We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
625
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
625
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hoststhe green turtle iijon karengentle rockingwater taxieach morningthe navy yard bistroaft deckboston harborkaren's breakfastsbreakfast deliveredunique stayuss constitutionyogurtthought of everythingthe north endbunker hill
Filter
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 647 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staying on a floating houseboat was such a memorable experience. So much nicer than a hotel!
Karen's delicious breakfasts during our three night stay were a culinary delight! Jon's punctual, jovial delivery provided us with a great start to the day. The unit was immaculate, cozy and functional. The goodies in the frig were such a welcoming touch. Karen and Jon were so helpful in providing us with the information we needed to see the sites of Boston as well as the neighboring area in Charlestown , particularly, the deli and bistro. Memories of the early morning stillness interrupted by a passing ship in the Harbour to the reflection of the city lights dancing on the water will remain with us until we return again.

Room Tip: read these reviews!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janre762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just spent a night on the Green Turtle II for our 27th wedding anniversary. I wanted a very unique experience and this was it! The views were amazing -- water views surround you everywhere. It is breathtaking. Jon and Karen are extremely welcoming and friendly. The boat is beautifully maintained and everything in it is first class. We were just content to sit out on the deck and watch the boats come and go. We won't hesitate to come back again. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 677ahkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2012

When researching hotels in the Boston area, I was surprised by the lack of B&B options and overwhelmed with the expensive, high rise hotels. My wife and I prefer to avoid the crowds in big cities, but still want to experience what these places have to offer, and the Green Turtle seemed to fit the bill perfectly. The fact that you can rent a houseboat or yacht is unique enough, but then when you factor in the serene privacy of the harbor itself, you really know that you made the right decision. Combine this with the genuine friendliness of the owners, amazing food and convenient public transportation and you have the best possible place to stay in Boston.

While being in the center of Boston may seem appealing, there is a lot of noise and traffic consistent with any big city. Being based in the marina just North of the city center is convenient with bus, ferry, subway and walking options. We parked our car for nearly the entire visit and never thought twice about it. The marina is located in an upscale neighborhood and we saw joggers and dog walkers at all hours, indicating a very safe environment. There is a nearby mini-store that is incredibly well stocked as well if you don’t feel like dining out. Also, the northern portion of the historic Freedom Trail and the U.S.S. Constitution is less than a 15 minute walk. Nearby dining options are limited to a Pub and a Bistro, but the city is only a short ferry ride away. Owners Jon and Karen spent considerable time showing us how to get around and even provided maps for reference.

One of the highlights of this experience is the outstanding food that Jon and Karen prepare each morning and deliver to your vessel. Having a gourmet hot breakfast on the back deck of a yacht during a crisp Fall morning is memorable to say the least!

The only tip that I would provide is a simple but obvious reminder: These are completely functional sailing vessels and are not anchored to anything but the dock. The bathrooms amenities can be small and are more similar to an RV. The boat moves with the tide and can rock significantly if a large vessel passes by. All of this added to the charm for us, but I could see where some might be unprepared.

Overall, I would stay at the Green Turtle again and for much longer next time. This place ranks among the very best for this seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our very best decision in visiting Boston was deciding to stay at the Green Turtle B&B. Just to make it easy, here's the scoop:

-- We stayed on our own houseboat, complete with two beds, two baths, a living room with a flat screen TV, a breakfast nook, a kitchen, and two decks with nearly 360 degree views of Boston Harbor.
-- The boat was impeccably clean and tidy.
-- The beds were firm and really slept like a dream.
-- The boat had lots of windows, so you had a wonderful view all the time.
-- Every detail was attended toward, from the granola in the canisters to the fancy folds in the toilet paper.
-- Breakfast was simply perfect, homemade, and a robust serving size.
-- The refrigerator is stocked with water, yogurt, and other odds and ends. A bin on the stove held packaged snack foods.
-- The innkeepers are incredibly friendly and nice, yet give you your privacy, too. They were hospitable at every turn; they filled special requests and gave valuable advice for first time visitors, although they could undoubtedly even give sage traveling advice or hotspot recommendations for seasoned travelers.

In short, if and when we come back to Boston, we will schedule our trip around the availability of the Green Turtle B&B. Do we recommend it? If there were a way to give more than 5 stars, we would - Yes, stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was such a great experiance !!! Owners Jon & Karen are delightful and very accommodating. She makes a great breakfast ! They are ready with great suggestions about visiting the area and johhny on the spot if you need something. Staying on the boat in the harbour was a great experiance. Sitting on the back deck in the morning or evening after a full day in the city. Please try Green Turtle Floating Bed & Breakfast, we were on Green Turtle III.
LOVED our visit !!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devoonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews