We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore, Encore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Encore B&B this past weekend to celebrate her 36th birthday. We stayed in the Albee room which was trendy, well appointed, & clean, it also had a balcony which added to the charm of the location. Reinhold was a pleasure and he bent over backwards to assure that our stay was a pleasant one. The breakfast was lovely, he gets whatever you order and it is delicious. The location of the B&B was perfect in easy walking distance to lots of fine dining and attractions. I would reccommend Encore to anyone traveling to Boston....it was a welcome change to the normal cookie cutter hotels. We will definitely be returning soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Albee which was the most expensive for good reason...the balcony that overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudpageantmama_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinholdamBoston, Owner at Encore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2011

Sorry, it took me so long to respond to your great post. I am more then sorry if I overlooked that it actually was your partner's 36th birthday, but I was researching our correspondence and couldn't find any indication of it. Happy belated Birthday to your partner. I am happy you enjoyed your choice for a get-away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Loved our stay. Easy pleasant walking distance to the sights. In a beautiful street.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJohan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My sister and I travelled to Boston for a seven night stay all the way from the UK and we couldn't have found a nicer retreat to rest our jet-lagged heads!

Reinhold (the Inn Keeper) made us feel extremely welcome and was very accommodating.

We stayed in two rooms over our stay - the Sondheim (for 5 nights) and the Albee (for 2 nights). Both were very clean, comfortable and spacious and the Albee had the added bonus of a balcony with a view of West Newton Street and beyond.

For breakfast we were offered a range of fresh baked treats from the local bakery and they were delicious. Also on offer were granola, yoghurt and fresh fruit (which we had every day so it must have have been pretty good) as well as a more continental style breakfast if preferred or in addition to the former (boiled egg, ham and cheeses).

The Encore itself was a 10 minute walk (or less - just two blocks) from the Prudential Tower and shops. There are also a number of eateries and smaller boutique shops on Tremont Street (literally around the corner).

I think if we returned to Boston (and it's likely) we will definitely try and book again.

Also, did we mention how friendly it was? Well, it's super friendly and without being intrusive and invasive of one's personal space.

Coffee in the morning is a winner to get you started on a day of sight seeing or a relaxing stroll down leafy West Newton Street. Oh, and fresh flowers in the rooms!

We miss it already!

Room Tip: There are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms themselves but I think there is a kitchenette yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We were attending a near by conference where the hotel prices were much higher. The Encore is an easy walk to anything you need. Reinhold was a fine host; the breakfast and coffee were high quality; and the rooms spacious, quiet, and clean. The only warning that I have is that the parking (very reasonable at $15/night) is not made for a large car...my Camry JUST fit.

Room Tip: some rooms do/don't have a desk if you need to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_the_Man_Staziak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I spent a week in Boston recently and was delighted to find 'Encore'. The room was comfortable and spacious, with a private bathroom. It was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated and reasonably priced. Reinhold was a superb host - helpful in every respect - with a fine, dry sense of humour to boot. The B and B was conveniently located - a short stroll from Back Bay Station and the restaurants and bars on Tremont Street which were easily accessible. I would be delighted to stay once more should the opportunity to travel to Boston arise again in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in the front room, a floor above street level. The room had plenty of natural light and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 299Ross299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have just stayed at the Encore B&B, and we loved everything: the house which is very typical and Bostonian, the location: cute, full of boutiques, restaurants and near a luxury mall, the decoration, the service, our room: very spacious, practical, and all the details around such as the amenities (Aveda products...my favorite!).
You really feel like at home, the service is excellent (Reinhold is very helpful and welcoming) and the environment very quiet. You can visit everything walking from the house.
Definitely a great location and an excellent address to recommend.
If we come back to Boston, we will come back.

Room Tip: Albee room is fantastic, charming and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Encore while attending a conference at a Copley Plaza hotel, that I thought was too expensive. I had a wonderful experience at the Encore. It is located close to where i needed to go, on a charming street. Reinhold was very welcoming and I loved the modern decor of the room. Everything was spotless. The best thing was definitely the wonderful breakfast with the best rolls I have had in a long time. I had a most pleasant stay and will most definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,430 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#3 of 37 in Boston
550 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
438 reviews
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Charlestown
Moroccan Luxury Suites Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02118-1203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $179 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore is a Boston bed and breakfast in the historic and trendy South End neighborhood. The ideal alternative to typical hotel lodging, Encore Bed and Breakfast offers 21st-century comfort in a 19th-century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Encore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore b&b
Encore Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing