We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Flew from SF to Boston on Dec. 23rd to visit the family in CT for XMAS..

Flight landed in Boston at 9pm, so I had to stay in the city until I could catch a train to my hometown (New London) in the morning.

I can't believe I had to pay over $100 to stay in this dump for one night..

They said "Because it's the holidays, we charge holiday rates" --- are they freakin' kidding ?? It's a Y --- not the Mandarin Oriental...

This place is WAY OUT in the boondocks near the old Navy Yard.. There's a little shuttle bus that you can catch in the adjacent office complex to get to the T --- if you rely on public transit... and in Boston, who doesn't ?? So, that was a plus..

The counter clerk looked a little shady and I wasn't sure if I should give my credit card number to this guy -- but, I chanced it anyway...

The bed was dirty, the shower didn't work very well, and the hot water ran out... but, no bedbugs or roaches though..

No food ANYWHERE except for some cheap Pepsi machine and a few bags of chips in a candy machine...

For $125 smackers I expected better.. But it was late, it was the holidays, and I was tired from a LONG cross-country flight...

I felt violated after checking out..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfranciscan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, General Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Constitution Inn Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you had a negative experience. Problems such as the ones that you encountered are entirely preventable and we hope to avoid them in the future. In order to achieve this goal, we have recently added supplemental management and are in the process of rolling out a new operational model and re-training program aimed at improving our services and increasing the satisfaction level of our guests. We are also undergoing renovations to improve the appearance and quality of our facility. Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Warmest Regards,
The Constitution Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

While a great location, the place is tired... carpeting is threadbare and just has an old "feel". The YMCA next door is nice for those who like working out... and of course, considering the area, the price is right.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urmi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We arrived at the hotel to find that they had overbooked and did not have a room for us even though I had reservation information and confirmation number. This is unbelieveable because they have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Apparently they can cancel on the guests but the guests can't cancel on them. We did get a room for the second night of our stay. They advertise that there is a shuttle to MGH. Not so! There is a bus that stops about 3 blocks from the hotel & will take you to the hospital but that isn't a great deal when you have surgery at the hospital & then can not walk the 3 blocks back from the bus to the hotel. We had to call a cab & spend $15 to get back to the hotel. There is no parking at the hotel either. You have to park at a garage 2 blocks from the hotel. The neighborhood seems fairly safe but it still is a bit disturbing to have to walk back to the hotel from your car late at night on deserted city streets.
Next time we have to go to Boston, we will spend more & get a decent hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mn2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, General Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Constitution Inn Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry about the confusion with your reservation and I'm glad we were able to accomodate you for the second night. I want to clarify that there is indeed a shuttle that picks guests and patients up less than a block away and takes them to North Station and MGH Hospital; perhaps you went to a different shuttle bus stop? We are continually working on improving the service to our guests, and we appreciate your feedback. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Warmest Regards,
The Constitution Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

i stayed at the constitution inn for one night in a large school group i found that the hotel its self was in a great location however i was slightly miffed by the rooms large spacey but not pariculy clean in my opinion i would not return.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The navy yards is a great location for boston, within walking distance of north station and north end or get the boat downtown. Rooms basic but fine, gym, pool and sauna an extra bonus. However we had a problem with keys not being recognized despite being reset, rather irritating, the rooms were also very warm and could not be cooled down with the thermostat, but these won't stop me coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korkybuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

If you are looking for a no frills hotel this is the one for you.

The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was very clean and the room was large. It has a medium size microwave and a good size fridge. The free wireless worked perfectly the whole trip.

The location is in Charlestown. A very cute quaint neighborhood. The freedom trail actually ends a few blocks from the hotel so you can work your way backwards and follow it to the beginning.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. Will return!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boredsoxgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#78 of 85 in Boston
296 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 85 in Boston
559 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 85 in Boston
780 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $107 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing