We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, nice position 44 $ for parking!!!”
Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I've been there with my wife during our visit to Boston. It's a well positioned hotel nearby Beacon Hill and Charles street, Boston Common Park. It's a good place for both experiencing Boston visit and have some uwuied walks and run in the park. The hotel room is outstanding in terms of cleaness, infrstructures and space available. Very negative is the Parking cost (44$ a day). If you go there, remember that round the corner (stuard street vs. Charles street south) there is a public parking for only 20$ a day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

Although after the experience of W hotel in Washington DC we realized that the W experience is almost a rip-off, but our reservation at the W Boston was already made. We went hoping it will be a better experience than DC but it was just the same: disappointing.

We were very disappointed to go to a hotel of such caliber and not to be treated like guests. The spa is there but not for the guests of the hotel but only for the "guests of the spa". In other words, you have to pay to use the spa. You have to pay for the Wi-fi. You have to pay for the bottles of water. Wherever you look in the room, you find items for sale. One feels s/he in a gift store. Although we did not take a standard room there is no bath tub or any of the extras granted in other similar hotels like cotton buds, Q tips, sewing kit.

The place is trying to be hip and chic but it is actually silly and mediocre. The alternative decor does not make-up for the flaws.

It's not worth it.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jawkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The only plus for this hotel is that it is the only SPG in downtown. Apart from that,staff is fairly arrogant and they charge for absolutely everything. As an spy Platinium me member they did have the kindness to offer me a (very) small bottle Pf water for the room. Impressive! Don't even get me started on getting in the hotel at night when there is a long line of people waiting to get in the bar... Finally, this is the only SPG property where they offered me 500 points if they didn't have to clean my room! Most amazing part of this was that the check-in girl would not take no for an answer.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Location, Location, Location. Great, center of the city. close to everything.

the room was nice with lots of extra's mini bar water snacks. But not for free

Everything cost money

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Nice location very close to Chinatown and two blocks from Subway station. Room was spacious and had very contemporary/modern amenities. Loved the body butter moisturizer that was included with the toiletries. Only complaint is that the bathroom lacked a fan which was not convenient for hot showers or #2s and free wifi was only available in the hotel lobby. Elevators were quick though!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaopu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here over our anniversary on a month long trip through NYC, New England, Canada and the east coast. The hotel looks nice enough and has lot's of "wannabes" trying to act cool at the bar and lounge. We were put on the 14th floor in the corner suite that we booked after I refused to stay on the 4th floor where they tried to put us upon check in. Even on the 14th floor, the noise on the street was ridiculously loud being graduation weekend in Boston. The room itself was large, but the "soaking tub" which we booked it for barely held one (petite) person. One whole side of the room was windowed, but the curtains had to manually drawn each night which was a right hassle which involved climbing over the couch to complete the chore properly. The staff were a tad arrogant, and that included the 4 guy's acting as doormen who simply just stood outside the hotel chatting and doing stuff all, and looked like they were in pain when asked to do something. There was no free wifi in the room (the only hotel on a month long trip that didn't offer it for free) at $350 odd a night I thought this was pathetic and super scummy of the W. Each time my wife and I had a drink in the bar, our room was charged $50 on top of the drinks amount as a "deposit", this took a week to be refunded to my credit card which was unacceptable as we had numerous drinks down there prior to going out and the "deposit" totalled $400. All in all there are loads of better hotels to stay at in Boston that will be of a higher standard at a cheaper rate and without the arrogant tosser's that seemed to frequent this
establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nZed808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We travel to Boston every summer for food and fun. This year, we picked the W because of the location and brand ( We are Starwood Gold Members). This hotel was in the most perfect location for our family of four: situated right at the entrance to China Town, walking distance to Quincy Market, Newbury St and the Commons. The staff was SO helpful and the room was a great size. We walked to Commons in less than 10 minutes and watched the fireworks with the locals. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALCARON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#18 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $226 - $846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing