We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, near downtown and TD Garden”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #82 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just on the other side of the bay, so nice view of the city. On the Freedown Trail, so you can walk or take shuttle on even a ferry a few steps from the hotel. The cons are: no AC, parking is not free and a few minutes walk, and there's no restaurant in the building. But overall, I would recommend the place...but maybe not in summertime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-F_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy that you had a good time in Boston but are very sorry that your air conditioning was not functioning. We do have air conditioning in all of the rooms so there must have been something wrong with your unit. We do have maintenance staff available to address these types of issues.
While it is true that we do not offer free parking, the fee is only $6 per night compared to an average of $40 plus at most hotels in the city.
Once again, we apologize that you were inconvenienced and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

The hotel is very dated. The sofa was at least 25 years old. The ceilings (6th floor) room was probably only 5.5 feet in some parts of the room. The room seemed as if we were assigned to an early 1900’s barracks room. We have to park a great distance from the hotel. We checked out the Inn after only spending one night. It was such a disappointment and a horrible way to honor out military. We went to the Hilton because are always sure to be satisfied with our accommodations. Please don’t waste your money at this Inn.

Room Tip: Please read the reviews from several sites before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience and that you were disappointed with our facility. We have recently completed renovations with the aim of improving the appearance and quality of our facility. There are new flat-screen TV's, new carpet, and new bedding in the guest rooms. Our next round of renovations will include new furniture and in-room decor.
You mentioned in your review that you were a military guest, so your rate was at a significant discount. While we are constantly making improvementsand striving to exceed expectations, offering large discounts to the military and charitable organizations does limit our budget significantly. What we strive for is to provide clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service at the lowest rate in the city.
As far as parking is concerned, there is a garage just around the corner (a 1-minute walk, 90% of which is under a covered walkway) that guests can use for $6/night with validation, a far lower price than any other hotel in the city. Once again, we apologize that you were disappointed and we want you to know that your feedback is truly appreciated. If there is anything more we can do please contact the hotel directly at 1-800-495-9622.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I scheduled a business trip and located the Constituion Inn on line. I was very impressed with everything stated about the hotel and the comments from others who had stayed at this location. When I arrived in Boston and subsequently took a cab to this location, at the last minute I ended up having some personal issues that meant I was going to have to change my plans.

Shannon and Ellen - at the front desk in the reception area - certainly exceeded my expectations with all their help. They were so patient and helpful - they certainly understand what it meant to provide outstanding client service.

I had to leave the hotel, but I will certainly come back for a stay another time. They both treated me like family - what more could you ask as a stranger walking into a hotel! Anne

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much to you and all of the other travelers that have given us positive reviews recently! Typically hotel managers primarily respond to negative reviews or those that call for action, but we thought that we should take a moment to recognize those that have taken the time to share their positive experiences with the TripAdvisor community.

What we strive for as a team is to provide warm, friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms to guests at a reasonable cost. While we may not be the most posh hotel in Boston, we do offer other appealing amenities such the lowest parking prices in the city, the most extensive workout facility in the city and a complimentary shuttle to North Station. We continuously strive to improve our service and facilities and greatly appreciate all feedback both positive and negative, thank you!

Warm Regards,

The Constitution Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I'm giving this an Excellent rating mainly because of the price and location. Average as far as the Hotel is concerned. Nice quiet neighborhood on the water. Little grocery store near by. $6 per night parking 3 blocks away. Short walk to the old navy shipyard and about a mile to the TD Garden. Its a ciderblock palace. But not in a bad way. Hey, its also a YMCA, so there is that aspect. Rooms were clean and had a microwave, fridge, and free wifi. Almost has the feel of a high class hostel. Still it was a nice place to stay close to everything for about half of what it costs in downtown proper.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Excellent location, regular free shuttle to Boston North Station, adequate but basic accomodation as well priced for what it is as we could find in Boston. If you are going to be out and about all day this is the place for you. Don't expect any frills. Helpfully friendly staff

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank johnandbabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We picked this hotel since it saved us almost a $100 a night compared to other hotels near Boston. The advertised rate per night was cheaper and there was big savings on the taxes.
The hotel is not pretty but functional. The room was comfortable and clean. The tv was a CRT and the remote was missing. The hotel was noisy as we could hear banging during the morning and evening but it stop by bedtime.
The location is not ideal. It is off any bus line or subway. It is near a free shuttle to North Station and since it is near the U.S.S. Constitution, it's close to a few hope on/off tour buses. Getting back to the hotel late at night can be a problem, if you don't like walking. Tour buses are off the road and the free shuttle is once every 30mins. The walk is only 10-15mins and is fairly well lit and busy.
I give this hotel a 4/5 due the value when comparing to other Boston hotels. In most cities, I would have giving this hotel a 3 or possibly even a 2.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blargh_Bah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were a group of a dozen guys visiting Boston for a sporting event on a tour package that included lodging at the Constitution Inn, which was not well reviewed recently on Trip Advisor, so we looked to move to another hotel... but with The Bruins in the Playoffs and the Red Sox celebrating the 100th anniversary of Fenway Park against the New York Yankees we were out of options and decided to try the Constitution Inn.

I have to say, it was much better than I had expected, and I have certainly stayed in lesser establishments.

My room was fairly large, with two pretty comfortable double beds a small fridge and a microwave. There was a small tube TV from the 90's that had a clear picture and remote that worked very well. It had no view to speak of and no book of Hotel information and I had no idea how to make a room to room call, as all the usual tricks didn't seem to work... but no matter.

The room was clean and tidy. Towels were soft and the shampoo and conditioner were replenished when needed. We also had no trouble getting extra towels if needed.

The Hotel was full while we were there, with a few sports teams in town for the same tournament we were in town for so there was a bit of hustle and bustle in the halls and lobbies... but my room was pretty quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. In the morning there was quite a bit of noise from the shower in the room next door, as it was actually louder than the shower in my own bathroom... but no big deal.

The staff at the Constitution In are really nice nice and friendly. We needed a late check out due to an evening flight and they were kind enough to allow us to keep one of our rooms to store our luggage until we departed at 4 PM for the airport.

This place was great for what we needed, close to I-93, a $7 cab ride to TD Garden and the pubs, clean rooms, clean towels and hot water.

There is a coffee shop a stones throw away... with poor service but good coffee and muffins, and also a corner store with fresh fruit, wine and beer and the snack items needed in your room.

Tavern on the Water is a few minutes walk and is a great spot for a meal and a beverage. Great staff, lots of sports on TV and good food with a brilliant skyline view of Downtown Boston.

Not the place for a romantic get away... but good for the what we needed.

Room Tip: Even # rooms have a "bit" of a view... at least better than the odd # rooms that face a br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytripp-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#78 of 86 in Boston
296 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 86 in Boston
559 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#67 of 86 in Boston
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $107 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing