We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We chose this venue because it is right on the waterfront, right behind the North End and small enough to feel like a home away from home and big enough to accommodate our wedding of 130 ppl. This venue is unique and very classy without being overstated or too fancy. Our contact was Ashley Lamy, who was incredible. She walked us through the whole process and made us feel that we didn't need to worry about anything--and we didn't. She tried to accommodate all of our requests and even threw in some extra perks which were a great surprise. On the day of the event, everything we asked about was there and the event was flawless. We had our ceremony and cocktail reception outside with part of the reception in the Maritime museum onsite. We then moved inside for dinner. We had a buffet and the food was so good. Everyone commented on the food and how friendly the staff was. People were really impressed at the high level of service. Everyone has been telling us that this was one of the best weddings that they have ever been to and a lot of that credit goes to Ashley, the chef, the service staff, the A/V department and the bartenders (who everyone knew by name). Thank you, thank you for making this event so easy, memorable and fun!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

In a word, disappointing - I would have told the staff had anyone asked. I was with a group of 12 from various cities yet my room wasn't held. They offered an upgrade for a fee, and after I objected, they located me into the Gold concierge building. The room was small, smaller than my fellow associates in other buildings, but I got the lounge service which was very nice - good food! Maid service never happened, and I got a 5:00AM wake up call that I didn't request and was two hours earlier than I needed to get up (that's 2:00AM my time). The desk staff also misplaced a package needed for a meeting. It was eventually found and delivered after a few hours. Others in my group liked the hotel. The star service provider was Nancy, our server in the restaurant. Although I reported the problems mentioned above and heard "I'm sorry" more than I should have, there was never an attempt to make things better: sloppy and unimpressive service but a nice building.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank vljmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana_Baseel, Fairmont Battery Wharf, Marketing Coordinator Jana Baseel at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We are concerned to read your posted comments about your recent visit with us at Fairmont Battery Wharf and appreciate that you provided this feedback. Please be assured that we have shared your comments with our Operations team and will be addressing the issues you noted. It is however a delight to hear that our server, Nancy, made a nice impression on your stay. She is certainly a star employee and we will be pleased to pass on your compliments. If you would like to contact us directly to provide more information (batterywharf@fairmont.com), we would welcome the opportunity to resolve any miscommunications that might have occurred while you were here. It is a shared priority of the staff to provide thoughtful service to all of our guests, and we regret that your visit did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing your comments in this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

i've stayed at the fairmont before,and each time i have been delighted.I asked for hypoallergenic pillows and got them right away.The rooms are equipped with nespresso coffee makers,so you get a perfect cup of coffee each time.nice large rooms,and super comfy beds.so much so we order room service! (fyi,room service food is delicious and plentiful .) I wanna go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmgjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I found it to be nice. Not a 4 star- I would put it in league with a Holiday Inn without amenities-no pool, too far between buildings, no housekeeping, no breakfast, sneaky charges for internet, my room was small. I had to ask for everything repeatedly. One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, though. The staff was nice, polite, it was just okay. No Hilton or Rennaisance, and I paid 2 times more at Fairmont than either of those.

Room Tip: I don't know, you may not get what you ask for anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProvinceBooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana_Baseel, Fairmont Battery Wharf, Marketing Coordinator Jana Baseel at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review in this forum. Feedback from all our guests is appreciated and we regret that the overall value didn’t match your expectations, and for that we are disappointed. If there is anything that could have made your stay better, we hope you’ll let us know. As for future stays with us or with any Fairmont hotel, joining the Fairmont President’s Club is completely free and members can access complimentary wireless internet during their stays. Thank you again for sharing and we hope that you consider returning to our hotel as we would welcome the opportunity to win you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is really nice. Very nice clean rooms and great location! You are within walking distance of great restaurants. The habor view is wonderful! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padilladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here on St. Patrick's Day. Booked a room with two double beds but they were overbooked so we got upgraded to a President's Club room! The room was huge! Had a living area with a huge pull out couch, dining area, a desk and office area, and two bathrooms! The bed was incredibly comfortable. The shower had a waterfall shower head which was great! Also in the bathroom were very nice shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Also had mouthwash. Room included a coffee maker, and even a little bowl of candies. You cant beat the location either, The North End!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sargey2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed in the Fairmont Battery Wharf this past weekend for two nights, as I was in town for a wedding. The hotel is set up just on the water over several buildings. It has a nice intimate feeling rather than feeling like you're in an enormous hotel building.

We stayed in the third building - the same building as reception and the bar. The room was spacious. The bed was incredibly comfortable! Overall, there are great amenities. A proper ironing (necessary for ironing a suit for a wedding). There was a Nespresso machine with a selection of capsules. A nice TV, if you're into that kind of thing.

The bathroom was very nice too - it was big and very clean. There was a waterfall shower which is such a nice touch. My favorite part, though, may have been the selection of products. This may seem trivial, but if you're traveling from far away and don't want to carry all of your own products it's comforting to know that the Shampoo, Condition, and Shower Gel were all really high quality and smelled of roses. I later looked into the brand to purchase for myself. They also have an effective body lotion...which I rarely find in hotels.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There's no free wifi, but will get the cost waived if you join their President's Club. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was pricey but very tasty.

The area of the hotel is great too! It's in the North End, so you're just a five minute walk from all of the pastry shops and Italian restaurants you'll ever want. Within a 10 minute walk is Quincy Market, where you can explore a range of culinary options (some better than others I imagine) or just observe the chaos.

If you're looking for a hotel for a nice weekend with a significant other, I'd say this is a great choice!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 85 in Boston
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $253 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing