeping areas, full sofa beds, refrigerators, and Flat Screen TVs. Complimentary basic wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel (faster speeds are available for a fee). As the only hotel that offers complimentary shuttle service to both Boston and Cambridge - you will enjoy the best of both worlds when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Boston-Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton - Boston Hotel Boston
Doubletree Hotel Boston
Doubletree Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing