We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
637
22
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
637
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts jon karen the green turtle ii water taxi gentle rocking each morning the navy yard bistro aft deck karen's breakfasts boston harbor breakfast delivered uss constitution complimentary snacks b and b yogurt thought of everything the north end
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 660 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This is my first ever tripadvisor review, but I felt I owed the Green Turtle to at least add my own praise to the long list. I stayed here for two days in August with my partner, while he was interviewing for a job in Boston. Because of limited availability (i.e. book early!), we also stayed one day in a typical upscale, but soulless, hotel chain in Boston. What a difference this B&B was compared to the hotel! Much more personal and with much more character. The inn keepers were very and genuinely hospitable throughout the entire experience, from booking to arrival. The breakfast sandwiches were some of the best we've ever had. The views of the water and the Boston skyline are still with us, long after our stay. The warmth and friendliness of the inn keepers made such an impression. We will definitely stay here again.

As a side note for those that this applies to: the owners are very gay friendly, in the best way. That is, that they don't advertise it, they simply treat you like they treat anyone else. They are open, genuinely tolerant, and good people.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2010

you will never see Boston like this except from here. Inn keepers are awesome and even let us fish with their poles right off the dock. After 30 years of going to the city for events this is now my new favorite place to stay. You will come back as this place is like a potato chip you can not have just one. You want more. We did not even have great weather and this place works.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGreatOneedgartown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed for four nights in the floating room called the Loggerhead . The view from this location is impossible for us to describe to you. We could see the entire downtown Boston from there across the water. There is absolutely not a single hotel that can even begin to compare with this location. Jon and Karen were always so helpful to us and even ordered the water taxi when we found that our Canadian cell phone would not work there . They also picked us two poor souls up in Charestown late at night when we got lost on our way there. (more on this later) . They went out to the bakers every morning to get fresh pastries and we even got fresh egg and sausage as well as Quiche one morning. They delivered it to our door and it was still hot . Not a bad breakfast at all and it filled us up.

Now the best way to get there is by water taxi. We were there for four nights and if you include the first day we arrived and the day we left that was five days . We got a $50.00 weeks pass from Rowes water taxi , which meant we could call them and come and go as we pleased. Now when going by water taxi , make sure you tell them that you wish to go to Shipyard Quarters Marina , not REPEAT NOT Charlestown . That was the mistake we made on the first night when Jon gracously came to pick up two lost , weary travellers.

To sum things up here. You will never find anything in Boston at any price that will come anywhere close to the Green Turtle to stay at . The friendly hosts Jon and Karen , the view to simply die for , and the gentle rocking of your room to lull you to sleep and last but not least , sitting out on the deck watching all the maine traffic floating by.

We arrived with a handshake and left with a big hug. Thank you Jon and Karen.
Anne and Jim George .

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is the perfect place to stay if you want a great B&B, terrific service & hospitality, and a truely unique vacation. We returned this evening from a week at the Green Turtle. John & Karen have thought of everything. We loved eating our fabulous breakfast on the dock each morning watching Boston come to life. A ten minute walk to the water taxi and a ten minute ride across the harbor and we were right in the heart of Boston. Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kconn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I usually stay at B & B's when we travel alone, ever since our honeymoon, 25 years ago. The Green Turtle was the most unique and wonderful bed and breakfast we have ever been. Not only were John and Karen hospitable and charming, but the view from our floating inn (on the Boston Harbor) was fantastic, especially at night. Our room was of ample size, the bed so soft (along with the gentle floating motion of the inn) allowed us to have very restful nights. The morning breakfast was tasty and the small kitchen (fully stocked) and bathroom were just lovely. If you want a special experience try the Green Turtle....we can't wait to go back. We would highly recommend it. Since there are only two rooms, you must book well in advance. LOVED IT!!!!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews