We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commonwealth Court Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Commonwealth Court Guest House
Ranked #28 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Great location for a guest house, on the elegant Commonwealth Ave, and within walking distance of Newbury St. The staff (one person in office), is from 9 to 5, very friendly. Change sheets once a week, towels every other day, vac too. The room we had was small and the bathroom very small. The kitchenette is poorly equipped but enough. There was coffee maker but we had to ask for coffee.
It is excellent for those who do not want to pay a high price and be in one of the most beautiful places in Boston.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willyconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    20
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Great value for the money! Clean room, friendly staff--they even stored my luggage for me for free after I'd checked out, and they helped me carry it to my room when I checked in. Gorgeous view of Commonwealth Ave and Gloucester St! Quiet with minimal noise bleedthrough from neighboring rooms--I actually didn't hear my neighbors at all, but I'd see them in the hall so I know there were people next door. Terrific location, in a beautiful old brownstone in the Back Bay, one block from Newbury St and two blocks from Mass Ave and two blocks from the Prudential Center. And I mean literal blocks (one or two minutes of walking), not city blocks! My room's linens were totally clean, no stains or anything (I mention that because other reviews said otherwise about the linens). My room had digital cable and wireless internet, both included in room price and were working fine (and I was there for a week and made good use of both). There is no elevator and the stairs are small and winding--but they'd told me that when I made my reservation. Only downside is that there were a couple of hairs in the bathroom and I saw a couple of small ants (which is inevitable since you can' t really keep them out of historic houses). Otherwise, it was absolutely excellent! I still can't believe I was able to get such a nice room in a fantastic location and at such a good price!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

This is a beautiful building in Back Bay and the location is perfect (a block from Newbury street with all the shopping as well as few blocks from the Hynes T stop). The rooms and bathrooms are small (at least ours was) and the rooms are very basic, but if you have a busy travel schedule in Boston and just need a place to crash at night, this is a great place for a good price in Back Bay. For those folks needing constant attention, 24/7 access to hotel services, and require many amenities in a lodging place, this will not be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KCPlaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed here a couple of nights back in November 07 and we really enjoyed our stay. The place is clean, airy and the location was perfect for us.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Thomascarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

Stayed here for four nights with our son, daughter and son-in-law. This is a beautiful brown-stone building on a wide, tree-lined street. All three rooms were very small, but did have en-suites and kitchenettes. The kitchenettes were poorly equipped with a mis-mash of stuff.

Only white venetian blinds at the windows so take an eye mask to help you sleep and ear plugs would also be useful as it's quite noisy.

  • Liked — Architecture
  • Disliked — Tired appearance
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Commonwealth Court Guest House last week and had a great time! On top of being located right in the heart of the city, the accomodation was terrifiic! The room was clean and charming and the staff was quite friendly. The rate was also great for Boston, $105 a night in the best part of the city! We'll definately be back and we will be sure to recommend the Commomnwealth Court Guest House to anyone who's traveling to Boston!

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the stairs!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

The only good thing about this place is the location. And it's cheap. But the room was unclean and disgusting, esp. the shower and toilet. Under the bed there was litter and dust, including a tissue with blood on it.

My girlfriend put towels down to lie on so as not to come in contact with the sheets.

Everything about the room was cheap and tacky.

Needliess to say we moved out after one night and paid for something decent and clean.

Only way you should stay here is if you're absolutely broke, even then the Shawmut Inn downtown is MUCH better.

Sorry to whine but thought I should warn you.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JosephBruce76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#60 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
Back Bay
463 Beacon Street Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Court Guest House

Property: Commonwealth Court Guest House
Address: 284 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02115
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commonwealth Court Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Commonwealth Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Court Guest House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing