We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, but sadly, very poorly run!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commonwealth Court Guest House
Ranked #28 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was expecting to find something similar to the Newbury Guest House, which has a great location, offers renovated rooms and a good service. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed.
My daugther and I arrived from abroad on a Friday morning, during working hours, at around 11h AM. We were planning to leave our luggage in the lobby and grab some coffee somewhere nearby, until check in time. However, there was nobody there to open the front door for us. We've waited for about 20 minutes on the outside, until a guest, who was leaving the place, kindly opened the front lobby door for us. Fortunately, the mentioned guest had the cell phone number of the guest house manager, Rick, called him up and asked him to show up.
We've brought a lot of of luggage along, as my daughter was about to move to Boston for 4 years, to go to college. We had to take all the heavy luggage to the 3rd floor using the stairs, as there was no elevator in the house. I thought it would be more honest to highlight this feature on their website, as this guest house has 4 floors and for many potential guests an elevator might be really important. The Newbury Guest House is also a 19th century building, but it does feature an elevator, so I was expecting to find one here as well.
Rick, the guest house manager, treated us with no hospitality at all, since day one. Before we were done taking our heavy luggage upstairs, he asked me to come to his office right away and provide full payment for the whole 11 days stay, as if we were not trustworthy people. When I asked him about room availability for 12 weeks during Fall, he said they do not accept guests for extended stays (despite the fact that their official webiste does mention weekly and montly rates).
When I was checking in, a lady told Rick she wanted to check out before the scheduled date, as her room's bathroom was full of mold and she just could not stand it anymore.
My room's bathroom was incredibly tiny, had no mold, but it did have a big crack on the floor, which could easily cause injuries. I asked the manager to get the floor crack fixed and the tiles were replaced 2 days after my complaint.
My room was large and had a nice bay window. However, 2 shades were broken and did not close completely, which affected our comfort and privacy. I requested to have the mentioned shades fixed, but the problem was not solved during our 11-days stay.
I was also upset because my room was not properly cleaned. Rick explained to me that in this particular guest house, bed linens are only changed once a week! I thought this policy was not reasonable. If the guest pays the full rate every single day (not a discounted weekly rate), it is fair to have daily service and be provided with clean bedding and bath sets every time it is requested. The cleaning lady only changed the cheap polyester bedspreads in the fifth day, after many complaints.
This property has a great location, a 19th century charm and the potential to be a picturesque boutique guest house, if it were not so poorly run!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianaRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Commonwealth Court Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful old house full of potential and in a fabulous location. Some rooms apparently have been renovated; some not. My shower stall had mold all over, there was a huge hole in one of the doors and some of the blind were not working. If you want to preview your room, you have to arrive when the manager is there, before 5:00. Not worth what I paid.

Room Tip: Just ask for one that has been newly renovated.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSMRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Considering it was Regatta weekend, we were lucky to find an affordable room near downtown and were very lucky with this location! The room was cramped by a king-sized bed, with barely room enough to walk around it, and the bathroom was tiny. Pilly, polyester bedspread but clean and very serviceable, and who spends much time in their room when you are one block from Newbury St?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nessie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Yes, the location is great. Our room was tiny. No place to keep toiletries in the bathroom. Small medicine cabinet that wouldn't close. Noticed a used toothbrush in it. Tiniest sink i've ever seen.. Only space to get out of bed on one side- my husband's side up against the wall. husband saw a note that a guest had left in office that they had seen a mouse, but we didn't see any. Our room cost way too much for what it was, but it was a busy weekend and hotels were going for twice as much.building and halls are lovely with pretty moldings. Our blinds didn't keep out light. Bring eye shades. Ask for a decent sized room/ bathroom. Room could use freshening up, but the bed and pillows were comfortable.did have free wireless, but I wouldn't recommend for business use because it logged out every 20 minutes. Fine for checking e-mail.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 13- ask for a larger room. Bring eye shades in case room doesn't have cur...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed in room 22, one of the largest. It is a kitchnette with bay window, small kitchen and small bath. No elevators, so you have to take the stairs!

Great location and value for money. Just be prepared to have a homey feel, since there's no daily service in the rooms -- don't be messy and you'll be fine...

People from the office downstairs were also great, especially Gino!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabidias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

An absolutely perfect location for any stay in Boston. Especially for the money, there is no better place to stay in the city. The staff was very helpful and the room was perfect for a couple on a long summer trip. We would definitely recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dplattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Great location for a guest house, on the elegant Commonwealth Ave, and within walking distance of Newbury St. The staff (one person in office), is from 9 to 5, very friendly. Change sheets once a week, towels every other day, vac too. The room we had was small and the bathroom very small. The kitchenette is poorly equipped but enough. There was coffee maker but we had to ask for coffee.
It is excellent for those who do not want to pay a high price and be in one of the most beautiful places in Boston.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willyconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 84 in Boston
660 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
The College Club of Boston
Back Bay
463 Beacon Street Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Court Guest House

Address: 284 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02115-2432
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $334 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commonwealth Court Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commonwealth Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Court Guest House Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing