We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Commonwealth
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Arrived hear just for a one-night stopover. The hotel is fairly easy to find on a busy road.
Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We were quickly checked in and sent to our room.
It was clean and spacious and the decor felt a bit dated. Bathroom was wonderful, we could really see it had been recently renovated. Amenities were good.
Breakfast was a bit strange. Hardly any choice (french toast, egg benedict continental breakfast or omelette, off the top of my mind) but everything we tried was great. The french toast particularly. The staff were very friendly.
Overall we had a good experience but i can't say it was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micr0megas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,508
    697
    152
    57
    25
See reviews for
1,412
1,285
206
933
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband took me and our one year old daughter to Boston for my 40th Birthday. Our stay at Hotel Commonwealth was everything the review stated. Believe me when I say I am not a fan of staying in hotels because of the cleanliness. I am usually turned off but the room that we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they were very sweet to our daughter as well. The resturaunts that are attached to the hotel are great so if you get late on your first day you do not have to run out to go to a better place. The only thing that I was upset about was the parking. I hate to pay $42.00 a night to park at a hotel I am spending a lot money at.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Commonwealth room. It was nice because it had a little sitting area that we can cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, excellent service from arrival to departure, great location. Very large room and bathroom. Clean, clean, clean. A comparison to Waldorf in NY but more quaint.

Room Tip: Large room and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NattyMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Easter weekend was our first trip to Boston and we had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Commonwealth! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and had an excellent view of Fenway Park. It's located right next door to the "T" so transportation was easy! I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Boston!

Room Tip: If you're a Red Sox fan, stay in the Fenway Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiNYElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Revisiting Boston after 25 years we lucked upon this beautiful hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and loved loved loved our Junior Suite which overlooked the front facade of this gorgeous hotel. Bathroom had separate toilet area from shower/bath...great privacy. Toiletries are great..FRESH citron de vigne!! Spoilt for choice for outstanding restaurants especially the hotels own Island Oyster Bar/Restaurant and Eastern Standard. All staff from doormen, reception and restaurant were so helpful...nothing was a problem.

We managed to see the most amazing show in the Charles Playhouse....THE BLUE MAN GROUP!!!! A must for anyone visiting Boston (as our taxi driver informed us). Never laughed so much at a show that not one word was spoken!! Check them out on-line.
Looking for Cowboy western boots or any leather items??........visit Helen's Leather 110 Charles Street Boston 02114.....I got the most amazing ladies cowboy boots. Selection amazing!!!

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite which was spacious with luxurious curtain separating sitting area from bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennessy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Though only in Boston for a short visit, this was truly a wonderful experience - great staff, friendly environment, really lovely room and comfortable bed, and probably the best eggs benedict that I have had in a very long while... I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel without reservation, and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: High was certainly peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StGy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel deserves it's superlative reputation. The staff are so friendly and helpful to make sure that your stay is perfect. Before we arrived at the hotel, we informed them of our impending 25th wedding anniversary during our stay and were absolutely delighted to find out that we had been upgraded to a junior suite room. The hotel itself is in an excellent location, just on top of Kenmore T station which is so convenient for travelling downtown. It is also just opposite some small takeaway restaurants for coffee and bagels etc. Dining at the Eastern Standard Restaurant was a highpoint of our stay as it was brimming with atmosphere, with a very friendly, efficient waiter service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,300 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,787 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commonwealth

Property: Hotel Commonwealth
Address: 500 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215-2606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Family Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Commonwealth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A thoughtful reimagining of what a Boston hotel can be, Hotel Commonwealth unhinges luxury from its traditional definition to bring guests urban vibrance and the ultimate in unscripted hospitality, right in Kenmore Square. That our stylish spot flanks Boston's beloved Fenway Park shines bright on its list of perks, as does being in easy embrace of the city's prominent academic, medical, technology areas. Offering notably ample guestrooms, an authentic "of-service" culture, and food so good even the locals are loyal, our hotel has distinguished itself as a Boston favorite. Newly conceived interiors remain faithful to the hotel's legendary welcoming feel, blending effortless style with considered comforts to create a relaxed urban destination. The result? A refreshingly real hotel where travel smart professionals and knowing influentials converge for inspiration and the unbridled joy of getting it right. This is Hotel Commonwealth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing