We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jerrys01
Bel Air, Maryland

Great location for site seeing

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 10, 2024
Disclosure first: I am a World of Hyatt member who had saved up enough points that three of my four nights were free.

My wife and I selected this Hyatt due to its proximity to the Freedom Trail. The location was fantastic as most of the sites we visited were within a 15-minute walk. Despite the hotel's full name, we were actually closer to the Old State House than Faneuil Hall.

The hotel is 12 stories tall. One of the minor issues we had is that one of the two small elevators had broken three days before our four-night visit and had not been repaired by the end of the trip. This meant some longer waits for the elevator.

Compared to most hotel rooms, the shape was a little unusual. After you walked in, you had a short hallway, with the bathroom on the left. You turned the corner and passed the small frig and small armoire. You then ended up in the main room, which had one king sized bed. I did think the room was slightly small.

Furniture was somewhat limited. Besides the bed, we had two small end tables, two chairs, and two small, portable tables. We had to keep some of our clothes in their suitcases. We did have a large TV which worked well with our Roku device. We both thought lighting could have been a little better.

While the bathroom was a good size, the shower stall seemed a little small, and we disliked the rainfall shower head, which seemed to put out very little water.

I will say that the staff was very helpful with requests, such as fixing our broken safe and providing a luggage rack.

As I only had to pay for one night, the price I paid was pretty small. If I had to pay for the entire stay (from Monday night through Friday morning), I would have been looking at over $300/night (when adding in taxes and resort fees). As the rate did not even include breakfast, I feel the value proposition was not as good as it should have been.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this review
Responded May 24, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location and found the staff helpful. We apologize for any issues in your guestroom and appreciate your patience with the elevators. We hope you will give us another opportunity when your travel brings you back to Boston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$507
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    C$506
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$425
  • Hotels.com
    C$506
0.5 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Room service
Bar/Lounge
C$549
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$543
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$489
  • Expedia.com
    C$543
0.3 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Restaurant
Room service
C$311
  • Hotels.com
    C$311
  • Expedia.com
    C$310
  • Hilton
    C$310
1.3 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Restaurant
Room service
C$599
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$599
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$410
  • Preferred Hotels
    C$599
2.4 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
C$306
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$344
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$262
  • Trip.com
1.8 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$351
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
  • Expedia.com
    C$350
  • Tripadvisor
    C$350
0.3 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Restaurant
Room service
C$384
  • Hotels.com
    C$384
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$301
  • Expedia.com
    C$383
3.6 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
C$333
  • Hilton Garden Inn
    C$332
  • Algotels
    C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$333
5.1 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
Omni Boston Hotel at The Seaport Lobby Gallery
C$451
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$451
  • Tripadvisor
    C$450
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Pool
C$209
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    C$209
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$209
7.1 km from Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Boston
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
343
112
65
31
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
343
112
65
31
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews faneuil hall old state house great location front desk bathroom mirror the north end freedom trail rooms are small luggage rack quincy market sliding door historical sites parking garage within walking distance great stay blue line the hotel is clean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 584 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2024

I recommend this hotel. The location is nice. There are a few nice places in walking distance and there are good restaurants and bars nearby as well.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank aysiaoowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for the kind review. Our team members work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience with us and it is always gratifying to learn the hard work paid off. The housekeeping team work hard to ensure the property is immaculate so they will be pleased to read your comments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when your travel plans include Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2024

This hotel is perfectly placed if your visit is focused on historical Boston. The hotel sits next to the Freedom Trail, is just blocks from the North End for some excellent restaurants and is just minutes from the Boston Commons and shopping. The only complaint I would register is that the rooms are quite small. This is not a problem if you are busy sightseeing, but it would be nice to have a bit more room. While the restaurant and bar are just ok, there are good breakfast choices within one block, a marijuana store, and a wine store are within the same block.

Room tip: While there are no concierge services provided, the staff is friendly and helpful.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelled070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our guests rave about our location and we find ourselves lucky to come to work in the best location in Boston. We regret the size of the room was an issue for you and hope we can find a larger room for you next time. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2024 via mobile

Incredible hotel in the heart of Boston. Centrally located to historic spots, Beacon Hill, the North End, waterfront, and Charlestown. We walked everywhere! Hotel was extremely clean and staff friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. We had originally planned this trip for November ‘23 but had to cancel the day before due to a death in the family. The staff was kind and went above and beyond to help us during a difficult time. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NorthStar68507597795
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are fortunate to be in a location that is central to the best locations in the city and only steps from the Freedom Trail and Faneuil Hall. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back again next time your travel takes you to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2024

Wonderful location! We walked everywhere from this hotel. Hotel is clean and the employees all seemed welcoming and happy which gives a good vibe. They held our luggage on the last day and the parking valet worked out great. The hotel seemed very organized and clean and fresh.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret the water pressure issues. I hope the maintenance team were able to fix it for you. The housekeeping team will be pleased to hear their hard work is paying off. The greatest compliment we can receive is making a repeat guest out of you, so we hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2024

Overall, the property itself is perfectly fine. Great location. The main issue -- and the reason I will never return -- is the incredibly loud garbage trucks that woke me barely after 6 AM. I am a Globalist and travel extensively for business -- my main destination NYC. I also lived in Manhattan for 25 years. Even in NYC, I have never heard noise this loud from a hotel room. I was on the 11th floor (second highest) and have white noise on my phone. There is no white noise on Earth that could lessen the noise from these garbage trucks. I'm not sure if the other side of the hotel is quieter? But, this is something to keep in mind -- particularly if you are traveling for leisure and don't need to be up at the crack of dawn. Otherwise, the staff was friendly...particularly at the restaurant and front desk. (One of the other reviews said the staff "whisked away their luggage"...not sure I saw a bellman at the property.)

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin Matheson, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We realize there are plenty of hotels to choose from in Boston and we are grateful you chose Hyatt Centric Faneuil Hall. We are terribly sorry your stay did not go well. We try our best to provide a quiet stay for our guests, but being in downtown Boston does come with some exterior noise beyond our control. We apologize it was disturbing to you and we thank you for giving us a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews