We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, will stay again despite renovation work.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abilene, TX
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice spot, will stay again despite renovation work.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Convenient location. Professional, friendly staff. Absolutely great turn-down service (blinds closed, trash emptied, bed cover removed, ice in the ice-bucket, chocolate on pillow). You're going to pay a lot to stay downtown, might as well pay a little more and stay here. Room is clean, hallways need some attention. I travel a lot on business. I've stayed here before and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,394
    597
    162
    54
    38
See reviews for
415
888
86
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at the Langham Boston in December. I had a huge, corner room overlooking Post Office Square. I was only there for one night, but cannot wait to go back! The food at BOND was excellent, service excellent - a great hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5kmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The beds in this hotel were incredibly hard and uncomfortable. I asked to be switched rooms and the beds in the second room were no better. I ended up pulling the comforter off the second bed to try to create some cushion. I told this to the clerk at check-out, who informed me that they could have put a foam insert in to make it softer. I told him that this would have been nice to know when I complained to him the first time and asked for a different room. My memory of this hotel will be four days of back pain. Also, even by hotel standards, the towels were the consistency of 60-grit sandpaper. Excellent for stripping paint off wood, not so great on the skin. The hotel looks beautiful but does not have the comfort you would expect from a Marriott Courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlbos, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Claygr,

I wish to acknowledge and thank you for your comments following your recent stay at The Langham, Boston.

I was very sorry to read that you found our beds uncomfortable, but also surprised as we usually score quite high when it comes to our bedding. In general, our bedding has been consistently praised in previous feedback on Trip Advisor and the like, as well as on our in-house guest comment cards.

Regarding the bathroom towels, I have alerted our Laundry department to make sure our water treatment, as well as the dosage of chemical used in our Laundry, is adequate and provides our terry with the softness and level of comfort expected in luxury brands. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. If there is anything else I should know that was not part of your comment and would justify the definition of “Worst service” I would certainly like to hear about it. To that end, please do not hesitate to contact my office (617-451-1900) should you want to discuss this further.

Again, many thanks for your valuable feedback.
Sincerely yours,
Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are one of the average people who plan a nice romantic getaway, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO!!!! The staff implied racial discrimination using their stereotypical gestures towards my company, which are African American. We were treated WITH SUCH disrespect, they refused to leave the room for the entire night, because they felt insecure about how they were treated in this hotel. Not only that, the housekeepers have no regard for personal privacy! One of them walked into my other room after I JUST stated there was a guest presently in the room!!! My romantic night was completely ruined by the staff. I spent $450.00 to sit in the hotel room, comforting my guest, when I should have been having a few drinks in their lounge...HORRIBLE SERVICE; NEVER AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother trying to find a room, this place is disrespectful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlbos, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Ms. Lucia D,

Your comments, relative to your recent stay at The Langham, Boston, have been carefully reviewed and I would like to thank you for your feedback. I would also like to take this opportunity to respond and share with you the results of my investigation.

According to our Front Desk personnel it was reported that you had an issue with room temperature (too cold), and furthermore that you experienced a lack of privacy initiated by the turn down Housekeeper during the evening of March 02, 2012. I deeply regret that this occurred and on behalf of the hotel Senior Management I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience or embarrassment you or your guests were caused.

As far as the “implied racial discrimination”, I was not able, based on my own findings, to confirm any evidence of such. You can rest assured that such an attitude has no place in our establishment and would never be tolerated in our company. We employ a work force of many different nationalities and ethnicities and are proud to successfully maintain a harmonious multicultural environment, which, needless to say, serves our guests and business partners well.

I am sorry that you did not perceive this to be the case and I wish we could have had an opportunity to discuss this particular issue before your departure from our hotel.

Sincerely yours
Serge Denis, Managing Director
The Langham, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

So beautiful, so elegant, so historical. I stayed here with ten friends when we celebrated "our" birthdays.... We went to Dueling Pianos at "Howl at the Moon" for our celebration. Blast!

The Langham has everything you want and more. Great lounges...unbelievable food, Sunday brunch, AND A CHOCOLATE BUFFET - to die for.

All the staff (or most) spoke with European accents...so quaint. The door man was dressed military style and very professional and helpful.

Stunningly spotless interior.

We're coming back in April.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed at The Langham Boston for one night while on business. The hotel was perfectly located to explore Financial District and Goverment Center. The staff were helpful and accomodating. They are in the middle of renovating the hotel lobby and Cafe Flueri so there was construction during the day. Rooms were upscale and well appointed. Turn-down service is a nice touch!

Valet parking is offered at $42 per night but worth it. We enjoyed a business dinner at the Boston Chart House on the Wharf and enjoyed our meal and found the selection to appeal to everyone. The hotel concierge recommended and managed reservation in advance of our stay. When I return to Boston I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Every time I stay at the Langham in Boston I am impressed by the personal service and the genuinely welcoming and professional staff - but this week they totally blew me away. My elderly father (he is 86) was due to check out of the hotel but came down with the flu and was too sick to move. While my sister planned an emergency flight to Boston to take care of him and escort him home when he was able, I worked with the hotel staff to get her a room on the same floor, bring dad ice chips and crackers, and periodically check in on him to make sure he was both hydrated and cogent. Everybody from the front desk to security and guest services was on it! I received three calls from guest services throughout the day to let me know Dad was being cared for, that they had physically checked in on him and he was okay. From 3,000 miles away I had made a single request for help and they made him their priority; he was the subject of their morning staff meeting and the focus of their day. Even my dad's wake up call was made with an inquiry as to his health the next morning. Wow. I can't say enough about how great they were and what a relief it was. They made us all feel like he was safe and far from alone in his time of need.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlbos, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear 2012Liz,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for your kind review of The Langham, Boston. Thank you for the wonderful feedback and, more importantly, the time you spent replying. It was truly a pleasure to have your father stay with us. I am pleased to know that his stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were enjoyable him. As much as we like to believe that we make every effort to deliver personable, efficient and reliable services, it is still, in my mind, extremely rewarding and reassuring to receive such complimentary feedback.

Thank you as well for mentioning the exceptional service of our colleagues. Please know that your kind words have been passed along so that everyone is aware of your high praise.

It was a pleasure hosting your father and helping you from afar. We all hope your farther has now fully recovered and wish him all the very best!

Sincerely,
Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing