We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Canine Ambassadors- need I say more?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Canine Ambassadors- need I say more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until our check out. Great location. The tea and honey in the room is a nice touch. The Canine Ambassadors are a fantastic addition and create a welcoming environment.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorne_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    657
    244
    106
    45
See reviews for
603
908
107
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Went to Boston for a quick get-away at the end of July. We've stayed at the Copley before so we knew what to expect. The location is great, right off of I-90, across the street from the Prudential mall complex, and a short 20 minute walk from Fenway. The staff, as always, was extremely helpful. The room was in a quiet corner, and we didn't hear anyone else the entire stay. $46/day to park is a little steep, but its downtown Boston and you pay that anywhere. My only complaint was that the pillows were a little wimpy. All in all, my favorite hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one on the middle wing of the 5th floor. No view, but we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I usually don't plan on returning to conference hotels, but I definitely would return to this Fairmont. In the past in Boston I've stayed at the Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton, so I was surprised at how pleased I was at the FCP. Public spaces are beautiful; although they renovated, they didn't remove all the old-style charm as some hotels have. Everything about our room was very comfortable: the AC was consistent, very cool, but not blowing on you; the bathroom had a large excellent shower, lots of place between the double sinks for "stuff;" walk-in closet; comfortable bed and linens; lots of towels. Real advantages to Gold level: check-in-&-out on floor; concierge on floor; breakfast with nice selection; late afternoon snacks; non-alcoholic beverages; newspapers. Excellent location for walking around the city; 2 T-lines w/i 1 block of hotel.

Room Tip: I'd choose a street-facing room even tho' there may be more outside noise: it's the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello and thank you for your post. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from our central Back Bay location to the results of last year’s renovation! We’re thrilled that we surpassed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenFromKent
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

having decided to have a weekend in Boston we decided to book into the Fairmont Copley Square
There is a second Fairmont down by the waterfront but this is a brand new property and I prefer the classic properties.

Our experience started on the telephone when booking, firstly I spoke to a concierge at the Waterfront property by the name of Ricky, you could not have found a more helpful person.
However as mentioned we chose the more established property, Such a beautiful building
with a beautiful interior and well maintained..
its also within an easy walking distance from Back Bay Station.. even with luggage.!

Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed extremely comfortable, the bathroom was tiled in
marble effect porcelain tiles....The A/C is quiet and controllable.

Every member of staff we met were more than helpful, However,,,particular thanks to Vincent at the concierge desk.. Vincent you surely deserve your cross keys. And also to Elena at the concierge desk.

The long bar can be noisy of a night, although there is a smaller quieter area adjacent .also the long bar is used for breakfast the seating is comfortable and the staff equally as professional as the main lobby staff,

I have stayed in several Fairmont properties in the USA and the UK, and would never hesitate to recommend this group to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for a road side view, some rooms overlook the inner courtyard,, not the best view by any means.
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms have dual waste bins to help you separate your waste.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi Ken, thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor! First, I’m thrilled to hear about your interaction with Ricky at our sister property and I’ve shared this praise with the team there. As for your stay with us, I’m so glad you enjoyed our historic property and found our staff to be so helpful. I’ve shared your post with our Front Office Manager in order to ensure Vincent and Elena receive recognition for their memorable service. Thank you, again, for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

From the moment you step into this place you know you have arrived at someplace special. How many hotels have Black Labs to greet you upon your arrival? The whole experience was first class, and this will be our "go-to" hotel in Boston from now on. Spacious rooms, amazing staff, gorgeous facility.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Copley Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Martin_3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This older hotel has great service, good restaurants, and has been nicely updated. It's a great meeting hotel, however it serves tourists well as so much is within walking distance. I easily walked to the Commons, Fenway Park, several museums, Fauneuil Hall Market, Copely Place, Northeastern University, and Providence Center to name a few.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter as they experience less street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel appears to be above above average in this respect. It recycles, uses green lighting and has water use policies.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Fairmont Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing