We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
A Must See

After our tour of Fenway Park, this was the coolest thing we did in Boston. The tour isn't long... read more

Reviewed April 9, 2024
abroadwithashley
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Beautiful and not toddler friendly

Mapparium is beautiful, it is not for toddlers! Requires visitors to be quiet for 10 minutes in the... read more

Reviewed March 25, 2024
lindsaylindsaylinds
,
Alexandria, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 938 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Boston
from C$111.19
More Info
from C$73.82
More Info
from C$64.74
More Info
from C$46.93
More Info
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
543
255
98
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
543
255
98
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christian science stained glass globe mary baker eddy three story giant globe light show minute tour whisper geography boundaries bridge perspective docent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 938 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2019

The Mapparium is a three-story, stained-glass globe designed in 1935 when the The Christian Science Monitor Publishing House was built. The Mapparium has been renovated but never updated, so the map exists as it did in 1935 (names of countries, numbers of countries, etc. are not accurate as of today). For a small fee, you can have a guided tour of the Mapparium, which includes some information about the Mapparium, The Christian Science Monitor, and Mary Baker Eddy, as well as a light show inside the Mapparium. It's quick, but interesting. (No pictures inside.)

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank alexisrachelletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

It took me 20 minutes by subway to get to the library from downtown.
The admission to the Mapparium is affordable, and my experience there is awesome!!! The sound and how it was echoed inside the room was interesting. The map is fantastic!! It is the map of the world in the 1900s and the sizes of different places and countries are made to be proportional relative to one another. One thing to keep in mind is that photos and video recordings are prohibited inside the room of the map because of copyright reasons.
From the perspective of a person who has a special interest in history and geography, I highly recommend this place!!!
You can also stop by the Christian Science Church nearby, which has one of the largest organs in the world.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank giapp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

The Mapparium is my favorite place to take friends and out-of-town visitors. Your trip takes you back in time to the center of a stained glass globe as it looked before WWII. Voices speak to you from unfamiliar countries and you notice that nation boundaries and names have changed. You are surprised by how much of the earth is covered by water. You begin to wonder about the different cultures and languages around the world. A step back in time will bring you to an emotional realization about your responsibility for the future of the earth.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

This is definitely worth a visit. It's a beautiful glass globe that you walk through. It's fascinating to see how the world has changed since this piece of art was made. It's also amazing how your voice carries within the globe!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank TTFN-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

I visited the mapparium with my family while in town for the Boston marathon. It was a cool experience. The architecture of the inside of the building is pretty cool and the structure itself is not something you normally see in the United States. It reminded me more of things I have seen in Europe. There are a couple small exhibits here and there but the main thing to see is the massive glass replica of the globe as it was in 1935. It is pretty cool to see how much has changed since then. The acoustics in the mapparium were amazing. You stand on a bridge that spans the room. The real downside was no photography was allowed. We asked and the explanation was that people were misrepresenting the mapparium in their photos. That sounded like a lame reason to charge people to buy photos and postcards of the room. There is a beautiful church next door with free tours as well. I saved money by buying online tickets at Groupon. This will take less than an hour but it was something different.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews