We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
97
240
232
134
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
240
232
134
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ymca gym freedom trail long wharf bunker hill convenience store across the bridge few blocks t station rates aquarium waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 835 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is very dated. The sofa was at least 25 years old. The ceilings (6th floor) room was probably only 5.5 feet in some parts of the room. The room seemed as if we were assigned to an early 1900’s barracks room. We have to park a great distance from the hotel. We checked out the Inn after only spending one night. It was such a disappointment and a horrible way to honor out military. We went to the Hilton because are always sure to be satisfied with our accommodations. Please don’t waste your money at this Inn.

Room Tip: Please read the reviews from several sites before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience and that you were disappointed with our facility. We have recently completed renovations with the aim of improving the appearance and quality of our facility. There are new flat-screen TV's, new carpet, and new bedding in the guest rooms. Our next round of renovations will include new furniture and in-room decor.
You mentioned in your review that you were a military guest, so your rate was at a significant discount. While we are constantly making improvementsand striving to exceed expectations, offering large discounts to the military and charitable organizations does limit our budget significantly. What we strive for is to provide clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service at the lowest rate in the city.
As far as parking is concerned, there is a garage just around the corner (a 1-minute walk, 90% of which is under a covered walkway) that guests can use for $6/night with validation, a far lower price than any other hotel in the city. Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I scheduled a business trip and located the Constituion Inn on line. I was very impressed with everything stated about the hotel and the comments from others who had stayed at this location. When I arrived in Boston and subsequently took a cab to this location, at the last minute I ended up having some personal issues that meant I was going to have to change my plans.

Shannon and Ellen - at the front desk in the reception area - certainly exceeded my expectations with all their help. They were so patient and helpful - they certainly understand what it meant to provide outstanding client service.

I had to leave the hotel, but I will certainly come back for a stay another time. They both treated me like family - what more could you ask as a stranger walking into a hotel! Anne

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much to you and all of the other travelers that have given us positive reviews recently! Typically hotel managers primarily respond to negative reviews or those that call for action, but we thought that we should take a moment to recognize those that have taken the time to share their positive experiences with the TripAdvisor community.

What we strive for as a team is to provide warm, friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms to guests at a reasonable cost. While we may not be the most posh hotel in Boston, we do offer other appealing amenities such the lowest parking prices in the city, the most extensive workout facility in the city and a complimentary shuttle to North Station. We continuously strive to improve our service and facilities and greatly appreciate all feedback both positive and negative, thank you!

Warm Regards,

The Constitution Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I'm giving this an Excellent rating mainly because of the price and location. Average as far as the Hotel is concerned. Nice quiet neighborhood on the water. Little grocery store near by. $6 per night parking 3 blocks away. Short walk to the old navy shipyard and about a mile to the TD Garden. Its a ciderblock palace. But not in a bad way. Hey, its also a YMCA, so there is that aspect. Rooms were clean and had a microwave, fridge, and free wifi. Almost has the feel of a high class hostel. Still it was a nice place to stay close to everything for about half of what it costs in downtown proper.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Excellent location, regular free shuttle to Boston North Station, adequate but basic accomodation as well priced for what it is as we could find in Boston. If you are going to be out and about all day this is the place for you. Don't expect any frills. Helpfully friendly staff

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank johnandbabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We picked this hotel since it saved us almost a $100 a night compared to other hotels near Boston. The advertised rate per night was cheaper and there was big savings on the taxes.
The hotel is not pretty but functional. The room was comfortable and clean. The tv was a CRT and the remote was missing. The hotel was noisy as we could hear banging during the morning and evening but it stop by bedtime.
The location is not ideal. It is off any bus line or subway. It is near a free shuttle to North Station and since it is near the U.S.S. Constitution, it's close to a few hope on/off tour buses. Getting back to the hotel late at night can be a problem, if you don't like walking. Tour buses are off the road and the free shuttle is once every 30mins. The walk is only 10-15mins and is fairly well lit and busy.
I give this hotel a 4/5 due the value when comparing to other Boston hotels. In most cities, I would have giving this hotel a 3 or possibly even a 2.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blargh_Bah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews